We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable - but dated HI Express”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Boulder
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Boulder
Reviewed 27 February 2009

An OK place to stay. Away from the downtown area so reasonably quiet. Not like staying at a newer HI Express as there is a lot of deferred maintenance items needed. Exercise equipment is pretty old. Rooms look a bit worn. Outdoor pool only. Breakfast (albeit a weekend) was not "fresh" in that eggs, rolls, sausage, etc. were sitting under warming lights for quite a while. No restaurants close by (maybe one Mexican restaurant as posted by someone else) so have to drive 3 miles to eat but not a big deal. Hotel basically in a residential / light industrial area.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wallywanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2009

The breakfast buffet was very generous and good. The staff were friendly and helpful. We skied 2 days at Eldora and the Holiday Inn Express ski package was an incredible bargain! The room was comfortable and there was a terrific Mexican restaurant 1 block from the motel.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsey21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2008

Spend 3 nights during this trip - I'd spent another night back in June 2008.

It's a HI Express now, after being converted from a conventional Holiday Inn. It has the amenities you expect of a HI Express - free wireless Internet, nice complimentary breakfast offering, USA Today each morning, and so on.

Our room had a microwave and fridge - so that's nice for keep drinks cool, warming up leftovers and so on.

There's also a hide-a-bed, though I think it should be on the other side of the room so you can sit on the couch and watch TV if you wanted to. You cannot see the TV except for sitting on the bed - I'd rather be able to surf wirelessly on the laptop and watch TV at the same time. Maybe not all of the rooms are laid out like this one.

And... the room is CLEAN! (maybe the most important aspect for my wife)

The facility itself isn't up to what I'd expect of the more modern HI Expresses, but all-in-all it's fine. When you're vacationing in Boulder, you're likely not spending much time in your room anyway.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NorskeDecaturIL_USA_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2008

The hotel is located just a short (3 miles) distance from the downtown Pearl Street Mall area and in a quiet location with ample parking. We were moving our son into CU and was told the Hotel is clear on the outside opposite direction of CU and it was only at most 10mins and very easy. The price was very reasonable and the staff during our 4 days made us feel right at home and was very attentive.

They have popcorn, cookies and water in the afternoon and evening that are free to guest's and very nice touch. Some of the fitness equipment could use a little assistance but cardio is good. All of the rooms had microwaves and refrigerators and several have kitchenettes and the wireless access is free and actually works. Most of the guest rooms have just been remodeled and beds are comfy and rooms were Extremely Clean!!!

The Breakfast has been changed since the last time we stayed at an Expressbut has hot food now and had something for everyone in our group and we love the omelettes!!!!

Thank You for making us feel right at home and we will definitely be back in May and October.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank cpet19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2007

This place had the worst attitude at the front desk. The manager and his assistants seemed to be bothered by guest check in. We had a 4 day reservation and cancelled after the first day. Room stinky, maid service sloppy. Don't stay here if you can help it.

Stayed: August 2007
Thank hratexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2007

The hotel is "out of town" if you call 5 miles a drive. I got a decent room and have no real complaints about it, but the fitness room equipment is in deplorable condition. I'm surprised it's even open. No bed bugs, but there's not many alternatives anyway.

Stayed: March 2007
3  Thank XRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2007

I stayed at this hotel for three days in January, 2007, while traveling for business.

I found the staff to be polite and helpful. No problems with checkin or checkout. The common areas were clean. There is free internet access in the lobby, and I didn't pay a fee to print. The free breakfast had plenty of items to choose from, and the dining area was clean.

The room itself was clean, and I had no complaints with it. There was a refrigerator in the room.

The hotel is somewhat out of the way; you travel all the way through Boulder and several miles past it to get there. (With the beautiful scenery, I can't say I minded all that much!) The immediate area does have a bit of a seedy reputation; when I told the locals I was meeting with where I was staying, I got lots of raised eyebrows in response. While it did feel isolated, I never felt actually unsafe - especially during daylight hours.

Also, be aware that coming from the airport you will be traveling on toll roads - about $8 one-way.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank zngcat369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boulder hotels
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boulder - North
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Boulder Inn
3 mi away
Hyatt Place Boulder / Pearl Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Boulder
3.3 mi away
Boulder Marriott
Boulder Marriott
#13 of 23 in Boulder
465 reviews
2.9 mi away
Residence Inn Boulder
Residence Inn Boulder
#9 of 23 in Boulder
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Boulder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Boulder

Address: 4777 Broadway St, Boulder, CO 80304-0511
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Boulder
Price Range: £96 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Boulder 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Boulder hotel is an all non-smoking, beautifully appointed hotel in North Boulder 4.5 miles from the University of Colorado and 5 miles from IBM, Lockheed Martin, Northrop Grumman and the Gunbarrell Business Park. The Boulder Holiday Inn Express is located within minutes of Boulder Reservoir and 1/4 mile from Wonderland Lake Hiking Trail and other great hiking trails for the outdoor adventurous. Featuring Express Start breakfast with exclusive hot cinnamon rolls, hot entrees. Free local phone calls, complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access and a business center to fit your needs. Airport transportation is available through Boulder Super Shuttle. Free wireless high-speed Internet access, 2 two-line phones, refrigerators, microwaves and coffee makers in all rooms. The Holiday Inn Express is conveniently located 3 miles from the Pearl Street Mall area and downtown Boulder. We are pet friendly with a fee. Visit Boulder, CO and Stay Smart at your home away from home the Holiday Inn Express hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Boulder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Boulder Hotel Boulder
Holiday Inn Boulder
Boulder Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing