We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location and staff!”
Review of The Village Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Village Hotel
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Breckenridge
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We live in Denver and go to Breckenridge every summer (love it!) but this was the first time we stayed at The Village during the winter. We are a family of 4 with kids ages 9 and 8. The location is PERFECT because it's so close to town - walking distance to main street with shops, coffee houses, dining and just across the street from Mi Casa. The Breck ski school is excellent and located just steps from the hotel. You can also access Peak 9 lifts from hotel. We rented a studio which was very cozy (small) but worked out okay for us because we weren't in the room much. It was NOT high end luxury but comfortable. The staff, including front desk and cleaning were all extremely helpful. For those with cars, having underground parking is great - park the car for duration of stay and leave it. Overall, great place to stay!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia P, Front Office Manager at The Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2012

Hello!
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our trip advisor page! I am glad you enjoyed the ease of staying at the Village in terms of the access to the lifts and town! With the size of your family, next time you visit, you may want to look into a one bedroom condo! Those rooms have a separate bedroom and living room which is a bit more spacious than the studio.
On behalf of everyone here we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you in the summer! Come up from the front range and escape the heat!
Best,
Ginny Petrovek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2012

We have recently spent 6 days in Breckenridge staying at The Village Hotel. We had not read any reviews prior to going, most likely because my husband had been to Breckenridge before and knew of the hotel location. The coach journey from Denver airport to the hotel was about 2 hours but not an unpleasant journey.

We had a liftside studio and the room was comfortable and clean. There was a small kitchen with the studio which meant we could make tea and coffee at our leisure. We intended to cook in the evenings but ended up eating out every evening instead. Breakfast was included as part of our package but there is no restaurant in the hotel so we had to go outside to the opposite block to eat breakfast but that was no issue. The breakfast was simple but ok.

The hotel is in an excellent location with only a few minutes walk to the main chairlift. Ski school is very easy to get to and was a great success for our 9 year old boy (2 of the days there were only 2 of them in his class).

The hotel staff (and everyone else) were polite, helpful and friendly at all times. We left our skis in storage downstairs over night but took our boots to the room (they do not have a heated boot room) but that was no issue.

There were 3 things in the room that we struggled with:
1. Our bed was like a waterbed, not very comfortable and every movement felt. On both sides you rolled into the middle
2. The room was very hot at night with no heating on
3. Storage space wasn't great in the room (fine in bathroom). There were very few hangers and we lived out of our suitcases for the week

Our child was on a sofa bed and that worked fine. Twice we called for help, once for a blind and once to take a big chair out as there wasn't much room with the sofa bed out. Both times someone turned up within 15 mins which we thought was quick.

The top of main street (shops and restaurants) is only a few minutes walk away. Then you can go as far down as you like. The supermarket is off main street about 10 minutes away.

If we go back to Breckenridge another time, then we would happily book The Village Hotel again.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merete1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia P, Front Office Manager at The Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2012

Hello!
Thank you for writing a review in regards to your recent stay with us! We are glad you enjoyed your time at the Village and in Breckenridge. I see you mentioned that you stayed in one of our studios. Each of the studios are privately owned which may be a reason as to why the bed wasn't very comfortable; all the furnishings are up to the discretion of the owners. But, our Property Management team is working hard to get owners to do upgrades such as new mattresses, new appliances, and we share these comments directly with our owner's each month to make them aware of what our guests' are saying about the units.
Again, thank you for writing on our Trip Advisor page and we hope you visit us again next winter season!
Best,
Ginny Petrovek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

The Village Hotel is rated as a 3.5 star hotel, but it's closer to 2.5, which is fine if that's what you're expecting. Our room was not clean when we arrived (trash behind the TV, hair in the bathroom). The property is advertised as having a hot tub, but it's really at the adjacent property--so you have to leave the building and walk outside to get to it. the bathroom was incredibly small, so tall or larger folks should beware, it takes maneuvering to be in the bathroom and close the door because the clearance is so tight.

The one recommendation is that you could not be closer to the slopes. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toomuch26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia P, Front Office Manager at The Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2012

Hello! Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay at the Village Hotel. I apologize for the housekeeping issues in your room upon your arrival. Your comments have been shared with the housekeeping management team. We take all comments very seriously and will work hard to be sure this does not happen in the future. Thank you again for your comments and we hope you still enjoyed the time you had on the slopes and in town in wonderful, Breckenridge!
Best,
Ginny Petrovek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

This is our second time at Breckenridge and really enjoyed our stay. The village hotel was great in helping get us the best place to stay as well as lift tickets. Just a quick walk to the lift and let the skiing begin! Walking distance to local restaurants and shopping! Can't say anything bad about the experience! Hope to be back next year!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia P, Front Office Manager at The Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us! On behalf of the entire staff, we are delighted you enjoyed your trip to Breckenridge and your stay at the hotel! Hopefully they’ll be more snow next time you visit! Thank you so much for contributing on our tripadvisor page and we hope to see you again at the Village in the future.
Ginny Petrovek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I stayed at this hotel with 2 friends for a ski trip Dec 2011 - Jan 2012. The property is a little tired and in need of refurbishment. While staying there the power went out for 7 hours due to high winds (it was out across most of Breckenridge). I was surprised that the hotel didn't have a back up generator at all and so we ended up locked out of our rooms until power came back on - key card locks don't open without power. We stayed for 4 nights. Our sheets and bedding weren't changed at all during this time. Our room still hadn't been cleaned by 5pm on any day. We had to ask a cleaning lady to come in and give us fresh towels and toilet tissue. The room when it was cleaned wasn't cleaned well. Overall quite disappointing.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank demurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia P, Front Office Manager at The Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

I sincerely apologize that there was no housekeeping service during your stay with us. Daily service is to occur each day during your stay in the Village Hotel. I have communicated your issues to the Housekeeping management and they will be following up with their staff. I’m very sorry that you had such a difficult experience during the unfortunate power outage. The winds took out the power and phones across half of Breckenridge, making response very difficult for all resort locations in the area. We have discussed the event in length as a management staff on property and have made multiple changes to our emergency plans for the future. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
Ginny Petrovek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

I enjoyed my stay at the Village Hotel. Anything I needed or asked for they took care of and were very friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casie03131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia P, Front Office Manager at The Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Thank you for contributing this review on tripadvisor! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you come back to Breckenridge and visit us in the future! Thank you for your kind words in regards to our staff. We concentrate all our energy on making our guests’ experience the best it can be while on our premises. I am glad that our services met your needs. We hope you come back to stay with us again; winter or summer season, Breckenridge cannot be beat!
Ginny Petrovek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I’m a Breckenridge regular, and you can’t beat the convenience of the Village at Breckenridge. It’s just a quick walk to the QuickSilver lift on Peak 9, so you don’t need to waste time on shuttles or riding the Gondola to the base of Peak 7 or 8. From the QuickSilver lift, you can directly access Peak 10 (Falcon lift), cross over to Peak 8 (Peak 8 Super Connect), or enjoy the cruisers of Peak 9 via the Mercury lift. These are great options to cover the full ski area and avoid the congestion at the base of Peak 8. At the end of your ski day, you’ll really appreciate not having to queue up to ride the Gondola back down. Instead, you ski back to the après-ski options at the base of Peak 9.

The resort itself is a very easy to walk to all the amenities in the town of Breckenridge. You are right in the middle of everything. The other resorts at the base of Peak 9 are a longer walk to the shops and nightlife in town.

Since you’re at the south end of town (where Hwy 9 splits from Main St.), the Breckenridge Brewery is right there. This is Colorado’s gem of micro-brews with an excellent, diverse menu to suit all tastes. With the lifts closing at 4PM, the Breck Brewery is a great Happy Hour option with ½ price appetizers from 3-6 PM.

The Village’s accommodations reflect the recent updates. Very comfortable and tasteful. The bathroom isn’t the biggest, but there is adequate room for a comfortable shower. The rooms are upgraded with LCD flat panel TV’s and small refrigerators – both are a must have.

The real highlight was the friendliness of the staff. Nothing takes the logistical sting out of a ski vacation like valet parking, a warm, welcoming front desk, and friendly delivery of your bags to your room.

Room Tip: It’s not the room, it’s the location. Plan on skiing/riding all day and enjoying the town of Brecke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy_n_Arnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia P, Front Office Manager at The Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to post this thoughtful message on our tripadvisor page! You truly reflected the Village at Breckenridge and the surrounding area in perfect detail. I hope that future guests’ read your post and realize what a fantastic place the Village can be for a ski vacation! Thank you for mentioning our staff too. We look to provide an experience of a lifetime for every one of our guests’. I am very pleased that you believed our services and staff met your needs. Thank you again for contributing on trip advisor! We really appreciate your feedback.
Ginny Petrovek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
0.8 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
794 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#12 of 23 in Breckenridge
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 23 in Breckenridge
662 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
0.1 mi away
Main Street Station
Main Street Station
#16 of 23 in Breckenridge
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Hotel

Address: 535 South Park Lane, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Breckenridge
Price Range: £138 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Village Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village Hotel offers all non-smoking accommodations at the base of Breckenridge Ski Resort, adjacent to the Peak 9 Quicksilver Super 6 chair lift. The Village's buildings, from lodging units to taverns and shops, surround a central gazebo and pedestrian plaza. The property includes a ski school, sports equipment rentals/gear shops, an indoor/outdoor heated pool, whirlpools, and an exercise room. The hotel offers Starbucks coffee in the mornings in the lobby, 24-hour guest assistance, a medical center, business center, and gift shops. Standard rooms located inside the Village Hotel feature Starbucks coffee service, telephone, voicemail, satellite TV, clock radio and a mini-fridge. Condo units feature the same amenities, as well as fully equipped kitchens with fireplaces and balconies in the larger suites. Newly renovated hotel rooms offer telephone, voicemail, LCD flat screen TV, and mini fridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your The Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing