We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Briar Rose Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Boulder B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 18 July 2012

What a disappointment! The linens are old and faded. The pillows were sweat-stained and disgusting and the staff didnt have the grace to be embarrassed. Breakfast was unimaginative and pedestrian. Although the server was very nice, service was painfully slow. The location was convenient and street parking was a plus.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
2  Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2012

Everyone at the Briar Rose was very welcoming and friendly on our arrival. We stayed a room in the carriage house which was recently updated. The room was very spacious, clean and welcoming. The location is awesome to downtown Boulder/Pearl Street Mall ( about a 10-15 min walk through really cute neighborhoods). The breakfasts were amazing both mornings, only made with the freshest ingredients. If we are ever back in Boulder, we would definitely return to the Briar Rose B&B.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyMariss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This B&B is so conveniently located that you don't need a car to go shopping, enjoy movies, or explore Naropa University across the street.

The staff takes exceptionally careful and heartful attention to every detail. And the cookie jar with mouth-melting cookies and muffins -- enough to steel downstairs.

I stayed in the Huron room, which I understand was recently remodeled with the biggest and nicest jacuzzi bath one could imagine. If I were looking for a honeymoon suite, this would be top of my list! And the beds are enormous with mounds of feather beds to keep one cozy on a snowy night.

Top that with vegan fare, green business practices, and the most amazing collection of teas I've ever seen. Oh, and if you like to meditate, there's a Zen meditation room on the premises, and you can meet the local sangha.

All in all, well worth the stay!

Room Tip: The Huron room is more of a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jisen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed, for the second time, at the Briar Rose for the week of February 11-18 and we agree with Deborah D(another reviewer), that the Briar Rose is really unique and that while most of the staff is young, they are extremely friendly and competent. One day one of us walked in while the flowers were being arranged and it was like watching a professional florist at work. The entire facility is graced with vases of fresh arrangements, which makes for a very cheery setting. Our room over the carriage house was immaculate and kept that way on a daily basis by the caring staff. The bed was very comfortable and quiet and even though the B&B abuts busy Arapahoe Avenue, even we, who live on a dead end country road find it is relatively quiet.

The breakfasts are great and one of the reasons we prefer to stay here rather than someplace where we would have to go out for breakfast. They are healthy meals with fruit, yogurt and granola each morning followed by a choice of the day which may be either eggs of some sort, pancakes or french toast. You also get an assortment of fruit breads or other breads, coffee or tea and juice. All very capably made to order and delicious.

Another nice feature of the Briar Rose is that any time that the staff is available, one can order a pot of tea and there are always delicious cookies to go with it.

The available WI FI works great(I have a Kindle Fire) and for those without a tablet, there are two computers and a printer available. Not all B&B's can offer you those choices.

The owners and the staff really make you feel at home and are very helpful if you have any questions about the area or its attractions, of which there are many. And, each time we have visited, we meet the nicest, most interesting people at breakfast. Finally, it is a perfect location, especially if you are carless because you can walk to just about anywhere downtown. We shall return!!

Room Tip: We first went to the Shiavano Room and liked it so much we returned to it for our second visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nhpowdercats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I had always wanted to take vacation in Colorado and this year for my birthday present to myself, I did. I was excited to find a bed and breaakfast that not only worked with my dietary needs and preferences (vegan, gluten free) but also had a fireplace in the room and makes sustainable choices in the running of it just like I do at home. It is very convenient to get around and close to many things. Breakfast was delicious ( and pleasing this graduate of The Natural Gourmet Institute takes attention to presentation in addition to taste). I am looking forward to staying there in the future when my travels bring me back to Boulder.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SpiritEmerging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Nice owners....but for the price....Stay somewhere else! I found the rooms to be dirty and dingy. The furnishings are cheep and mismatched. The romantic room above the carriage house has a really squeaky bed. OUTDATED! And the biggest disappointment was the breakfast. It was not set up to serve yourself. The portions were ridiculously pretentious. Our "organic" breakfast was prepared by a very immature and unskilled college student. Loved the concept of eco-friendly, but so what, you recycle....I am not impressed.... Do we want to pay for that novelty? Just a big disappointment all around, especially for the price.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRBB, Owner at Briar Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

We are very sorry this guest was so unhappy. Nonetheless, this review
is markedly unfair. We made various attempts to please her. She was
unhappy with the original room that was recommended to her by our staff person.
This is understandable: all our rooms are different, and people have
different preferences. We moved her to a different room, but it felt
like an uphill battle to satisfy her after her initial disappointment.
It's true we do not serve breakfast family style, but she was offered
more multiple times. We are sorry if this arrangement was
uncomfortable. We go out of our way to meet our guests desires and
needs. Our staff is young, but these are remarkably warm and friendly
young people. In the end, we did our best, and we are sad that she
was unhappy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

The Briar Rose is a unique place. It offers an atmosphere that is cozy, vibrant, and endlessly loving. I find myself surrounded by fresh flowers, sunny rooms, tasteful wall hangings, and furniture that invites me to be at home (...the home I wish I had). The location is convenient and quiet. The staff is extremely friendly, and they go out of their way to meet the customers' needs. When I was younger, my mom would take my sisters and me to a B&B whenever we traveled. The Briar Rose brings back only the fondest memories of these times spent together. Every time I stay for a weekend, I have a difficult time leaving.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boulder hotels
0.9 mi away
St Julien Hotel and Spa
St Julien Hotel and Spa
#2 of 23 in Boulder
988 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Boulderado
Hotel Boulderado
#3 of 23 in Boulder
1,085 reviews
1 mi away
Hyatt Place Boulder / Pearl Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Basecamp Boulder
Basecamp Boulder
#12 of 23 in Boulder
225 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boulder Marriott
Boulder Marriott
#13 of 23 in Boulder
465 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boulder University Inn
Boulder University Inn
#7 of 23 in Boulder
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briar Rose Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briar Rose Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2151 Arapahoe Ave, Boulder, CO 80302-6601
Region: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Boulder
Price Range: £104 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Briar Rose Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast in the heart of Boulder offers organic breakfast, fine teas, and ecologically conscious hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Briar Rose Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briar Rose Hotel Boulder
Briar Rose b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing