We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service on one night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Breckenridge
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 12 August 2012

After reading some of the recent reviews here, I was a little concerned about staying here, however, no need to be. I booked the room through the Hilton's main website and was offered upgrades, including a low floor and larger room with sitting area. I selected both options. Upon check in, we were told that no upgrades were available - they would have costed an extra $25 per night if we had received them. Anyway, our room ended up being on a low floor and it did have the additional sitting area, much to our surprise and delight! The room was huge. So basically we got the upgrades without paying for them - awesome.

We wanted to get some walking in, so we walked from the hotel into town a few times. Our teenagers didn't even complain. The pool and hot tub area looked nice, although we didn't use either. We wish the room had air conditioning, however, many mountain hotels do not. We opened the windows at night and used the fan in the room to get some air - it ended up being fine.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,490 - 1,496 of 1,621 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2012 via mobile

Over priced for what you get. Had to switch elevators to get to my 7th floor room, poor design. The bathroom was a joke, you cannot open the door withou hitting the toilet, I could barely turn around in the bathroom, why make it so small when the room itself was otherwise large. Clean room.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jdklaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for two nights. The staff is super friendly and helpful. We had no issues at all. Yes, the elevator was out for a couple hours when we first got there but we were told an alternate way to get to our room and it wasn't too bad. Once the elevator was fixed it was great. We were told there is no air conditioning but with our sliding door open that was not an issue either. One review said there is no hair dryer. The one in our room was on a lower shelf under the sink. While packing, I was counting on there being a hair dryer, and there was. We also used the outdoor pool just a short walk away. It's a treat for us to sit by an outdoor pool. We loved that. Great location with a short walk to Main Street, which we did several times. We really enjoyed ourselves and I'd definitely come back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abbym743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitney T, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Thank you for your review. We are very happy you loved your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge. The outdoor pool is lovely during the summer months. We hope you and your family come back this winter!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Rooms are big, clean, and comfortable! Staff are welcoming. Would definitely recommend this hotel. Parking is in enclosed garage with key access only. Kids loved the pool, adults liked the work out room.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C25mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitney T, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Thank you for your review. We are so glad your family loved our renovated fitness center and revamped pool area. Please come back and see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We stayed here twice this summer for a weekend getaway. We have a dog, so this hotel was perfect for us. It is a pet-friendly hotel, which was nice. It is an older hotel and does need some updating, but all-in-all, our rooms, both times, were very clean and worked very well with our dog. The only drawback is the walls are very thin - due to being older. I do believe the staff is a little lean during the summer months, as it did take a long time to get our room cleaned the second time around. We had to ask the cleaning staff late in the afternoon if they were going to clean our room. We did not use any of the facilities at the hotel, due to having a dog. We enjoyed walking down to Main St., and enjoying a meal at the Breckenridge Brewery - (good place to tie up the dog) and eat outside. Breckenridge is a dog friendly town with lots of places to walk them.
We really can't say to much bad about the hotel, as previous reviews. We felt the hotel was clean and nice, but does need updating. We received warm cookies and a couple doggie treats each time we stayed there. As far as the elevators - they were working, but they are very slow, and older, so be patient. The location of the hotel was great - a nice 10 minute or less walk to downtown (Main St.). I think once they get things updated at this hotel, it will be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank columbinecolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidSudduth, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to write this review. Glad that you found our hotel location, guestrooms cleanliness and pet friendly services to be rewarding for you and your dog. Your comments will be shared with our management team and staff. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcoming you back this fall or winter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

This hotel has an excellent location. There are rooms with mountain views. You can walk to town. The rooms are large. The breakfast was excellent and the dining room service was good.

Now for the BAD -

No air conditioning. It was a hot sticky rainy day and there was no air conditioning.

No hair dryer.

The elevator had the distinct smell of poop.

Lots of dogs everywhere. (hence the poop smell in the elevator?)

Forget the valet service. I waited over 20 minutes and the valet never showed up.

The overall service at this hotel is poor to non existent.

What a shame. I typically have a good experience at Hilton properties.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere for a hotel room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ultimatetravelking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

My wife and I stayed here during a 10 day trip through Colorado and New Mexico. We were very disappointed. The bed had dried blood and a dead bug on the sheets. The floor was not vacuumed and the bathroom tile had gum stuck on it. We were tired from driving and made the mistake of eating in the restaurant or I should say not eating as the food was terrible.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Onthebeachgene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidSudduth, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

We apologize for the very unfortunate experience that you had at our hotel. Our guests’ health and safety is extremely important to us and we focus a great deal of our time and attention on them. We work closely with a professional pest control company to address and correct any pest situation that might occur.We also are working with our housekeeping staff to rectify the linen experience immediately! I’ve passed along your feedback regarding the restaurant so they can be mindful of this going forward. We have shared your comments with all of our staff and promise the situation has been successfully addressed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
0.6 mi away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#12 of 23 in Breckenridge
696 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
784 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Village Hotel
The Village Hotel
#17 of 23 in Breckenridge
234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 23 in Breckenridge
630 reviews
0.9 mi away
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
#10 of 23 in Breckenridge
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge

Address: 550 Village Road, Breckenridge, CO 80424 (Formerly Great Divide Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Breckenridge
#5 Green Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range: £125 - £487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Breckenridge is a true mountain experience offering views of the majestic Rocky Mountains. Our full service hotel is directly across the street from Peak 9 of the world renowned Breckenridge ski resort. The chair lift is within walking distance from the hotel. We are also only a 10-minute walk to historical Main Street where you can find a variety of shops, dining options and exciting Gold Rush history! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Breckenridge Hotel Breckenridge
Great Divide Hotel
Great Divide Breckenridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing