We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We didn't end up staying here, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boulder Twin Lakes Inn
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“We didn't end up staying here, but...”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Our cross-country road trip plans changed at the last minute because our car broke down. Though this property has a strict cancellation policy, the owner waived it, and the person who was working there was professional and kind when speaking with me on the phone. The way they handled our situation--waiving the fee--was very helpful in a situation that was already upsetting and frustrating. I would stay there at any point simply because of how well and kindly they handled our problem, and I would recommend it to anyone for that simple fact. It is easy for hotel staff and owners to be nice and accommodating when everything goes smoothly and there is nothing to accommodate; I think that when something goes wrong, as it clearly did for us, a property has a chance to show its mettle. Boulder Twin Lakes Inn staff and owner(s) were wonderful to us, and we're grateful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PCC35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    80
    39
    9
    15
See reviews for
106
80
39
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

A few friends and I stayed at this hotel while on a road trip. The owners and management were absolutely wonderful and gave us a terrific welcome. Our room was huge and comfortable - good temperature, beds, etc. and we all slept well. In addition, the management was kind enough to recommend a good mechanic (we had brake troubles) who turned out to be excellent as well. This is a good hotel run by good people and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This "country Inn" is really an awkward conversion of a 1960's office building. Everything in it is of poor quality, old, and not well maintained. The hot tub was so filthy we did not dare use it. The entrance door is left open 24 hours a day; room keys are left in envelopes on the front desk; consequently no security. The innkeepers are rarely there and do not respond to a phone call when you have an issue. The carpets in our hallway and room were stained and dirty; the windows were cracked; the AC/heating unit old and very noisy. To be fair, the bed was good and linens nice; there is a pleasant outdoor gazebo and grill; the breakfast was adequate. However, in my opinion these things did not make up for the other nasty aspects and it is not a good cost value. FYI - in all of our travels this is the first negative review I have ever done.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DianeLee_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atascocita, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

After reading all of the great reviews on Trip Advisor about this smaller hotel, I booked two nights. It is nice, clean, and the owner/manager is very friendly and helpful...but it just wasn't a good fit for me. It was farther away from the downtown area of Boulder than I expected.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeachnTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Stayed for 3 nights while visiting friends in the area....tucked away in a residential area....twin lake walking paths are great too. staff is great and slept great and the hotel seemed very quiet and safe. Rooms are older but clean....and are a good size with a table, chairs and fridge and microwave. There was 2 kitchens on the second floor....1 small and one with full size features.
You have to drive to restaurants or opt for delivery.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffBarb17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Last summer I stayed at the Boulder Twin Lakes Inn. I was looking for a comfortable " home away from home" to live in while looking for a home. I loved this little spot ducked away in a quiet residential area. It was such a serene and lovely location. The room was so comfortable and spacious I felt like I was in my own "master suite" back home in Hawaii. Breakfast is casual and included. It had a full kitchen with dishes! Everyone was extremely friendly, Especially the owners!
They provide the on site massage as well as a hot tub for even more relaxation. I enjoyed the mini office set up available to guests. They are secluded and yet close to many great areas of interest and activities.Such a little gem!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We couldn't get a downtown hotel due to conventions. A lady recommended this inn, and we are glad she did. While not 'downtown' the inn is close enough for just a short drive. It is non-smoking and the bed is so comfortable. A very quaint stay for our time in Boulder.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twaggx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boulder hotels
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boulder - North
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Boulder Inn
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Boulder / Pearl Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
University Inn
University Inn
#9 of 20 in Boulder
289 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Boulderado
Hotel Boulderado
#3 of 20 in Boulder
915 reviews
3.3 mi away
Courtyard Boulder
Courtyard Boulder
#10 of 20 in Boulder
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulder Twin Lakes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulder Twin Lakes Inn

Property: Boulder Twin Lakes Inn
Address: 6485 Twin Lakes Rd, Boulder, CO 80301-3185 (Formerly Sandy Point Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Boulder
#5 Romantic Hotel in Boulder
#9 Family Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Boulder Twin Lakes Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently renovated, very quiet, modern country Inn, located in the heart of Boulder high tech companies, adjacent to a park and lots of trails. Complimentary breakfast buffet, local newspaper, high speed internet, business center, hot tub and athletic club are just few of the amenities. We offer great rates for extended stays and have a communal kitchen for guests and all rooms have refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker, plus all utensils and dishes. A great place to stay in Boulder. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Boulder Twin Lakes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulder Twin Lakes Hotel Boulder

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing