We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Boulderado is a beautiful, historic hotel centrally located in downtown Boulder.”
Review of Hotel Boulderado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Boulderado
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 October 2009

The staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a king suite on the 4th floor of the north section (new section of hotel). The room was elegantly appointed, very clean, and the king bed was extremely comfortable. We walked everywhere. There is a great rec center about 1 1/2 miles from the hotel which has a lap pool and great gym. This is not the gym (compliments of the hotel) that the hotel uses which is only about three blocks away and looked pretty nice(we needed the lap pool). Our only disappointment was that we had to wait too long for a table for breakfast in Q's Restaurant. Apparently, the staffing couldn't handle the number of people. We ate at the Corner Bar which is also located in the hotel. The food was tasty and had a nice atmosphere. We used the valet for parking ($10/day) but at check-in we found out you can park your own car (not sure where).

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank durangodawgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,073)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

997 - 1,003 of 1,073 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2009

my wife and i stayed at the boulderado this summer. we moved our son into the dorms at cu boulder. the entire staff made our stay very enjoyable. we stayed in the newer section of the hotel. the rooms were spacious and clean. we were at the farthest end of the hall. luckily there was a staircase next to our room leading to the street otherwise the trip to the lobby took 2-3 minutes involving two sets of stairs(or elevators) and a skywalk. the food at the resturant - the food at the outdoor resturant and its happy hour- esp- from 9-10 was great. the room was quiet as was the silence from the outside. would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deliveryman53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

Just stayed at this hotel for the first time when dropping our son off at CU. I appreciated the authentic ambiance in the lobby area and the location can't be beat. However, overall, it left me disappointed. The carpet and furniture in our room was really worn. The bathroom is embarrasing for its lack of the type of products and decorating that you would typically see in a hotel at this price. The TV is old as well. I think there are ways the Boulderado could retain the authenticity while--PLEASE!--do some updating of the rooms and decor. At this price range, I expect better products in the rooms and higher quality decor and TV.

We have also stayed at the Boulder Marriott and that would be my pick next time.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
1  Thank Travelbuff32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

Stayed in the corner Suite 405 in the historic part of the building. Beautiful rooms, average sized- large by NY standards, small by others perhaps- but not cramped, slightly overdone in "period" style. Front room has a sofa, chair, sink/fridge buffet table, small desk which is adequate for a laptop, but insufficient for a business traveler. Closet with robes, ironing board, luggage racks. Lovely views of downtown and the mountains.

Bedroom is nicely sized with a king, which is quite comfy. Has a large armoire in lieu of a closet, and a desk and chair. Bathroom is a standard small hotel bath, with a combo shower/bath. Disappointed with that, expected at least a full size bath when in a suite. There is non-existent counter space in the bath, and only a smallish mirror with inadequate lighting (for a woman). (SEE PHOTOS)

Everything was tidy and clean, though very sparse bath amenities. Being an older hotel, there is no soundproofing. Traffic noise from the streets outside as to be expected, as well as a bit of restautant chatter from outside seating on the street. Fair warning- with no insulation, you can hear footsteps from the floor above, as well as -ahem- mattress squeakings.

All staff was very helpful, front desk as well as bellman and doormen. There is a bellboy who has to operate the only elevator which is miniscule, barely closet sized. Stairs are the only other option for those who are claustrophobic, or have more than one piece of luggage, or a large family.

The hotel lobby has beautiful ornate woodwork, thought the halls in the historic sections are rather worn, to put it nicely. Parking is valet only, for $10 a day with unlimited in/out, or you have to find your own metered parking in the hotel neighborhood, at $1.25 an hour. For the cost and convenience, valet is the way to go... metered parking will easily run you almost double, and is terribly hard to come by in the area.

Did not eat at the hotel restauarant, but at Brasserie Ten Ten a few blocks away. Delicious food and service. Hotel is convenient to lots of dining/shopping/tourist sightseeing, and the Farmers Market is only a few blocks over.

Overall, lovely hotel with romantic ambiance, but pricey for the lack of amenities (we paid $257 per night in the suite, at a discount).

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamEdi75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

Visited Boulder in April 2009 and was looking for an iconic experience. The Boulderado was it. It was definitely on the pricey side, so don't go if you're looking for value.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank lilakmess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

This hotel is right out of the early 1900s. It is like stepping back in time. In that regard it is an excellent choice for those with nostalgia in mind. You really do feel like you are checking in to 1912. Overall it is a grand hotel and in a great location, but (here comes the but) it is not state of the art. It has one manually operated elevator (the kind with a gage and elevator operator) that can fit two or three people. The hotel is 5 floors with the fifth floor ceilings shaped like the roof. At that altitude many of the people that I stayed with had difficulty climbing to the 4th or fifth floor. And if you are on the fifth floor then the heat will be overwhelming (think attic). You will also be treated to the pidgeons all morning long. (the window was a 2x3 dormer. The rooms are very small and not fit for two people. You can fit a full size bed, dresser, and desk but tightly within a 10 by 8 room. The bathroom was amazing in the "how did they fit all that in a 6x5 space?

On the positive side it is quaint and right in the heart of boulder, on the negative it not full of amenities (like space). The staff was nice and the hotel was clean but overall a nice place to look at and step in for a drink but not very comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARC55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

Stayed here two nights in late June on a biz trip. Our corporate travel agent booked a great rate (under 150/night). Location was perfect, right a Pearl Street mall where there are tons of restaurants, shopping and good beer.
Room was so-so. It was in the new wing and was no better than any Hampton or Fairfield. It had a shared "balcony" but was occupied by a pigeon and her chicks and really had no view anyway. So, the sliding door was basically a big window that looked out to basically nothing.
Lobby was interesting since it's an old hotel. Staff was friendly. The only parking we saw was valet. Wife and I are coming back to Boulder in late August for vacation but staying at the Boulder University Inn since the Boulderado rooms jump to $250+ due to parents bringing in their kids to U of Colo. So I should have a good comparison then.
Boulder itself seems to be a really cool place. Lots of places to walk. Interesting people.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TN-Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boulder hotels
0.3 mi away
St Julien Hotel and Spa
St Julien Hotel and Spa
#2 of 23 in Boulder
977 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Boulder / Pearl Street
1.0 mi away
Boulder Marriott
Boulder Marriott
#13 of 23 in Boulder
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boulder - North
0.7 mi away
Basecamp Boulder
Basecamp Boulder
#10 of 23 in Boulder
219 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Boulder Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boulderado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boulderado

Address: 2115 13th St, Boulder, CO 80302-4801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Boulder
#4 Green Hotel in Boulder
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boulder
#4 Family Hotel in Boulder
Price Range: £158 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Boulderado 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of downtown, Hotel Boulderado is an award-winning hotel perfect for all vacations and business trips. The hotel features 160 rooms and suites, plus meeting and event space while the three bars and two restaurants are local favorites. Hotel Boulderado is a Silver Level Green Leader. · P.A.C.E. certified · Electric car charging stations · Award winning recycle program · Towel/linen reuse program · LED light bulbs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Boulderado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulderado Hotel Boulder

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing