We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St Julien Hotel and Spa
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed 23 October 2009

We stayed at the St. Julian in September 2009. The hotel is great and it is in a good location near restaurants and shops. We would stay here again if we visit Boulder.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ROKChicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    650
    180
    54
    24
    29
See reviews for
218
300
52
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2009

I stayed at the St. Julien last week while visiting Boulder on business. I enjoyed every minute of my stay and only wish I had more time to relax there and take advantage of the amenities. The hotel is located right in the middle of town surrounded by a number of restaurants, bars, coffee shops and stores. The rooms are beautifully furnished, the bed incredibly comfortable and the bathrooms amazingly large. The product in the bathroomsis from the St. Julien spa - it was so great I took mine home with me. Some other reviewers had mentioned that their rooms faced Walnut street and were loud at night - ,my room also faced the street and I did not have a problem with noise.
The workout room is sufficient - TVs on each treadmill, and views of the mountains. Right next to the workout room was a gorgeous pool and hot tub (also with great views) but I didn't have time to enjoy them.
While I didn't order in, my colleagues said the room service food was incredibly good. There is also a nice lounge area in the lobby with a beautiful fireplace and great ambience in the evening.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Boulder area.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCRL10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

I stayed at St. Julien for business. When checking in, they could not find my reservation in the system despite presenting them with the confirmation number from my travel agent. I was told this "happens from time to time". For a hotel that services business travelers, the management should really beef up their computer system to avoid such unpleasant snafu. Although, the staff have been friendly enough during the whole process. The room felt a little small but it was modern, and tastefully decorated. Very nice European style bathroom with both walk in shower and tub. Had dinners and breakfasts at the restaurant (Jill's I believe), the food was decent but not outstanding for the price. The only feasible parking option is really the 17 bucks/day valet parking, due to its downtown location. I wouldn't mind staying there for business again. if I were to travel to Boulder on my own, I would probably opt for something cheaper and no frills. After traveling for so many years and staying at everything from barrack-style hostel to ultra fancy-pants boutique hotels, I simply don't care about hotels anymore as much as the trip itself. Moderately priced, good location, clean, quiet, and free internet, that's all I ask for. And in Boulder, there are certainly plenty of value choices.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank almosthappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2009

We recently spent 3 nights and our overall experience couldn’t have been more mixed. The physical state of the hotel is lovely—the location, view and décor couldn’t be better. Unfortunately, the quality of the staff couldn’t be worse. Our experience with reservations, check-in, front desk inquiries and check-out were extremely frustrating. Your staff does not come close to the level of customer service now expected from top notch hotels. 1) they don’t smile, 2) they are uneager to please, 3) they are quick to say “sorry we can’t do that”, 4) there seems to be an overwhelming sense of incompetence and confusion. We had requested additional bedding for our toddler that was not delivered, we requested adjoining rooms when we made our original reservation and it was not noted. Additionally, it was a daunting task to change the credit card on file to a new credit card for check-out. It took 20 minutes and I was asked 3 times if it was actually necessary????? Really????

Another disappointment was Jill’s restaurant. We had room service 2 times and breakfast once. Our room service was marginal at best. The sandwich was mushy, the fries were cold and the pizza crust was burnt. At breakfast I had to ask for ingredients that were listed on the menu but forgotten on the dish. We waited over 20 minutes for my son’s smoothie and had to ask for our side of potatoes 3 times. Jill’s does not come close to the quality or service at Q’s.

On a positive note, the valet/bell person team couldn’t have been better. They were efficient, professional, personable and GREAT.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BJHChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2009

Impressive, wonderful spa and lovely public rooms. Bedroom was in need of refurbishment. Very comfortable, but carpet worn near bed where feet land, and chair had clearly been sat on a lot. This is a very expensive hotel and should be better for guests. Goodies in bathroom of high standard. Wonderfully convenient in Boulder - a great city. There is much to do there, good theatre and shopping. Friendly people everywhere. But high, so

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Psyche21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
so. cal.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2009

we went up to our room which we booked 2 months in advanced to find it already occupied. after apologies, it took 20 min. to find another room. the desk clerk went up with us, opened and closed the door immediately stating only that the light was on. back down we went 20 min later a new room. for our inconvienience, free room service but just for my son- not my wife or i. no upgrade in the room. the room was at the end of the hall- the farest from a staircase or elevator. location is good, but so is the boulderado- with a nicer staff. if u don't use the spa- which i didn't i'd pass at going here. our room was on pearl st. very noisy during the weekend.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank deliveryman53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2009

We were 7 weeks into an 8 week round the world holiday with our 2 boys (5 & 10). We arrived at the hotel well after midnight due to flight delays (thanks American) and without out bags!. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff from parking the car, checking on our lost bags, rooms ervice for a hungry 10 year old at 1 am or finding a way for my wife and I to take advantage of a range of treatments at the spa without advance bookings and juggling the kids. This is one of the best hotels tahtw e have stayed at and we have been to some 6 star hotels that didn't measure up to this

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesy168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boulder hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boulderado
Hotel Boulderado
#3 of 23 in Boulder
978 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Boulder / Pearl Street
1.2 mi away
Boulder Marriott
Boulder Marriott
#15 of 23 in Boulder
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Boulder Inn
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boulder - North
0.8 mi away
Basecamp Boulder
Basecamp Boulder
#12 of 23 in Boulder
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Julien Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Julien Hotel and Spa

Property: St Julien Hotel and Spa
Address: 900 Walnut St, Boulder, CO 80302-5053
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Boulder
#1 Business Hotel in Boulder
#2 Romantic Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — St Julien Hotel and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us for daily Happy Hour from 4:00 to 6:30pm daily. Our terrace is open for food and drinks, and features live entertainment most evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your St Julien Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Julien Hotel Boulder
St Julien Boulder

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing