We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An historic hotel in downtown Boulder with helpful and friendly staff”
Review of Hotel Boulderado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Boulderado
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed 3 nights for a conference. The rooms were comfortable, the bed excellent, but the bathroom could do with a remodel. The bath drain had to be repaired twice and the toilet flush once. Despite this I recommend the Boulderado as an excellent base for a visit to Boulder. The coference catering was above the normal conference standard.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn B, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Boulderado, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thanks for letting us know about your recent stay for a conference! We apologize for the maintenance problems you found in your bathroom, but I'm delighted to hear it didn't impact your overall impression of the hotel. We hope to see you again at the Boulderado, either as a conference attendee or for a leisurely visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,038)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

658 - 664 of 1,038 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

The Boulderado looks like one of the grand hotels from the turn of the 19th century. It has a great flair and tries to preserve it. The rooms are very comfortable but still look authentic, with charming furniture and the modern amenities, like the TV, neatly tugged into the wardrobe.
The rooms were well cleaned and the reception staff was friendly.
Located in the heart of Boulder it only takes one block to reach Perl Street, the central pedestrian area.
One of the must see highlights is the old elevator in the main building which is still manually operated by an elevator boy.
All in all a delightful stay

Room Tip: The elevators in both buildings are rather noisy, so I could imagine the rooms further away are bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeK10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn B, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Boulderado, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your appreciation for our flair! We love treating travelers to our unique combination of historic charm and modern amenities. And if you'd like to keep tabs on our 1906 Otis elevator, you can follow him on Twitter under the handle @BoulderadoOtis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The woodwork, cantilevered staircase and ceiling alone make this worth the stay. Boulder is one of the nicest towns and areas in the Country in the Boulderado is a great location. Great restaurants and shops (although bring your own bag if you want to buy anything at a grocery store!) Our room was only OK, and I would make sure you do not get one by the elevator, but worth a top rating nonetheless.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maxmillian_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn B, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Boulderado, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you so much for your five-star review! I'm thrilled to see how much you enjoyed the original architecture and historic details of our unique property, and agree with what you said about Boulder (right down to bringing your own bags to the grocery store). We hope to see you again at the Boulderado in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I am giving the Hotel Boulderado a very good rating because of the location, restaurants, and overall historical ambiance. Otherwise, I would give it an average rating.

First, the positives: the hotel is in a fantastic location - walking distance to tons of restaurants, shopping and the Pearl Street mall. The lobby is beautiful, they have kept the old world charm and I loved the original safe and elevator! The Corner Bar has a great outdoor seating area and good food. The Liquor Bar is nice too. I didn't eat at Q's but would have if I had more time.

We stayed in a queen suite in the historical part of the hotel. The hotel's rates are not cheap, so while I wasn't expecting uber modern amenities, I did expect quality. The bedding was a bit substandard for the rates they charge. The bathroom only had a small pedestal sink, and although there was a small shelf above it, it really wasn't big enough to put toiletries. One person in our party slept on the pull out sofa bed, and it was in pretty bad shape. Again, not up to the quality I would expect for the price they charge.

We did enjoy our stay overall, but just know you are not getting quality equal to the price you will pay to stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KosmoK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn B, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Boulderado, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at the Boulderado. I'm happy to see you enjoyed the location of the property as well as the newly revamped Corner Bar and brand-new License No. 1. I am passing your notes regarding the bedding, bathroom, and sofa sleeper on to our Executive Housekeeper for review, and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We were recommended this place from a resident of Boulder. We only stayed in the hotel for 1 night while passing through Boulder. The hotel takes you back to the olden days but is beautiful and unique while doing so. But at the same time it's still within modern times (flat screen tvs, new bar, etc). We checked in before 4pm so as far as the below comment from another reviewer, they seem flexible with that. We checked out at 11am but thats pretty standard anywhere. The rooms are huge and the beds comfortable, I had a great nights sleep. We rode the oldest elevator (not sure if its the oldest in CO or in the USA) and that was charming and fun. It is super close to Pearl St which was awesome since we are 4 adults in our 20/30s who were at bars all night. One of the best parts were the door men. They were so attentive to us no matter if we were coming or going and a door was always held for us. Very charming.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank 11N27R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn B, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Boulderado, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay with us! I'm so glad you enjoyed the unique combination of historic ambiance with modern amenities along with the attentive staff. Our 1906 elevator is the oldest Otis elevator on this side of the Mississippi River, but that hasn't stopped him from opening up his own Twitter account (@BoulderadoOtis)! We hope to see you again at the Boulderado someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Probably a generational thing, but for anyone under 40, this place will feel incredibly dated - like grandma's house. The staff and service is generally good, but some things are pretty odd like the 4pm checkin time and 11am checkout. Taking more than a quarter of the day away from a guest is pretty stingy, especially at the rates they charge. The elevator is an adventure right out a movie. If you can deal with little quirks like that, you'll likely enjoy your stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn B, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Boulderado, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to let us know your feedback from your recent stay at the Hotel Boulderado. We’re sorry that our historic design did not appeal to you but hopefully our service team members succeeded in helping to make your stay a pleasant one. It is common practice to have an established check-in and check-out time so that the housekeeping staff can ensure a freshly cleaned and prepared room for every guest. If we were not full the night prior, we absolutely will check our guests into their room at whatever time they arrive. When you return to Boulder in the future, please let us know if you plan to arrive earlier than 4pm and we will do our best to ensure your room is ready upon arrival.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Saturday morning brunch in peak season! Could not find waitress then when I did she said they were out of orange juice as she served the last glass at 8:00am
The food was good other wise and the rooms were clean! Will come back but will visit another restaurant

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank David Kiel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn B, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Boulderado, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to let us know your feedback from your recent stay at the Hotel Boulderado. I apologize that we ran out of orange juice in the restaurant during your stay, but I was glad to see you enjoyed the food and the cleanliness of the rooms. We have shared your experience with the restaurant staff so that they are prepared for our future weekend brunches. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boulder hotels
0.3 mi away
St Julien Hotel and Spa
St Julien Hotel and Spa
#2 of 23 in Boulder
960 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Boulder / Pearl Street
0.7 mi away
Basecamp Boulder
Basecamp Boulder
#10 of 23 in Boulder
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Boulder Marriott
Boulder Marriott
#14 of 23 in Boulder
456 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Boulder Inn
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boulder - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boulderado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boulderado

Address: 2115 13th Street, Boulder, CO 80302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Boulder
#4 Green Hotel in Boulder
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boulder
#4 Family Hotel in Boulder
Price Range: £188 - £315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Boulderado 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of downtown, Hotel Boulderado is an award-winning hotel perfect for all vacations and business trips. The hotel features 160 rooms and suites, plus meeting and event space while the three bars and two restaurants are local favorites. Hotel Boulderado is a Silver Level Green Leader. · P.A.C.E. certified · Electric car charging stations · Award winning recycle program · Towel/linen reuse program · LED light bulbs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Boulderado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulderado Hotel Boulder

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing