We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Boulder University Inn
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great!”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Like stepping back in time. This hotel feels like a step back to the1960s and has been maintained beautifully. The décor would be considered kitsch and some Americans would consider the bed small but we found it perfect. The staff are really friendly and the location couldn't be better. Breakfast is plentiful, fresh and yummy. Highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoulderCreek, Manager at Boulder University Inn, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you for your five star review of our property! I couldn’t be happier to hear you so thoroughly enjoyed your time at our hotel, our team members and location. We consider a recommendation one of the greatest compliments we could receive and we very much appreciate yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    118
    39
    11
    15
See reviews for
88
90
28
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

This is a clean, we'll maintained, comfortable hotel with friendly staff. Reasonably price hotel provides fre wi-fi, continental breakfast and a clean pool.

Centrally located a couple of blocks from Pearl Street, shopping, restaurants, trails, and other attractions. The hotel will also provide you with a free bicycle for the day so you can transport yourself like hundreds do in this awesome city, by bicycle.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank demendieta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoulderCreek, Manager at Boulder University Inn, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay, we appreciate your feedback. . We are thrilled you enjoyed our hotel as well as the City of Boulder. It is wonderful you took an opportunity to enjoy some of the great amenities we so proudly offer our guests. Again, we sincerely appreciate your comments and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Other reviews have not been friendly to this place, and I don't understand why. I love the location, the room wasn't bad, and front desk service was exceptional. Pearl Street is only three blocks from here and there is a health food store with deli across the street. The room is clean with no obvious need of repair. All the amenities, hair dryer and iron are included. Also, there is a free continental breakfast, free bicycle loan, and a pool. They let you drink juice and coffee from the breakfast room at all hours. The only negatives are that there are some strange characters that stay here (typical of the hippie Boulder university vibe) and the parking is tight. Oh, also it has a "motel" feel. Despite the negatives, I recommend this place as a pretty good value. All the other hotels close to Pearl street are much more expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss_Qween_Bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoulderCreek, General Manager at Boulder University Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for your excellent review of our property! We appreciate you not only choosing the Boulder University Inn, but also taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We are thrilled you found the location convenient and enjoyed our amenities including the complimentary bicycle rental. If you find yourself back in the Boulder area, we hope you will again choose to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cancun, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I just went for a weekend wedding in Colorado, the hotel location is excellent, rooms are Ok and clean, we had to go up to the mountains for an important wedding and called the front desk to call a cab for us.. we called One hour before we needed it and she said yes... we came to the front desk already nicely dressed for the wedding and asked the lady (a bit elderly lady) where our taxi was... she said she hasn't called it..!! then she pretended to call... never looked at us in the eye and she Never even apologized ...!! Fortunately a nice man working close from there over heard it all... I think he was the manager... he got all worried and said he wouldhelp us on this... tookmy bofriend aside and apologized himself for this woman behaviour..! This guy called another employye if he could take us to the wedding location and he did... that was awesome as we could get there on time... can't say more about this woman's poorly customer service but awful..!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEgRRolfes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

At the risk of being repetitive, I would agree with Jeff H and totally disagree with Babbette_33 and onthesameday (3 very recent reviews). Basic rooms, large, clean, location perfect, very helpful staff, free bike rental (wow).
We arrived late (2 hour plane delay) and were starving. The clerk (cute kid) directed us to a few choices. We chose South Mouth, just around the corner, late night college joint, great wings, soul burger like we used to make on the grill when we were kids; they are open till 3am. Pipe and Hooch next door....open, but may be awaiting Colorado's legislation to work out a few kinks to make the nay-sayers happy.
(No frig or microwave in the rooms, but I did see guests with coolers)
Awoke to stroll across the street to Alfa Grocery, the Walmart of food. Don't go to a restaurant for breakfast, stroll around here, (a bit high), but the choices, the quality, and the service well worth it. I recommend the zucchini pancake (under $2 and they will heat it up for you); also the salad bar is awesome, fruit and low fat yogurt (with granola) delicious. Very good coffee. Excellent service.
Then, my husband went for a run (path just behind the hotel) up the mountain, the route clearly explained by the front desk. I went for a walk with my yoga matt and did my thing.
They allowed us to check out one hour late, that was great. We showered and went to the farmers market just behind the hotel. One could spend the day here! Everything you could want. Grab lunch here (mine was gelato and my husband grabbed a tamale) and sit either by the free entertainment or by the river. This market closes at 2:00, we were able to grab a gorgeous hanging plant for $10 (due to lateness of day) for our daughter's housewarming gift.
You can see kids tubing down the river, little ones wading in the shallow ends, many strolling just enjoying the day.
This was our third time visiting Boulder, and we found the place to stay for next summer....
Will be back next summer to spend 2 nights. Thank you University Inn!
(missed Pearl Street this year)

Room Tip: If you want The Holiday Inn or Best Western (nothing against those places), then stay there. But, f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SOGChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoulderCreek, General Manager at Boulder University Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you for the 5 star review of your recent stay at the Boulder University Inn! We are so pleased you enjoyed our complimentary bicycles, location and guest rooms! Boulder is such a wonderful city and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay, we really look forward to you staying with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

1st trip ever to Boulder. Wanted something close to Pearl St. and still not pay through the nose. this motel is located just a few blocks away from Pearl and is just around the corner from a wonderful park with a stream running through it. This is a 2 story motel with approx 35 rooms. It is older but the room we had on the 2nd floor was nice. It was clean and the bathroom was adequate with a walk in shower and plenty of water pressure. They do use liquid soap and shampoo dispenser mounted to the shower wall. The bed was very comfortable and the a/c worked great. The fellow at the desk was very helpful and even went on to explain Boulder to us after he found out it was our first trip there. They even have free bikes you can take if you want to go riding around which seemed to be the preferred mode of transportation in Boulder. I would def stay here again with no apprehension.

Room Tip: I would try and get a room on the 2nd floor due to traffic going by the motel, busy street. Parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hainesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoulderCreek, General Manager at Boulder University Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at our hotel! We are glad you enjoyed our property, our guest service and our prime location! We are so glad you would choose to stay with us again and we look forward to seeing you on your future trips to Boulder, Colorado!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

My friend and I had planned a trip to visit Boulder, Colorado. We booked two nights at the hotel with plans to enjoy nature and the nightlife. The location of the hotel was great. It was close to restaurants and had a vibrant atmosphere. As for the accommodations, they are basic and the rooms are quite clean. Parking is available in the front of the building and the set up is reminiscent of a low key motel.

My only concern of the experience lies with the customer service. Upon checking in, the front desk staff did not properly process the payment of my friend’s card, asked for cash and then stated that we can pay per night. My friend and I were paid the amount requested and went along our way for a nice dinner. Within a mile radius of the hotel, there are a number of fantastic places to eat, drink and lounge.

The next morning, we get a call at 7:30 am from the Assistant General Manager stating that we “owed” University Inn money. My friend and I were taken aback. We paid the amount that we were quoted and did not see that there were any issues. Shortly after receiving the telephone call, we met with the Assistant General Manager to get clarity of his concerns and to explain the events that took place upon our arrival. However, the Assistant General Manager stated that he was agitated, accused us of fraud and threatened to call the police even though we paid the amount quoted to us. My friend and I were appalled by his behavior, as there was no dishonesty or disrespect on our part. Somehow, the mistake from the front desk staff the night before was placed on us. At that time, my friend called his bank and the Assistant General Manager had called his credit company. He then told us that we were not allowed to stay the second night we booked and must leave the hotel. The process took about 2 hours to resolve to the best of its ability. The Assistant General Manager was very unprofessional and condescending throughout the entire process. At the end of it all, we still had to leave the hotel and the money that we were supposedly to have “owed” them, ended up to be that the hotel owed my friend money, which was pended to his account.

Even though the location of the hotel is convenient, the lack of organization and poor customer service was unacceptable. Overall, my time in Boulder was memorable and outside of the hotel experience, I had a nice time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Fransois_X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boulder hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Boulderado
Hotel Boulderado
#3 of 22 in Boulder
946 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Boulder / Pearl Street
0.3 mi away
St Julien Hotel and Spa
St Julien Hotel and Spa
#2 of 22 in Boulder
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Boulder Inn
0.5 mi away
Basecamp Boulder
Basecamp Boulder
#12 of 22 in Boulder
131 reviews
1.0 mi away
Boulder Marriott
Boulder Marriott
#15 of 22 in Boulder
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulder University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulder University Inn

Property: Boulder University Inn
Address: 1632 Broadway, Boulder, CO 80302 (Formerly University Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Boulder
#7 Family Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Boulder University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boulder University Inn’s prime location provides guests with convenient access to all beautiful Boulder, Colorado has to offer. Situated just blocks from the famous Pearl Street Mall, the University of Colorado and Naropa University. Their newly updated guest rooms feature complimentary WIFI, microwaves, refrigerators and much more! Enjoy this pet friendly hotel with a seasonal pool, complimentary deluxe continental breakfast buffet, seasonal outdoor pool and complimentary parking. The Boulder University Inn offers an exceptional value in the heart of Downtown Boulder. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Boulder University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Boulder

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing