We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a good ski week at the Timber!”
Review of Grand Timber Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Timber Lodge
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Breckenridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Had a good ski week at the Timber!”
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Did a time share exchange for a studio lock off room, it was small but we managed, and the many amenities at the resort made up for it. Received a call from the resort the week prior to our arrival (also a conformation in the mail several weeks before), asking if we had any questions or concerns. Asked if we arrived before check in time if we could park our vehicle there and ski? They said by all means, they would get us per-registered, let us park in the heated UG parking, could use all the facilities and locker rooms, and call my cell when the room was ready, which they did when we arrived and were able to get an extra day of skiing in! They do charge for WiFi in the room, and have a free WiFi access by the main desk, it was less than fast. They also have several free PC's next to the reception area. Every member of the staff was great from check in, maintenance, to shuttle bus drivers! The pool and hot tubs were great. Had 4 outside Natural Gas Grills that 2 of the buildings shared, each had there own individual decorative lamps, and picnic tables under a small pavilion. The studio was cramped, and the kitchen in it was one of the disappointments. It only had a dorm size fridge, 2 burner electric stove, dorm size microwave, and a single sink, and a dishwasher. I understand the other 1 and 2 bedroom units have full size kitchens and dinning tables. The ski out / in is okay depending on which unit you are staying at, and took us a couple tries to find the right ski in trail, let me save you some time and hassle, just take the free shuttle, they are great and so are the drivers!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Budweisercs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Thank you for reviewing Grand Timber Lodge! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. The studio is our smallest unit and does only have a kitchenette. We do have one, two, and three bedroom options that all have a full kitchen, a larger living area, a fireplace and a balcony. Grand Timber Lodge is in a fabulous location with unmatched amenities. We apologize that the internet was slow for your needs. We strive to provide outstanding customer service at every opportunity. We are pleased to hear we met this goal during your stay. Thanks again for taking the time to review Grand Timber Lodge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    239
    52
    43
    34
See reviews for
368
240
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We just got back from Breckenridge and a week at the Grand Timber Lodge. We really liked it there and would definitely go back. It is a ski in-ski out lodge/timeshare. You may be hit on to sit through a presentation, but you get $100.00. It was beautifully layed out, but would suggest buildings 5 or 6..just because of their location to the slopes. We had a studio and it was a bit cramped, but we expected this, so wasn't disappointed. We were impressed with the staff and the restaurant (service could have been faster).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view in bldgs. 5 or 6 if in the winter. Laundrys are coin op and on the second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yodasmom1148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Thank you for reviewing Grand Timber Lodge! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We do offer a gift to qualified guests who choose to participate in a 120 minute presentation about the benefits of vacation ownership at the Grand Lodge on Peak 7. While this opportunity is of interest to many of our guests, we realize that it is not for everyone.
The studio is our smallest unit and does not have in room laundry facilities. We do have one, two, and three bedroom options that all have a full kitchen, a larger living area, a fireplace and a balcony. The larger units also have laundry facilities in the room.
Providing excellent customer service at every opportunity is always our top priority. We are glad to hear this was your experience. Again thanks for taking the time to review Grand Timber Lodge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

My husband and I recently exchanged our time share for the Grand Timber Lodge. Great location with lots of great amenities. We were in a two-bedroom that was a lock-off and it had all the comforts of home. The kitchen was well-equipped and the beds were very comfortable. I don't ski, so I was able to use the work-out facility which was a bit small, but had the equipment I needed for a basic work-out. I especially enjoyed the yoga class. We had friends visiting with us and they also enjoyed the comforts of home. Recommend this lodge for families.
The only negative was the internet service which was not very reliable. You had to pay $20 for the week and it was extremely slow or not working. I let the front desk know, and they said that it was a third-party and that the contract was up for review.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grani Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Thank you for reviewing Grand Timber Lodge! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We strive to make all guests feel as at home as possible by providing spacious, fully-stocked units, unmatched amenities, a restaurant on property as well as a free shuttle to downtown. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the yoga class which is just one example of the activities available through our activities department. We apologize that the internet speed was not up to your standards. Your comments will be passed on to the department in charge of our internet. Thanks again for taking the time to review Grand Timber Lodge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburg, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I gave this a review of 1 just to emphasize how important it is to employ ethical people regardless of how great your facility presents itself. We stayed here for two nights prior to driving 2 hours to wedding the next day. I left the dress I was going to wear to the wedding and my jacket in the closet and when I called the next day after realizing I had left it there, they were "unable to locate the items". I know one could say that it was my mistake and I misplaced the items, but I can guarantee you 100% they were in the closet. They did nothing to rectify the situation and I thought it was poor business of not only the employees, but also of management that I dealt with. It is too bad this happened because it is a pretty place.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Grand Timber Lodge. When guests leave items at our properties our staff does make every effort to locate the missing item and return it. Unfortunately, we are not always able to find every forgotten item. We do have every confidence in the integrity of our staff and sincerely apologize that we were unable to locate you dress. Thanks again for reviewing Grand Timber Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA.USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We received a "discounted rate" on a studio here. Still was 650$ mid season. The location wasnt as good as surrounding hotels but we werent too worried about that. What made it worse was the hotel staff. The front desk staff was less than helpful rude and frankly disorganized. The hotel phone system is completely worthless. We stayed a weekend and they refused to let us use the parking garage on our last day to ride as well. Kicking us out before 10am. It has a luxury appearance with the service of motel 6. And is way overpriced.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LBCZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience staying at Grand timber Lodge. We use our guest feedback as an opportunity to improve our service in order to ensure that all our guests enjoy a great vacation experience while staying with us. We apologize that you were disappointed with the level of service your received. We pride ourselves in having helpful and happy staff and are disappointed you did not experience this. With respect to our check-out time and your inability to remain parked on property after check-out please understand that, unlike a hotel, our units are more like individual condominiums and thus take quite a bit longer to get cleaned, stocked and inspected greatly reducing our ability to extend check-out times for departing guests. While we can sometimes extend parking privileges on the day of check-out, parking is at a premium on the weekends and can never be guaranteed. Our Front Desk staff can always direct you to a variety of parking lots in town. Thanks again for taking the time to review Grand Timber Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Stayed at GTL week before Christmas. Great facilities with self-contained apartments which are very convenient for family.Nice communal facilities to enjoy with large open fire, pool table and Big screen TV.
Rooms are large and clean and modern - with average decor.
Ski in/out with ski rental facilities in the hotel - all reasonably priced for in house guests.
Main draw back is that it is quite a walk to town - OK going there but uphill cioming back! There is a shuttle from the resort which you can call.
Breck is lovely - more town than resort (like Vail) - next timewe would probably stay at Vail or Aspen for a slightly different experience.

Room Tip: Pick a room in the main building to be close to facilities - not noisy at all - just convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GailWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Thank you for reviewing Grand Timber Lodge. We are glad you enjoyed your stay! We strive to make all guests feel as at home as possible by providing spacious, fully-stocked units, unmatched amenities, a restaurant on property as well as a free shuttle to downtown. In addition to being a fantastic property, the resort is located in a prime area. Breckenridge is a great town to vacation in - the shopping, dining, and nightlife, all located right on Main Street, provides plenty of fun and entertainment. Grand Timber Lodge is within walking distance, or you can take the free shuttle to Main Street as well, so it is a great place to stay and enjoy all the town has to offer. Thanks again for taking the time to review Grand Timber Lodge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

This is a great place to stay for skiing at Breckenridge. Keep in mind you are paying for convenience and proximity to the slopes.

Parking - Parking is very difficult anywhere in Breckenridge and extremely limited everywhere near town. It is much harder to park now than it was a few years ago even. GTL provides heated underground parking for a car during your stay.

Ski in/Ski Out - Early season ski in is a challenge but I don't think that should be surprising to anyone. This year has been short on snow so far. Worst case scenario you can ski down wherever you'd like and call the shuttle. Ski out is relatively easily and there is a nice long lift that takes you up to a short ski down to some of the main lifts and the ticket office. We did ski in and out and had to trek across a couple rocky patches.

Rooms vary quite a bit based on the size you choose to get but even studios even have a kitchenette area and all of the larger rooms have full kitchens. I believe all rooms have a fold out sofa.

The rooms are consistently clean and relatively spacious. The beds are comfortable and the fold outs are about as comfortable as a fold out can be. There are lockers for ski storage near the ski in/ski out areas.

The hot tubs and pools are very nice and I've never had trouble with noise or crowds. We typically use the non main area that is not near the bar and maybe that is why we've never had trouble. But we stay there about 3-4 times a season and have never noticed issues.

The restaurant/bar is average and prices are in line with anything else you would find in Breckenridge. There are better dining options if you want to go into town, but after a day of skiing it can be the perfect retreat. Take your time and relax, service could take a while, but the last time I was there (12/1/11) the service was (surprisingly) top notch.

Room Tip: Studios that are on the corners seemed to have a little extra room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank artvndlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, 16 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review Grand Timber Lodge. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Grand Timber Lodge is situated in a prime ski in/ski out location and within walking distance to all the town of Breckenridge has to offer. Breckenridge is having a slow start to the ski season which is making ski in/ski out difficult right now. We are all hoping for more snow soon! Utilizing the free shuttle for easy access to the ski lifts is a wonderful idea!

We strive to make all guests feel as at home as possible by providing spacious, fully-stocked units, and unmatched amenities. We are glad you enjoyed your meal at the Lodgepole Bar and Grill and that you experience great service!

Thanks again for reviewing Grand Timber Lodge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
0.6 mi away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#12 of 23 in Breckenridge
688 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
0.8 mi away
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
1.1 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
759 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 23 in Breckenridge
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Timber Lodge

Property: Grand Timber Lodge
Address: 75 Snowflake Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Breckenridge
#5 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
#6 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Timber Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Timber Lodge is a luxury ski-in/out condominium resort offering the largest amenities package in Breckenridge. Our exquisitely appointed luxury condominiums are conveniently located between Peaks 8 and 9 at the world famous Breckenridge Ski Resort. You will also enjoy our close proximity to Breckenridge’s Main Street, indoor/outdoor swimming pools and hot tubs, a fitness center, complimentary shuttle bus, pampering spa and salon services, an on-site ski/bike concierge, a bar and restaurant and much more. At Grand Timber Lodge, you’ll find everything you need for a great vacation: A lovely and private wooded setting, excellent amenities, all of the comforts and convenience of home, and a staff eager to make your vacation simply perfect! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Timber Hotel Breckenridge
Grand Timber Breckenridge
Grand Timber Lodge Breckenridge Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing