We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The briar rose is authentic.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Briar Rose Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Boulder B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The briar rose is authentic.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

I pay attention to the details. I was pleased to know that the briar rose does so as well. They are genuine, and are not trying to be anyone other than who they are. I really enjoyed hanging out with the staff. The fresh flowers are lovely. The tea is lovely. And the location (right across the street from naropa) Is lovely

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Magicfeet55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    41
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
31
105
33
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
104 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

This is a great Bed and Breakfast. It really is more of an inn, than a B&B. There are staff members present in the home. The room was very comfortable, quiet, and peaceful. There are plenty of sweet breads to eat, along with tea, that can be obtained any time of day. We stayed in the red cloud room.

The staff members are extremely friendly and helpful. The location provides easy walking access to downtown Boulder.

The breakfast is absolutely amazing. The homemade granola can't be beat, and you will not walk away from breakfast hungry. This was a great experience. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Try to obtain a room with attached bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LostNotFound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

This certainly didn't live up to it's reputation or advertisements and is situated on a noisy road. We arrived late, so a key was left for us which we didn't have a problem with but the directions to find the bathroom that went with our room was a different matter! We found a broom cupboard, someone else's room but it turned out to be a door marked 'private', which was the last one we tried although would have known had the note said that. Breakfast was disappointing, the fresh fruit salad looked very sorry for itself and seemed sparse, and there was no choice; at one point we had to clear space for someone to sit down. We had pancakes one day that were very heavy and stodgy. It seemed to be run by students, but by day three the lad serving looked in need of a wash and change of clothes. Information about the locality was non-existant, we chanced upon some kind of green fair; which could have been mentioned on the board or leaflets made available.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonty1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Canaan, CT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

When making our plans for family weekend two months ago, we were unable to find any rooms and stumbled upon this wonderful bed and breakfast. From the moment we arrived, we felt the stress and noise of travel from the east coast dissipate. The entry through a garden with an attractive waterfall into the homey front room was just the beginning. The smell of fresh baked goodies drew us in where we met several friendly people working in the kitchen. Our room was not ready upon our arrival, but we were offered delicious brewed tea from their extensive collection and homemade cookies. We were given a tour of the place and shown our room. We went to the CU family activities and returned to find our belongings happily tucked into our comfortable room. The bed was very comfortable...we slept for 9 hours! We awoke to the smell of fresh coffee (a local roaster) and homemade zucchini bread. Homemade yoghurt with homemade granola, fresh fruit, followed by fresh eggs scrambled with spinach, red bell pepper, and mushrooms with goat cheese atop completed our breakfast, which we ate on a covered porch. After a day of hiking, vwe returned to enjoy a cup of fresh brewed tea with the zucchini bread. Our tea was served on a silver tray complete with fresh flowers and herbs from the garden!
We have stayed at other places in Boulder, but if we can, we will always stay here in the future!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mbondsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Bianca room. While the street out front was busy, we didn't hear it at all (to be transparent in my review, we didn't open the windows...didn't need to). Parking was ample in the available lots. Pearl Street was only about a 10 minute walk away - nice. The breakfast was yummy - and the homemade granola is out of this world! The only problem with the shortbread cookies was that I know how much butter is in shortbread cookies, so that kept me from eating 5 of them. I steeled myself for only eating one. Very tough to do! The tea selection was fantastic. Love the tea in the afternoon and the mint-lemon ice water. Room is comfortable. If you absolutely have to have a TV in your room, then you must know that there isn't one there. No problem on our end. It was great not to have the glaring screen for one night.

For those lucky enough to stay on a Friday night, the Saturday morning Boulder County Farmers Market is a 10 minute walk away. GO THERE if it is happening, even just to walk around & gawk at all the wonderful things! So amazing!! Wish we had a comparable one close to home.

I was thinking about some of the not-great reviews that said that the owner does the welcome in the kitchen (and sometimes dishes are there) and that the young staff runs the place. This was our first time staying at a B&B, and being welcomed in the kitchen made me feel like I was staying in the owner's own house. I welcome all my guests into my kitchen at home, and there are surely some dishes there every now & then! A rushed intro to the place, someone said. Who cares? How much do you need to know besides where the tea & cookies are, the breakfast time, where your key works, whom to call in an emergency, & where your room is? A young staff? Well, they sure seem to know what is going on, so I don't feel the burning need to talk to someone who is older, just for the sake of talking to someone older. And Elizabeth makes a MEAN homemade breakfast bread (I think ours was ginger-spice flavor?), so have her on hand any night I am there, please!

All in all, a very fine place to stay, a welcoming setting - and we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michelle Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

I can't think of a better way to wrap up our Colorado travels than by staying here. We got lucky and the Briar had a cancellation. We stayed in the Cameron room, which has French doors and a lovely balcony. Everything about this place was excellent. The room is so comfy we slept in and hung out for the coziness. Downstairs has a welcoming lounge area, and there are a million (OK, maybe like 35 or so) different organic teas from which to choose throughout the day. You also have yummy homemade cookies and bread available at your leisure.

The breakfast is delicous. We had some type of egg with peppers omelet with bread, yogurt with fruit, granola, fresh squeezed OJ...and maybe more. We also had a yummy french toast breakfast. I think it's all homemade.

The best part, though, is the service. The staff are very welcoming and friendly. They helped us find things to do when it was raining and looked up bike rentals for our day plans. I can't stress enough that, while the place is charming and food superb, it's the staff that make this the best place to stay. I will definitely come back here my next stay in Boulder.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mmhaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

This B&B is one of the finest places to stay, not only in Boulder but anywhere. I've stayed in many B&B's in North America and they all were nice, but the Briar Rose is at the top.
The owners and the staff are what make the difference; a gracious welcome, a staff of happy and positive people, delicious organic breakfasts, organic teas available anytime, and homemade breads and cookies baked fresh every afternoon.
I stayed in the Windom room which is upstairs above the carriage house. The room has a nice peaceful feeling and lots of windows. As well, this is also a green B&B so you won't find any chemicals sprayed in your room.
There are many other positive ammenities to be found at the Briar Rose. I will certainly return, and like to tell anyone coming to Boulder to check out the Briar Rose

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ayni louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boulder hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Boulderado
Hotel Boulderado
#3 of 20 in Boulder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
0.6 mi away
University Inn
University Inn
#9 of 20 in Boulder
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.9 mi away
St Julien Hotel and Spa
St Julien Hotel and Spa
#2 of 20 in Boulder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Boulder / Pearl Street
0.4 mi away
Boulder Marriott
Boulder Marriott
#13 of 20 in Boulder
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.1 mi away
Basecamp Boulder
Basecamp Boulder
#15 of 20 in Boulder
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briar Rose Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briar Rose Bed and Breakfast

Property: Briar Rose Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2151 Arapahoe Ave., Boulder, CO 80302
Region: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Briar Rose Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast in the heart of Boulder offers organic breakfast, fine teas, and ecologically conscious hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Briar Rose Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briar Rose b&b
Briar Rose Hotel Boulder

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing