We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good: better than I'd been led to expect”
Review of The Village Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Village Hotel
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Breckenridge
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good: better than I'd been led to expect”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Must admit, I was worried about The Village Hotel. Trip Advisor reviews seemed to be a mix of everything from very positive to very negative, so it was with some trepidation that I opened the door to my room.

Was I lucky, or have things improved a lot since the last negative review? No idea, but the room I got was better than I expected. Big, by European standards, it looked recently refurbished throughout, with a large, comfortable bed, Tuscan–Italian style bathroom, fridge, coffee maker, new looking heating / AC unit, and huge flat-screen TV. Quiet location, although I did have a massive piece of heating or air-conditioning plant right outside my window; fortunately, it didn’t make noise enough to disturb me.

Hotel has great location, walking distance from the main ski lift, and from the centre of Breck. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel provided me with valet parking at no additional charge.

Do I have criticisms? A few. My bed was good, but always seemed to be badly made up, with the bottom sheet not remaining taut during my night’s sleep. That may be due to lackadaisical bed-making by hotel staff, or maybe not: my inspection suggested that my king-sized bed was not being dressed with king-sized bed linen, so no wonder it didn’t stay tucked in.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia P, Front Office Manager at The Village Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Hello!
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on tripadvisor! I am glad you enjoyed your room and the convenience that the property provides to main street and the lifts! I apologize about your bed not being property made and I'll be sure to share that with our housekeeping staff.
We hope you return to the Village upon your next visit to Breck!
Best,
Ginny Petrovek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    75
    41
    27
    20
See reviews for
59
84
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Booked a 4 day ski holiday whilst visiting friend in Colorado Springs,drove up from Colorado Springs late late monday night arrived Tuesday 1;30 am Valet Guy parked my truck free of charge,[incuded in the price],all staff were really polite and friendly, hotel was clean modern ,big flat screen tv, free water and coffee in room,free wifi, ski lift on the door step ,had a great ski holiday great hotel 10/10, colorado - best skiing ever !!!!!!

Room Tip: just ask staff are really friendly and will do anything to help
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thebritishbrickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia P, Front Office Manager at The Village Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Hello!

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Village Hotel! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! The convenience of the property to main st and the lifts certainly makes for a well rounded vacation! We hope to see you again in the near future. Summer in the mountains is fantastic!

Best,
Ginny Petrovek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I am usually not the one to complain, but after my recent stay at the Village Hotel, I felt the need to share my experiences. I have stayed with my family before in the Village Condos at the Chateau and had a great experience. But my stay with the Village Hotel was quite the opposite. My girlfriend and I nicknamed it “the forgotten hotel in the village” after only two days.

We checked in on a Thursday and after a whole day of travel and decided to take a quick nap. The entire time the cleaning service was in the room next door, probably an hour and a half. Whoever was cleaning decided to go in and out of the room about 50 times, slamming the door each time. We wrote that off to bad timing.

The next morning we decided to make coffee, which we found out the coffee maker didn’t have an outlet close and had to be moved to the sink to make coffee. When we went to pour the coffee about half ended up in the cup and half on our clothes because there was a crack in the coffee pot. Again, wrote that off as a small occurrence.

We also wanted some water but the cups provided were no bigger than a shot glass. We called the front desk and were told there was a grocery store nearby. Come to find out the pub had full size cups as well as the pool area. After seeing that we knew the staff was just too lazy to find cups for us. This was proved through several other calls to the front desk that ended in a similar fashion, including them telling us they weren’t sure how to get to Keystone but we could check online.

More problems included no nature valley bars in the hotel, no hot chocolate altogether, and the air conditioner reset itself to 72, no matter where we wanted to set the temperature. After dinner our trip to the hot tub lasted about five minutes because they closed at ten and the worker “just wanted to go home”, so we needed to get out ASAP. Also, every morning around 8 AM the staff decides to vacuum the hallways to ensure that no guests get to sleep in.

The absolute worst part was the mold in the bathroom. It had been painted (several times it seemed) to cover it up, but was still growing and still very easy to spot.

Overall this hotel was not worth even the daily resort fee (which was also a surprise charge upon checkout).

Room Tip: Check out the DoubleTree (same price) or spend a lot more to upgrade at the Village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia P, Front Office Manager at The Village Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Hello!

Thank you for taking the time to dictate this detailed response in regards to your recent stay with us. I apologize about all the issues you had with housekeeping and the services at the front desk. The issues with the noise and the coffee pot are something you should not have endured. Next time please call the front desk and we can take care of those items immediately!

I have brought up the items you addressed in terms of the laziness of the staff here. We typically receive very positive comments in regards to our service levels. I have discussed your notes with our staff. We always aim to go above and beyond with each and every interaction with our customers. I apologize that whomever you spoke with did not follow through with our intentions to provide stellar service.

The condition of the Village Hotel will be greatly improved upon this off season. We do intensive deep cleans to each one of our rooms so any housekeeping issues should be completely taken care of during that time.

Thank you again for sharing your thoughts in regards to your stay with us. We appreciate all the feedback. We hope you still enjoyed the wonderful town Breckenridge has to offer and that you will return to the area in the future.
Best,
Ginny Petrovek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Breckenridge hotels

Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We live in Denver and go to Breckenridge every summer (love it!) but this was the first time we stayed at The Village during the winter. We are a family of 4 with kids ages 9 and 8. The location is PERFECT because it's so close to town - walking distance to main street with shops, coffee houses, dining and just across the street from Mi Casa. The Breck ski school is excellent and located just steps from the hotel. You can also access Peak 9 lifts from hotel. We rented a studio which was very cozy (small) but worked out okay for us because we weren't in the room much. It was NOT high end luxury but comfortable. The staff, including front desk and cleaning were all extremely helpful. For those with cars, having underground parking is great - park the car for duration of stay and leave it. Overall, great place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia P, Front Office Manager at The Village Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
Hello!
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our trip advisor page! I am glad you enjoyed the ease of staying at the Village in terms of the access to the lifts and town! With the size of your family, next time you visit, you may want to look into a one bedroom condo! Those rooms have a separate bedroom and living room which is a bit more spacious than the studio.
On behalf of everyone here we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you in the summer! Come up from the front range and escape the heat!
Best,
Ginny Petrovek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We have recently spent 6 days in Breckenridge staying at The Village Hotel. We had not read any reviews prior to going, most likely because my husband had been to Breckenridge before and knew of the hotel location. The coach journey from Denver airport to the hotel was about 2 hours but not an unpleasant journey.

We had a liftside studio and the room was comfortable and clean. There was a small kitchen with the studio which meant we could make tea and coffee at our leisure. We intended to cook in the evenings but ended up eating out every evening instead. Breakfast was included as part of our package but there is no restaurant in the hotel so we had to go outside to the opposite block to eat breakfast but that was no issue. The breakfast was simple but ok.

The hotel is in an excellent location with only a few minutes walk to the main chairlift. Ski school is very easy to get to and was a great success for our 9 year old boy (2 of the days there were only 2 of them in his class).

The hotel staff (and everyone else) were polite, helpful and friendly at all times. We left our skis in storage downstairs over night but took our boots to the room (they do not have a heated boot room) but that was no issue.

There were 3 things in the room that we struggled with:
1. Our bed was like a waterbed, not very comfortable and every movement felt. On both sides you rolled into the middle
2. The room was very hot at night with no heating on
3. Storage space wasn't great in the room (fine in bathroom). There were very few hangers and we lived out of our suitcases for the week

Our child was on a sofa bed and that worked fine. Twice we called for help, once for a blind and once to take a big chair out as there wasn't much room with the sofa bed out. Both times someone turned up within 15 mins which we thought was quick.

The top of main street (shops and restaurants) is only a few minutes walk away. Then you can go as far down as you like. The supermarket is off main street about 10 minutes away.

If we go back to Breckenridge another time, then we would happily book The Village Hotel again.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merete1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia P, Front Office Manager at The Village Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
Hello!
Thank you for writing a review in regards to your recent stay with us! We are glad you enjoyed your time at the Village and in Breckenridge. I see you mentioned that you stayed in one of our studios. Each of the studios are privately owned which may be a reason as to why the bed wasn't very comfortable; all the furnishings are up to the discretion of the owners. But, our Property Management team is working hard to get owners to do upgrades such as new mattresses, new appliances, and we share these comments directly with our owner's each month to make them aware of what our guests' are saying about the units.
Again, thank you for writing on our Trip Advisor page and we hope you visit us again next winter season!
Best,
Ginny Petrovek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

The Village Hotel is rated as a 3.5 star hotel, but it's closer to 2.5, which is fine if that's what you're expecting. Our room was not clean when we arrived (trash behind the TV, hair in the bathroom). The property is advertised as having a hot tub, but it's really at the adjacent property--so you have to leave the building and walk outside to get to it. the bathroom was incredibly small, so tall or larger folks should beware, it takes maneuvering to be in the bathroom and close the door because the clearance is so tight.

The one recommendation is that you could not be closer to the slopes. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toomuch26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia P, Front Office Manager at The Village Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Hello! Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay at the Village Hotel. I apologize for the housekeeping issues in your room upon your arrival. Your comments have been shared with the housekeeping management team. We take all comments very seriously and will work hard to be sure this does not happen in the future. Thank you again for your comments and we hope you still enjoyed the time you had on the slopes and in town in wonderful, Breckenridge!
Best,
Ginny Petrovek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthington, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2012

This is our second time at Breckenridge and really enjoyed our stay. The village hotel was great in helping get us the best place to stay as well as lift tickets. Just a quick walk to the lift and let the skiing begin! Walking distance to local restaurants and shopping! Can't say anything bad about the experience! Hope to be back next year!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia P, Front Office Manager at The Village Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us! On behalf of the entire staff, we are delighted you enjoyed your trip to Breckenridge and your stay at the hotel! Hopefully they’ll be more snow next time you visit! Thank you so much for contributing on our tripadvisor page and we hope to see you again at the Village in the future.
Ginny Petrovek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
0.8 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Breckenridge
Residence Inn Breckenridge
#12 of 23 in Breckenridge
54 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 23 in Breckenridge
559 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#11 of 23 in Breckenridge
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Hotel

Property: The Village Hotel
Address: 535 South Park Lane, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Village Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village Hotel offers all non-smoking accommodations at the base of Breckenridge Ski Resort, adjacent to the Peak 9 Quicksilver Super 6 chair lift. The Village's buildings, from lodging units to taverns and shops, surround a central gazebo and pedestrian plaza. The property includes a ski school, sports equipment rentals/gear shops, an indoor/outdoor heated pool, whirlpools, and an exercise room. Dining options include Breckenridge Cattle and Fish Company, Cafe Breck, The Park Avenue Pub, and The Maggie. The hotel offers Starbucks coffee in the mornings in the lobby, 24-hour guest assistance, a medical center, business center, and gift shops. Standard rooms located inside the Village Hotel feature Starbucks coffee service, telephone, voicemail, satellite TV, clock radio and a mini-fridge. Condo units feature the same amenities, as well as fully equipped kitchens with fireplaces and balconies in the larger suites. Newly renovated hotel rooms offer telephone, voicemail, LCD flat screen TV, and mini fridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing