We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like sleeping outside” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wayside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Wayside Inn
Longmont, Colorado
2 reviews
“Like sleeping outside”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed here on Labor Day weekend 2012 for 2 nights. They were charging $95/night for a room with 2 full beds, but we booked the room for $71/night online. In my opinion, the room was worth no more than $40/night, and that could still be considered a generous price. You can't even justify the price by pointing out that it's in Breckenridge, because it was still a few miles from town. Here are the the basic things I would expect from a low-end hotel (maybe a Motel 6 or Red Roof Inn) that this hotel lacked: a phone in the room, a bar of soap, a tub (there was only a tiny shower), heat/AC controls in each room, a couple of plastic cups, a peek hole on the door, a chain on the door, some sort of information booklet about the hotel in each room, the ability to park directly in front of my room (you had to parallel park along the property), a working lock on the bathroom door, and a tight seal between the floor and the door. Here are are additional things I would expect at a similarly priced hotel (in the $85 $110/night range): a key card, a small bottle of shampoo and lotion, a microwave, a fridge, a coffee maker, a continental breakfast, and blinds on the window (not just a small curtain). I am not expecting the Hilton here, just some standard items for the price I paid. The gap under our door let in spiders and cold air. We told the manager, and she told us she would spray for the spiders (I had a dog and a small child with me, so no...and the problem was the gap...) or she would give me an old towel to put in front of the gap! Then she made excuses that the building is old and shifts. She let me check out another room ,but it still had a huge gap under the door, and the door didn't close at all until we turned the deadbolt. She did not turn on any heat at night, so my husband and I froze and fought over the down blanket the hotel provided (nice, but I would rather have had some heat). There was no fan in the room to drown out noise (except the bathroom fan, which sounded like a train), and you can hear EVERY conversation in other rooms. People walking above you sound like elephants. I asked her for a fan since I could not sleep, and she did provide that. Also, some people might like the owners' golden retriever walking around the property, but I think it's a terrible idea even though I love dogs. Some guests might be afraid of dogs, and the dog was following our dog around during his walk. The only positive things I can say are that the beds are fairly comfortable and there was a nice flat-screen TV.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SapGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    25
    14
    9
    19
See reviews for
16
33
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

We stayed here when we were renovating our house and decided to go away to Brecekenridge. This is not in the central of Brecekenridge but we enjoyed walking aroung the inn in the morning. The room is newly renovated but the bathroom is really tiny. Its clean which is very imporant for us. We were able to bring our pet too. For the price, this is a nice room for a good sleep and you could park in front of the room.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rsal_lrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

I stayed here in March 2012 and was very impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel. After arriving in Breckenridge without previously booking any hotels I was able to find vacancy at the Wayside Inn. I found out that it was Spring Break and most other hotels were booked up or out of my price range. I paid $125 per night for two nights. The Inn provided free breakfast in the morning which was pretty good. I recommend this place for anyone looking to stay in Breckenridge without spending a lot of money on a hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
93 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

We were in Room 28, which I dont believe is one of the nicer rooms for the Wayside, we had a quick peak in a room in the front of the hotel which appeared to be much nicer. As other reviewers stated, the bed was comfy but the carpet and bathroom were pretty shabby. Location is fine, a few miles outside of town. The TV and cable was nice and unexpected, there is no dryer in the bathroom (and only a shower). I would recommend the Wayside for an inexpensive short stay in Breck.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Biztravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Marcos, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

My 2 friends, boyfriend, and I stayed in March for Spring Break. We were a little concerned at first because it was such a great price, but when we arrived, the rooms were clean, beds were comfy and the view was AMAZING. Being a college student, prices were more important than the way it looked, but it was VERY cute and would highly recommend it to anyone else!! We loved it so much, my boyfriend and I are going back in December/January and we cannot wait! The only downside is that you can't control the heat so it does get a little stuffy at night, and the locks on the door aren't very good. I'm a huge worrier when it comes to my safety, but they served their purpose. Also, it's less than 2 miles away from downtown so you still have access to everything, but you don't have to pay outrageous prices to get the view.

Room Tip: First floor was a little noisy because it was where all traffic flowed to get to the second floor, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

I stayed here over the recent President's weekend mainly because I refused to pay the premium prices for the slopeside resorts. I have been to Breckenridge multiple times and usually do stay on the mountain but most likely will not after staying at Wayside. It is a quaint Inn priced very reasonable. There is a free breakfast included that will get u started on the slopes. It is quiet and very clean rooms! This place is basic with no frills so stay somewhere else if you are expecting more than a quiet, comfortable room after a day on the slopes. I will definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarheelsroc24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

For our latest trip to Breck we decided to try the Wayside Inn instead of our usual hotel, but had to cancel due to an illness in the family. I was surprised to find that we were charged the full price for 2 nights even though we cancelled the reservation 48 hrs prior to check-in; hotel stated they have a policy that the reservation must be cancelled 14-DAYS prior. I could understand a policy such as this with a condo from a private party, but this is a hotel (most reputable places require at most a 24 hr notice). To make matters worse this policy was not stated upfront when we made the reservation, and is not on their website, which is deceiving for new customers. When I contacted the manager Mr. Gleason regarding this, he proceeded to lecture me instead of addressing the issue, which I found offensive. I guess this is what we get for trying something different - won't make this mistake again. Buyer beware.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Breckenridge hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Breckenridge
3.5 mi away
Skiway Lodge
Skiway Lodge
#15 of 23 in Breckenridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
3.8 mi away
The Village Hotel
The Village Hotel
#16 of 23 in Breckenridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hotel Frisco
Hotel Frisco
#7 of 21 in Frisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Bivvi Hostel
The Bivvi Hostel
#1 of 70 in Breckenridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wayside Inn

Property: The Wayside Inn
Address: 165 Tiger Rd, Breckenridge, CO 80424-8800
Region: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 70 Speciality Lodging in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Wayside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the spectacular scenic beauty of Colorado and the best night's sleep you've ever had at the newly renovated Wayside Inn, Breckenridge's only motel. Our prices are better than any in other Breckenridge, making The Wayside Inn the best bargain in town. Known for our warm and friendly service, we also feature an entire new look, inside and out, adding even more to the pleasure of your Colorado vacation. Our luxurious, clean, freshly painted rooms have all been outfitted with new furniture and top of the line mattresses and bedding, and our guests are invited to relax in our newly redecorated lobby with all new furnishings. Whether you explore the hundreds of miles of available hike and bike trails, Breckenridge's beautifully maintained ski slopes or our sparkling fly fishing streams, you deserve to relax in complete comfort. And at the end of a long day, our guests will be inspired by the mountain view from our two new hot tubs and amazed by the thousands of stars in the Colorado night sky. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Wayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing