We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent HI property!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Boulder
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Boulder
Norman, OKI
Level Contributor
121 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Decent HI property!”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The HIE in Boulder is located on the northern side of Boulder and is a bit out of the way, but still not too far a drive to the center of Boulder. Staff I interacted with were all nice. Hotel is clean overall although as other reviewers have commented – getting a bit run down. My room had a big chunk of shee trock out of the ceiling for what I am assuming was a leak repair. The breakfast area is too small for the amount of people trying to use it. Breakfast is typical HEI fare – not too bad.
If you are into the craft beer scene in Boulder you have to go to the Upslope Brewery on Lee Hill Rd just east of the hotel. Fun place!
I have stayed at the hotel several times over the past few years and will continue to when in Boulder.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bconwayOU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily S, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boulder, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We totally agree with you about Upslope! We even offer a package through the hotel for Upslope. It includes a gift card, pint glass, and lodging all for a discounted price.

Thanks again and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    80
    36
    10
    17
See reviews for
59
48
12
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Staying at the Holiday Inn Express in Boulder is always a pleasure. The staff is always helpful and courteous and go the extra mile when asked. The breakfast in the morning is always delicious and the scents of popcorn and cookies in the afternoon and evening always put a smile on my face. I stay in nearly 30 hotels a year, and I always say, ""The Holiday Inn Express is my favorite hotel on the road."

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drummerbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily S, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boulder, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thanks for your review and we will keep those cookies and popcorn ready and waiting for your next stay.

Thanks again, and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I stayed one night on a business trip because I couldn't find a hotel closer in location to my destination. I arrived later in the evening and was not impressed with the first look. The place looked a little run down. However the front desk service was excellent! I joined the membership club and was provided with complementary snacks and a bottle of water. Cookies were provided in the lobby as an extra nice touch. When I entered the room I was not happy to be on the first floor but did not experience any problems associated with ground floor rooms like noise, bugs, sercurity concerns. Although the room needed some updating it had a small kitchenette and I found everything to be clean and functional. Unfortunately I think one of the things that needs an upgrade was the bed which was just OK. Also the airconditioner was noisey and did not maintain a constant temperature through the night. The bathroom was an unexpected pleasure as it appeared to be somewhat updated, was spacious, and the tub/shower worked very well. In the morning a complementary breakfast was provided and although the room was small and servicing a large number of people I found the food to be tastey and satisfying. This hotel is OK for one night.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeinintegra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boulder, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear mikeinintegra,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and appreciate your feedback.

I am sorry to hear your issues with the bed and the air conditioning system, I sincerely apologize for the shorfalls. Nevertheless, I am delighted that you were satisfied with most of the features provided.

We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2013

My sister-in-law and I were planning a family trip to run the BolderBoulder when my husband's brother (her husband) tragically passed away. We still booked rooms and she tried to insist we go, but amidst picking up the pieces we couldn't train and ultimately decided not to go. When we tried to cancel our room we were told we had locked in a rate and couldn't cancel, but could reschedule. Thinking (reasonably) that in the next few months once we explained they would let us cancel, we rescheduled. After 3 months of back-and-forth I was told they would now gladly cancel our reservation once they receive a faxed copy of the death certificate which I am not even going to attempt to get from my grieving family. So our rescheduled reservation this weekend is paid for and empty. Thanks Holiday Inn, needless to say the next time we are in Boulder we will be staying at the Marriott.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LLB481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily S, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boulder, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you for you review and let my start by saying that I am sorry for your loss.

We do understand that, when it come's to travel, no matter much you plan, you can never plan for the unexpected.

For that very reason, when it comes to reservations that are non-cancelable, no changeable, we will make exceptions from time to time. As a courtesy, we did offer to change the reservation and allow for you to use it on a different date within 90 days of the original reservation, no questions asked. When you explained the circumstances of your situation was explained, three months later, we did offer to cancel the reservation. Please be aware that we do need something in writing for our records as to why the reservation was canceled.

Again, I am very sorry for your loss.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Boulder hotels

Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed here one night after the Colorado Shakespeare Festival on our way up to Rocky Mountain National Park. The room was very clean and large. It's sort of far from things, so if you're staying a few days and want to be close to things, know that it is a ways out. As other reviewers have said, the breakfast isn't great, but the lady running it is very nice. Comfy beds, etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenwpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily S, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boulder, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and sharing the cleanliness of our rooms. I will say, I am surprised to hear that you did not care for our breakfast options. Please be aware that is a Deluxe Continental breakfast, which means that it is more then just cold buffet options, but it's not a full service breakfast. We do offer a variety of choices, made daily, ranging from eggs, bacon, sausages, pancakes, omelets, biscuits and gravy.

Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights and we found it to be ok, not bad and not great. The rooms were clean but the front rest was often unstaffed. The breakfast wasn't very good but the lady running it was very friendly. There are a couple of places, to eat within walking distance otherwise you will need to drive, which can be a hassle in Boulder.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gatsby97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily S, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boulder, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you for your review. I would like to apologize that your experience wasn't fully positive. We try and make sure every stay an enjoyable one.
I was surprised to hear that you did not care for our breakfast options. We offer a variety of options, made daily, that range from eggs, bacon, sausages, pancakes, omelets, biscuits and gravy, and several different cereal options. I do agree with you though about our breakfast clerk. She is amazing and we love to hear great things about her. I will make sure to pass this review on to her as well.

Thanks and we look forward to making your next stay a positive one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
218 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The hotel is nice and at first glance you wonder what to do that is close by. Well the good news is that if you drive South on Broadway for about 3 miles, it drops you right into the middle of town full of shops and restaurants. You will have to ask the staff on how to find Upslope Brewery; however, if you like craft beers, you won't be sorry. Right across the street is a very interesting group of shops and restaurants hidden within. The staff is very friendly at the motel.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a suite so that is always nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimWW_ELP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily S, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boulder, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thanks for your review! The staff love to talk about Upslope! Being in Colorado, the microbrewery capital, our staff gets very excited to share any tips or knowledge on beer.
I'm excited that we were able to get you a free upgrade. We always try to upgrade our IHG Reward Members whenever we can. We have additional upgrades and promo's on our Facebook page as well.
Thanks and I look forward to your next stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boulder hotels
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boulder - North
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Boulder / Pearl Street
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Boulder Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Boulder
2.9 mi away
Hotel Boulderado
Hotel Boulderado
#3 of 20 in Boulder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
3.3 mi away
University Inn
University Inn
#9 of 20 in Boulder
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Boulder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Boulder

Property: Holiday Inn Express Boulder
Address: 4777 Broadway St, Boulder, CO 80304-0511
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Boulder 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Boulder hotel is an all non-smoking, beautifully appointed hotel in North Boulder 4.5 miles from the University of Colorado and 5 miles from IBM, Lockheed Martin, Northrop Grumman and the Gunbarrell Business Park. The Boulder Holiday Inn Express is located within minutes of Boulder Reservoir and 1/4 mile from Wonderland Lake Hiking Trail and other great hiking trails for the outdoor adventurous. Featuring Express Start breakfast with exclusive hot cinnamon rolls, hot entrees. Free local phone calls, complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access and a business center to fit your needs. Airport transportation is available through Boulder Super Shuttle. Free wireless high-speed Internet access, 2 two-line phones, refrigerators, microwaves and coffee makers in all rooms. The Holiday Inn Express is conveniently located 3 miles from the Pearl Street Mall area and downtown Boulder. We are pet friendly with a fee. Visit Boulder, CO and Stay Smart at your home away from home the Holiday Inn Express hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Boulder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Boulder Hotel Boulder
Holiday Inn Boulder
Boulder Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing