We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Breckenridge
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 August 2012

This hotel has an excellent location. There are rooms with mountain views. You can walk to town. The rooms are large. The breakfast was excellent and the dining room service was good.

Now for the BAD -

No air conditioning. It was a hot sticky rainy day and there was no air conditioning.

No hair dryer.

The elevator had the distinct smell of poop.

Lots of dogs everywhere. (hence the poop smell in the elevator?)

Forget the valet service. I waited over 20 minutes and the valet never showed up.

The overall service at this hotel is poor to non existent.

What a shame. I typically have a good experience at Hilton properties.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere for a hotel room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ultimatetravelking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,678)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,551 - 1,557 of 1,678 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2012

My wife and I stayed here during a 10 day trip through Colorado and New Mexico. We were very disappointed. The bed had dried blood and a dead bug on the sheets. The floor was not vacuumed and the bathroom tile had gum stuck on it. We were tired from driving and made the mistake of eating in the restaurant or I should say not eating as the food was terrible.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Onthebeachgene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidSudduth, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

We apologize for the very unfortunate experience that you had at our hotel. Our guests’ health and safety is extremely important to us and we focus a great deal of our time and attention on them. We work closely with a professional pest control company to address and correct any pest situation that might occur.We also are working with our housekeeping staff to rectify the linen experience immediately! I’ve passed along your feedback regarding the restaurant so they can be mindful of this going forward. We have shared your comments with all of our staff and promise the situation has been successfully addressed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I try to alwAys stay at a Hilton hotel when I travel. Doubletree is related to Hilton and I have had good experiences in the past. This breckenridge hotel s terrible and definitely not what Hilton would offer. Elevators broken, no air conditioning, cold hard cookies when you arrive, more and more. Can't wait to leave

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sueCarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitney T, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

We apologize for our elevator being down.. We’ve worked with maintenance to fix the issue, but we’re very sorry that it wasn't resolved sooner. At our hotel, we are constantly updating our amenities and hope this prevents any additional issues. I’m so sorry that you didn’t receive a warm cookie upon your arrival. This is surely not typical, as warm cookies are what we’re famous for. I’ve let our front desk staff know this so they can be diligent about providing guests with a fresh sweet treat! Thanks again for your review and we hope you stay with us the next time you return to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

The staff at the hotel made our trip to Breckenridge more than we could have anticipated. They helped us find great hikes, restaurants, shuttled us to dinner and always greeted us with a smile. We had two active families with us and they looked after us every step of the way. Yes, the elevator was broken, but there is only so much you can do to get it fixed quickly. These things happen. They are renovating the hotel one piece at a time and what they have done is just lovely. Not all of the rooms have been updated but the location, the staff and the beautiful mountain town is worth it all. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rynopurdue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidSudduth, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Thank you for your comments, nice to hear that you enjoyed your active vacation here in Breckenridge and experienced a high level of service from our staff. Sorry about one of our elevators being down, it is now reparied and running. We are pleased that you appreciate our renovations, we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Been traveling for more than 30 years, and this is the single worst, burn it down, retire the trophy, sleep in your car dirt bag hotel of the all.
No Air conditioning, the elevator broke down, the front desk didn't even know it, was told 4 different stories about how to get to my room, and add an "attitude" with it.
They charged my card the same amount 5 times. OMG, just a total nightmare.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed for 6 nights at this hotel due to a family member being handicapped they went above to make sure our room was right for a disabled person. They were so awesome great location clean rooms and they would jump through hoops to get you what you needed. Would highly recommend this hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwrig8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidSudduth, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Thank you for your comments we are pleased that you enjoyed our location, clean rooms and importantly found our hotel staff to be accommodating. We will be sure to share your positive feedback with the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed at this location for one night as we were traveling through Colorado. We arrived late and so we were o.k. to head to our room and call it a day. It's a good thing because our room was on the 10th floor and the elevators in that particular area of the hotel were out. Coincidentally, that elevator was in the main part of the hotel, where the front desk is located. I have no idea what the other guests did who were on the lower floors.

We were told that we could walk up 6 flights of stairs and then take an elevator which was working up to our room. Or there was another choice, which we took. They had a van which took us around the back of the hotel and we walked across a short bridge which took us directly to our room from a short hallway once we were inside of the building.

We loved our room, even though it was very small. It was like brand new - very well appointed, extremely quiet and very comfortable. That was the good part. Please take note - having read some of the other reviews, it sounds like there are older parts of the hotel. Our was not one of those parts. Our room literally looked like it had never been stayed in before. We slept with the windows open and we were extremely comfortable. There was no air conditioning in our room, but there was a box fan in the closet. We did not need to use it since there was a cool breeze. It may not be that comfortable at other times of the summer.

Starting on the 6th floor, this hotel has 2 separate towers where the rooms are located. When we made the reservation, we were told that for some of the rooms you would need to take multiple elevators to get to the room. We figured that we would be fine, and allow others who had lots of kids and/or luggage to stay in the rooms with no multiple elevator option. We didn't know until we got to the hotel that the elevator was not working.

We left the next morning, so we really didn't get a chance to look over much of the property. The front lobby was very nice and there's a restaurant located on the property, too.

I would have really appreciated a discount for the inconvenience of being cut off from the rest of the property and amenities. Oh well. (The magazines in the room were outdated, which was surprising for the Double Tree.)

For the winter skiiers, this hotel is close to some of the ski runs.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Aspen tower on the 10th floor. It was very quiet, since this is the top floor, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lifeisverygood2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
0.2 mi away
The Village Hotel
The Village Hotel
#18 of 23 in Breckenridge
241 reviews
1 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
808 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 23 in Breckenridge
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Breckenridge
0.6 mi away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#10 of 23 in Breckenridge
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge

Address: 550 Village Road, Breckenridge, CO 80424 (Formerly Great Divide Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Breckenridge
#5 Green Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range: £121 - £377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Breckenridge is a true mountain experience offering views of the majestic Rocky Mountains. Our full service hotel is directly across the street from Peak 9 of the world renowned Breckenridge ski resort. The chair lift is within walking distance from the hotel. We are also only a 10-minute walk to historical Main Street where you can find a variety of shops, dining options and exciting Gold Rush history! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Breckenridge Hotel Breckenridge
Great Divide Hotel
Great Divide Breckenridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing