We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have been happier with this place!!!”
Review of Grand Timber Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Timber Lodge
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Breckenridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Couldn't have been happier with this place!!!”
Reviewed 16 March 2011

Although it was just the two of us traveling, we met other friends and family there. Our 1-bedroom condo had enough room that we hosted dinners there each night for the extended family/friends. It was very clean, the jacuzzi tub was big enough for two, the shower was big enough for two and had shower heads on both sides, the balcony was nice for smokers and also for waking up to see the sun rise over the mountains. We even saw a fox (who didn't seem scared at all of people) below our balcony. The ONLY downside is that we were in a large, brand new truck and the garage is VERY tight to get in and out of . . . in fact, someone scratched the truck with their skis or door or whatever. That is why I only gave 4 stars. One night, our garage and the one next to us was full so we had to park a few buildings away, but that is what happens when you stay out late in Breckenridge. It is like a little country club there, pools, saunas, jacuzzi's, spa with massages, etc. Also, it is advertised as a "ski in/ski out" resort, but really it is about 2 blocks from the ski lifts, so you do have to take their shuttle or drive, but that wasn't a big deal. Just know you won't be skiing up to your condo, as was led to believe. The Grand Lodge on Peak 7 (I believe) is owned by the same company and is an actual ski in/ski out.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdanielson2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, 30 March 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your stay at Grand Timber Lodge. At Grand Timber, we take pride in ensuring our resort maintains the highest standards of cleanliness as well as comfort. The balcony’s should certainly be used to enjoy the views and sunrise or sunset, depending on which direction your unit faces! Grand Timber Lodge is located directly on the mountain, so it is ski-in, ski-out, as well as within walking distance of Main Street.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    239
    52
    43
    34
See reviews for
368
240
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2011

This was my first time to Breckenridge and I chose the Grand Timber Lodge blindly and was definitely pleasantly surprised. I stayed in a studio which was not cleaned daily but it was overstocked with towels and other necessities so I never needed anything. The property is beautiful and in a great location. There were two outdoor hot tub areas and one of them had drink service as well. After a day of skiing it was great to be able to sit in an outdoor hot tub in the snow having a drink. You can rent skis and snowboarding equipment right on the property and I got a 20% discount because I was staying there. The ski-in/ski-out was also very nice and you can store your skis/snowboard at the rental place at the end of the day. There is a restaurant on property that serves lunch and dinner and there is also a general store so you don't have to go into town to get some basics. Although the property is beautiful, the staff was great, rentals and storage was sooooo convenient, the outdoor hot tubs were unbelievable, I have to say that the shuttle bus really pulled it all together. They have their own shuttle bus that will pick you up from wherever you are. The number is on the room key and no pick up/drop off request was ever an inconvenience. Once you call, they give you a time that they will be there to get you but generally, they arrived much sooner which was fantastic. I recommend the Grand Timber Lodge with high enthusiasm as everything was so easy. What a great place!!! Just in case the above isn't enough to convince you, they also have large, warm chocolate chip cookies available every day in the lobby at 4:00 so you can grab one on your way to the hot tub!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AU12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, 11 March 2011
We love hearing back from guests when they have had a great experience with us. The free shuttle is an excellent amenity that Grand Timber Lodge offers; also the convenient location of GTL is enjoyed by all guests. It is our goal at Grand Timber to make great vacations! Again, we truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Grand Timber Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

We stayed on a time share exchange. The resort looked nicer in person than it did from the website! We had a 2 bedroom unit that was huge with basically 3 bathrooms. The kitchen was large and had a washer and drier too. Cleaning was immaculte. Granite counter tops. Fabulous rooms overall. Only downside, our room was at the main lodge right next to the pool so was kind of loud at night until about 10. Gorgeous surroundings and hiking trails nearby. A really nice playground for the kids. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherP1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, 19 February 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Grand Timber Lodge – we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! It is our company’s policy to ensure that the highest standard of cleanliness is always guaranteed. We are very proud of the amenities that we offer at Grand Timber, including a number of hot tubs and heated pools, a full service day spa, the Lodgepole Bar and Grill, and underground heated parking for all of our guests. The location is ideal; Grand Timber is situated between the Snowflake Lift and the Beaver Run Superchair, as well as only a 5 minute walk or free shuttle ride into town. We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2011

Great place to stay. I loved the location of the Grand Timber Lodge. The staff was very friendly. I will be staying there again. The one bedroom condo is very spacious love it. The shuttle is very useful. The shuttle will take you wherever you need to go always prompt.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank latrese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, 19 February 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Grand Timber Lodge! We strive to make all guests feel as at home as possible by providing spacious, fully-stocked units, unmatched amenities, a restaurant on property as well as a free shuttle to downtown. In addition to being a fantastic property, the resort is located in a prime area. Breckenridge is a great town to vacation in - the shopping, dining, and nightlife, all located right on Main Street, provides plenty of fun and entertainment. Grand Timber Lodge is within walking distance, or you can take the free shuttle to Main Street as well, so it is a great place to stay and enjoy all the town has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2011

We have been staying at Grand Timber Lodge in Breckenridge, Colorado for almost 12 years and never consider staying elsewhere. The entire staff, from the front desk to maintenance, are very friendly and efficient. They treat you like royality and do their best to meet whatever need you have. We highly recommend Grand Timber to anyone who wishes to experience a great vacation in Breckenridge, Colorado.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coloradoluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, 19 February 2011
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Grand Timber! Our company’s main goal is to make all our guests feel like they are treasured guests in our home - great customer service is our company’s top priority. Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Grand Timber Lodge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

We spent ten days in Colorado recently, seven of which we spent at Grand Timber Lodge, two at Vail Marriott and one at Steamboat Springs. Grand Timber Lodge, to say the least is in an excellent location.
PROS: If you are a skier, it is one of the perfect places to stay in Breckenridge for ski in/ski out. The check in was very good. Easy. The rooms were ready on time, etc. The staff is mostly younger people with a few middle aged persons sprinkled in but in general very friendly and helpful. We were only approached by timeshare business at sign in and never again which was nice. The grounds, at least the winter grounds, are very nice and everything is either plowed or kept clean by heated sidewalks and heated drives. The heated garages were excellent for after ski to get your gear off. They had nice sized, free (if you were lucky enough to get one) lockers for your gear as well, unfortunately there are nowhere near enough of them based on the number of units they have. In room bathrooms clean and nice. Public ones, eh. The town is near enough that you could walk if it wasn't too cold. There is a complimentary shuttle that will take you to all the local stops. There is also the Summit Stage that will take you to several other mountains as well. We rented a car as we like to move around and explore on our own but with Colorado Mountain Express that will take you to and from Denver for a fee, Summit Stage to get you to the other mountains and the GTL shuttle to get you around town you really don't need a car at all.
CONS:The rooms are quite tired or at least the two units we had were. The mattresses were old and had huge dips in them. The sofas were lumpy, oldish and the linens and pillows were very worn and thin. Towels in baths were clean and seemed newer.
THE DOWNSIDE: The only on site restaurant really was more of a bar and seemed to be a local hang out for 21-30ish year old's who were there to visit with their friends who were (on the clock) employees. We were there with similarly aged kids and they were actually really embarrassed by the drunken behaviors of the bar crowd. When we arrived one of the nights, they had obviously been there a while and it was still early, about 7:30-8pm. We had dinner. Our waiter was very preoccupied with his friends, which didn't really bother us too much, he was helpful and somewhat attentive, although we did have to ask him several times for utensils to eat with once we were served! Whatever, we were on vacation. When we left there was a trail of (albeit still packaged) condoms that lead out of the bar and down the hall. One of the guys was vomiting in the (carpeted) hallway, lots of kids coming and going in various states of inebriation and another had a ridiculously disgusting mouth. There were other families with small children there which was upsetting. Just not necessary. The management should be more present in and around if this is a family establishment.
Jeeezzz.....It was too bad. It is a pretty place and a great location with a lot of good going for it. Maybe GTL is not going for the family thing there? Maybe we missed something? If so, my fault.
This aside, all in all, we did enjoy the Grand Timber Lodge in every other aspect.

I would recommend GTL to others, I'd just stay out of the 'bar area' !!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MysIsle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, 3 February 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Grand Timber Lodge. While the Lodgepole is located onsite at Grand Timber Lodge, it is not owned and run by Grand Timber. After following up with the manager of the Lodgepole, it seems like the night that you were eating there was actually “UllrFest” night, which is one of the biggest nights of the year in Breckenridge, so while the behavior you witnessed is inexcusable and inappropriate, it is not an often occurrence, especially at the Lodgepole. We do apologize for your experience there and wish to assure you that we strive to make the Grand Timber Lodge a very family-friendly resort, and are proud of that aspect.
Our property is in a truly prime location in Breckenridge, located between both the Snowflake Lift and the Beaver Run Superchair, as well as within walking distance to Main Street. If you don’t feel like walking, we do offer a free shuttle to take you wherever you’d like to go in downtown Breckenridge. We thank you again for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Grand Timber Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2010

I just stayed at the Grand Timber Lodge for a week. I have nothing negative to say about this place. We arrived to a clean, and very nice 2 bedroom condo. The apartment was very spacious, and was up to my standards of cleanliness. I usually bring my own sheets and clean my hotel/condo rooms because I have OCD about cleanliness. Nothing needed to be done at this resort! I could sleep without worry! I traveled with my 1 year old son, and didnt have to worry about anything he touched and played with. The staff was very helpful with our travel arrangements due to a snowstorm that came the day of our departure. The ammenities were great! The pool/hot tubs were very nice, as well as the underground heated garage. Also, the location couldn't be better. I could walk right out our porch and to the ski lift in less than 5 minutes. Can not express how great of an experience it was staying with Grand Timber Lodge. Will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babykakesr04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, 31 December 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Grand Timber Lodge – we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! It is our company’s policy to ensure that the highest standard of cleanliness is always guaranteed. We are very proud of the amenities that we offer at Grand Timber, including a number of hot tubs and heated pools, a full service day spa, the Lodgepole Bar and Grill, and underground heated parking for all of our guests. The location is ideal; Grand Timber is situated between the Snowflake Lift and the Beaver Run Superchair, as well as only a 5 minute walk or free shuttle ride into town. We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
0.6 mi away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#12 of 23 in Breckenridge
688 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
0.8 mi away
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
1.1 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
759 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 23 in Breckenridge
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Timber Lodge

Property: Grand Timber Lodge
Address: 75 Snowflake Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Breckenridge
#5 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
#6 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Timber Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Timber Lodge is a luxury ski-in/out condominium resort offering the largest amenities package in Breckenridge. Our exquisitely appointed luxury condominiums are conveniently located between Peaks 8 and 9 at the world famous Breckenridge Ski Resort. You will also enjoy our close proximity to Breckenridge’s Main Street, indoor/outdoor swimming pools and hot tubs, a fitness center, complimentary shuttle bus, pampering spa and salon services, an on-site ski/bike concierge, a bar and restaurant and much more. At Grand Timber Lodge, you’ll find everything you need for a great vacation: A lovely and private wooded setting, excellent amenities, all of the comforts and convenience of home, and a staff eager to make your vacation simply perfect! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Timber Hotel Breckenridge
Grand Timber Breckenridge
Grand Timber Lodge Breckenridge Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing