We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic, charming, perfectly located”
Review of Hotel Boulderado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Boulderado
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pueblo, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Historic, charming, perfectly located”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Pearl Street in Boulder is a pedestrian-only street in busy downtown and easily accessible from The Boulderado except during the sub-zero cold weekend when we were there! Nevertheless, we enjoyed our stay and took advantage of the friendly bar and the cozy restaurant Q at the hotel and found our rooms to be very comfortable even though they were located in the newer part. The only drawback in my view was that the room was fairly remote from the hotel lobby. I have been assured by the management that one can request a room closer in. The history of the hotel is fascinating and is available in book form in the gift shop. The Christmas tree was magnificent and provided a great photo background from the second floor landing.

Room Tip: I would definitely ask for a room in the "old" hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyHawk65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    306
    81
    37
    19
See reviews for
249
316
44
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Stayed at this hotel with a group in October 2013. We had an exceptional experience. The staff was wonderful and the rooms were spacious and very clean. The hotel is very charming and I would highly recommend for a trip to Boulder!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The Boulderado is located in the center of Boulder, Colorado and is convenient to a panoply of shops and restaurants on Pearl Street. Valet parking only unless you want to park in one of the nearby lots or on the street where parking is metered. The hotel does have charm; it was built just after the turn of the 20th century. The reception and other public areas of the hotel are spacious, with the high ceilings and ornate woodwork common to that era.

On this trip, I was traveling with two other people (a married couple) and we had reserved one room with two king sized beds. The photos online showed spacious, comfortable rooms. When we arrived we were allowed to check in early (before 3:00), really important because my pals had just flown in from Japan. However, we found the room very disappointing - small and cramped. I expressed disappointment to the bell man and asked if all the rooms were so small. He didn't seem to know but within 5 minutes after he left the room, I received a call asking if I'd care to look at another room. It was considerably larger and the same price - over $300/night. The room was comfortable, the pillows soft and the linens very nice.

The Boulderado doesn't exactly offer fine dining, but the food is a cut above pub food. And it's easy to walk from the Boulderado to other restaurants. However, on a warm September evening, sitting outside the hotel with a glass of wine and a plate of pasta is very pleasant.

The staff are friendly and accommodating. I would stay at the Boulderado again, remembering that it's not the Four Seasons.

Room Tip: Don't be shy about asking for a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurgam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wray, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel with friends when in town for a football game. (Actually the guys went to the game, the wives went next door to the spa!) We have stayed here several times. It's a nice, special getaway when we're able to leave the kids with the grandparents. We stayed in a king room in the southwest corner, 4th floor of the historic section of the hotel. This room is beautiful, well appointed, quiet, and has great views. Our friends stayed in the Southeast corner and did have a lot of noise coming up from outside the catacombs bar at night. We had appies and drinks in the corner bar. We like the good food and casual atmosphere there. The hotel has a great location, a block off the Pearl Street Mall. There are many, many, good restaurants within walking distance. The hotel doesn't have a pool, hot tub, or spa. We went to Mariana's spa next door and had wonderful massages and wraps. We went to catacombs for a drink one night. Wow has this place has really changed a lot in the past 20 years (mainly for the worse.) We were told that Catacombs was going to be re-done in the near future. My one complaint was having to walk through a cloud of cigarette smoke going into/out of the hotel at night, from the Catacombs crowd. That aside, the hotel is still one of our favorites. We thoroughly enjoy the classy, well kept historic section, along with the attentive staff. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plainstravellors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Attended the annual celebration at the Boulderado - this year was a james Bond Theme. Well put together, great time, entertainment and meal were amazing. I will return next year for whatever theme the hotel dreams up.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2triparound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, Louisiana, United States
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Great location, staff and food. Built in the early 1900's with old world charm. Stayed in early summer and wanted to visit for Christmas. Will try to make it a yearly visit. Ski resorts nearby. Shopping and restaurants on Pearl street are some of the best in Colorado.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galveston Island, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Stayed here on a quick Christmas trip with my teenage kids. Perfect. The staff was amazing. The hotel is so neat that you must stay here and enjoy a step back into time. Thinking about the people who have graced this property is mind boggling. Perfect hotel - 1st class.

Room Tip: I heard that the original side gives a more historical feel - but I cannot say, as we stayed on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0vetheCarribean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boulder hotels
0.3 mi away
St Julien Hotel and Spa
St Julien Hotel and Spa
#2 of 23 in Boulder
937 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Boulder / Pearl Street
1.0 mi away
Boulder Marriott
Boulder Marriott
#15 of 23 in Boulder
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Basecamp Boulder
Basecamp Boulder
#12 of 23 in Boulder
153 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Boulder Inn
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boulder - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boulderado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boulderado

Property: Hotel Boulderado
Address: 2115 13th Street, Boulder, CO 80302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Boulder
#4 Family Hotel in Boulder
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boulder
#4 Green Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Boulderado 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of downtown, Hotel Boulderado is an award-winning hotel perfect for all vacations and business trips. The hotel features 160 rooms and suites, plus meeting and event space while the three bars and two restaurants are local favorites. Hotel Boulderado is a Silver Level Green Leader. · P.A.C.E. certified · Electric car charging stations · Award winning recycle program · Towel/linen reuse program · LED light bulbs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Boulderado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulderado Hotel Boulder

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing