We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service, Good Food, Small Portions”

Tahona Tequila Bistro
Ranked #86 of 577 Restaurants in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Boulder, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
650 reviews
469 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Friendly service, Good Food, Small Portions”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Friday night in Boulder is a crowded bar/restaurant scene. We got in this place just off the west end of the Pearl St. Mall around 7PM with only a 15 minute wait. We ordered drinks and guacamole to start. We were stunned at how small the guaq and chips were and the margarita. The restaurant has a wide variety of tequilas including tequila flights. We ordered a wide variety of things veggie enchiladas, chicken enchiladas, relleno, chicken quesadilla, and fajitas shrimp. The food was all very good, but again the portions were small. The chicken quesadilla did not come out at the same time as the rest of the food. The manager delivered it personally a couple of minutes later, apologized and said there would be no charge! That was a great surprise. Having complained about the portion size I must admit we ate everything and didn't leave hungry

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    44
    10
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great for Happy Hour”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I love tequila, so this is definitely a place for me. Tacos and bar menu are just what you would expect for a place of this type. Salsa, tequila, and many options of great Mexican food make this a winner for me. Been in twice, and other from a totally drunk person being obnoxious the first time, it's all been good. He was finally escorted out after making a spectacle of himself.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NE-skibum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“great prices!”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

First visit here and was very impressed. Started off with an infused lychee tequila margarita. And pork belly tacos,with the option to get one or three. Hubby found an awesome deal its called the daily duo, which includes a margarita and a meal for $7!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackkaye11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Morgan H”
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Paying $3 for each basket of chips and salsa at a Mexican Restaurant is ridiculous, in my opinion. Otherwise, the restaurant/bar had decent food and a great atmosphere.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Morgan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Not Just Another Taco Joint”
Reviewed 10 March 2013

If Mexican is on your agenda, but you don't want another taco place, no matter how nice, this is your spot. Imagine premium tequilas plus inspired margaritas (top shelf is a great one), plus high end dining. I began with duck nachos - perfectly cooked, flavorful duck, but not a ton of cheese to mess it up. A great combo of seasonings and flavors just to highlight the duck. House-made chips. Others enjoyed a nice looking guacamole, but I wanted to push the limits. Next up, a platter of tiny pork belly tacos. You can order 1, 2 or 3 and mix and match from their innovative choices. Very hard to pick, but they make it easy to not really decide. The platters were well presented and yet, they gave you plenty of food. Ask for their special hot sauces; the chef is known for fiery blends. And he came out with a house flan which was rated highly by all who still had room for it. Their tequila flights offer a nice way to get a sense of how good tequila can be. My favorite, Corazon, was available. Make reservations - this place is popular. Good for drinks and a snack as well as a gourmet chow-down.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tahona Tequila Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Tahona Tequila Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing