We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer living at its best. Well equipped and maintained. One of our favorite Colorado resorts.”
Review of Grand Timber Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Timber Lodge
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Breckenridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Centerville, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
2,769 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4,150 helpful votes
“Summer living at its best. Well equipped and maintained. One of our favorite Colorado resorts.”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We have stayed for a ski week and for August weeks. This 5Star resort is great. Ski in/out a real plus.

Be careful in the summer - the condos have no A/C; however, given use of fans, open windows, and nasal strips, life is fine at 10,000 feet.

Great restaurant selections and City Market is close. Numerous winter/summer activities.

Dillon, Frisco, Vail, Avon, and Beaver Creek are nice day trips.

Summer living at its best. Well equipped and maintained. One of our favorite Colorado resorts.

Room Tip: The condo units are all first class. The major difference is VIEW. Some units view the nine mile r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SavantIII_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris T, Public Relations Manager at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Hi SavantIII_11,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of all the amenities at Grand Timber Lodge. We strive to create great wonderful vacations for our guest and are delighted to know that you had an amazing experience. We hope to see you again in the future and help you enjoy even more of the wonderful sights Breckenridge has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    236
    51
    43
    34
See reviews for
351
235
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Like I said were told we would be by the pool If a quarter mile walk is by the pool .... We were toldwe could probably check in around two , we came at three and were told we need to pre register, we had already prepaid. Room was not ready. View was looking at the parking lot. We were given a parking space and when we entered there were none. We hiked to our room and there were 6 empty carts sitting in front of the doors. Will we ever stay again.... Only if it is free. They finally gave us a room nearer the pool with some flat screen TV's new carpet etc ... Why not make a repeat quest happy the first time??

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stevecell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris T, Public Relations Manager at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
The staff and management at the Grand Timber Lodge would like to sincerely apologize for your recent experience with us. The Grand Timber Lodge take pride in providing excellent customer service to all of our owners and guests.

Please note that our reservation confirmation states check-in time at Grand Timber Lodge is guaranteed by 4 PM. With that said, if we are able to accommodate an earlier check-in time the front desk staff is more then happy to help.

We do recommend that if you are looking for a specific room stay to request a building and floor while making this reservation. While we can never 100% guarantee a room; we do our best to honor room requests.

We do appreciate that you took the time to share your experience and comments with us, and we hope that you will consider returning to Grand Timber Lodge at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stay here at least once a year and it's always a great family time. It's hard to beat the combination of activities, location, free shuttle, friendly staff and clean and spacious rooms and even the food at the Lodgepole onsite (the pizza is great and makes for an easy meal at night even if you don't go down to the restaurant).

Troubles: Our experiences there lately with room selection have left a little to be desired. On our recent visit we had our communicated room changed last minute and the new one was very noisy as it sits right over the reception parking circle and the road to maintenance. I suggested on check-in that it would be too noisy but the check-in staff suggested that it wouldn't be that bad. The staff did not accommodate our needs, unfortunately. This has now happened a couple of times. There is an unfortunate trend. There are a couple of simple things the Lodge could do to help with the situation - such as not driving the noisy dumpster carts all over early in the morning.

Room Tip: Tip: Ask for rooms away from the east side of the buildings 7 and 8, as well as those on the recepti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b1gtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris T, Public Relations Manager at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Hi B1gtraveler,

We are so sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant stay at Grand Timber Lodge. We do pride ourselves on being a family friendly resort, but we also want to create a relaxing and enjoyable experience for all of our guests.

The staff and management at the Grand Timber Lodge would like to sincerely apologize for your recent experience with us. Each and every employee is thoroughly trained on our hospitality standards, which include making every guest contact positive. We apologize that this was not your experience.

We do recommend that if you are looking for a specific room stay to request a building and floor while making this reservation. While we can never 100% guarantee a room; we do our best to honor room requests.

It was a pleasure having you stay at our resort and we are looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We traveled with another couple & had a spacious 2 bedroom condo. The bedrooms were on opposite ends of the condo & both had full baths, so there was plenty of privacy when desired. Main living area was a good size, had a lovely stone fireplace & the kitchen was well stocked...though we hardly ate there! Stunning views of the mountain from the balcony and it's only a mile to the Gondola, so walking into town or to the walking/biking trails was a breeze.

The concierge team & staff was very helpful, friendly & not at all pushy. It made for a relaxing trip & you didn't feel as if you were at some haughty resort.

The units themselves do need some updating. I don’t know if they’re in the middle of updating by building, but if not, they should be. In particular, the windows were experiencing some wood rot (simply an age issue) & are in need of replacement. One window was badly cracked & we weren't anxious to keep it open in the event the winds picked up. Carpeting was dated & showing signs of wear & tear. The beds were...horrible. You could see the dip in the center of them when we first walked into the room & we couldn't sleep through a single night without having to shift around, use pillows for support, etc. After a day of whitewater rafting, all of the new muscle aches were magnified after sleeping. They really need to invest in some new beds.

The resort restaurant & bar are okay. The food was good, staff was friendly & serving sizes were ample. Staffing appeared to be low for the summer & unfortunately it made for some long waits if you weren't sitting right at or near the bar. Poolside service was only available at happy hour & that was something else that could have been improved. I'm confident they are more on the ball in the winter months, but they really do need more wait staff covering the outside areas during the summer.

With some updates in the facilities & foodservice, this could be a great resort to revisit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AARPBOUND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris T, Public Relations Manager at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Hi AARPBOUND,

Thank you for reviewing Grand Timber Lodge! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Our amenities are truly unmatched with indoor/outdoor pools and hot tubs, a playground, a day spa, an exercise room and fitness classes, and a restaurant on property. We are glad you enjoyed taking advantage of these amenities during your stay. The free shuttle is an excellent amenity that Grand Timber Lodge offers that allows guests to take advantage of all that Breckenridge has to offer. We strive to make every owner and guest feel like treasured guests in our home by providing spacious, fully stocked units with numerous amenities.

We strive to make every owner and guest feel like treasured guests in our home and are sorry to hear of your experience with one of our units. Grand Timber Lodge has renovated buildings 1-4 and has plans for the remaining buildings in 2014.

We look forward to seeing you on your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonvile, FL
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I exchanged into this property through II. The staff was friendly and helpful. The unit was very nicely decorated with a well stocked kitchen (better than most timeshares I have been to). They do not have a/c but you can open your door/windows and be quiet comfortable with the ceiling fans.

The town is close enough that you could walk to it but they have a convenient shuttle service that will drop you off at different locations in town and then you can call for pick up. We had one driver that was kind of rude because we couldn't tell him exactly where we wanted to go but since we have never been to the town before we didn't know the area. Also, a map of the shuttle stops would be quite helpful for us tourists so that when a driver tells us what stop we could actually have a map to see where it is.

We ate at the restaurant once. The food was good and reasonable priced. The pool and hot tubs were clean. Views from them were phenomenal! I was nice to be able to enjoy the views of the snow capped mountains while swimming. They have evening activities as well like wine and beer tasting and BINGO for adults.

I don't know when we will have time to go back to Breckenridge but I would definitely stay here again if we are able to.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColeenRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris T, Public Relations Manager at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Grand Timber Lodge. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay so much. We take pride in maintaining our resorts with the greatest care. We strive to make all guests feel as at home as possible by providing spacious, fully-stocked units, unmatched amenities, a restaurant on property as well as a free shuttle to downtown.

We pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service to all of our owners and guests. Each and every employee is thoroughly trained on our hospitality standards, which include making every guest contact positive. We apologize that this was not your experience.

We are so happy you enjoyed your vacations as our company strive to ALWAYS create great vacations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I exchanged my Hawaii timeshare for this one, and I was happy with the accommodations considering the unit I exchanged--a studio. The room was a good size and not cramped like other "hotel" rooms can be. There are trails and access to free transportation into town with little wait time. The pools/hot tubs, workout room, exercise area and places to sit and read a book abound. Lots of families but not over run with kids. It was nice to see people enjoying the amenities, including shuffle board and classes offered by the resort. I took two yoga classes and an art class and they were great--turnout for these was a little low, but I didn't mind the personal attention. The yoga instructor was fabulous, but I wish it had been offered every morning instead of twice only. Awesome visit and would love to take my family back there.

Room Tip: If you own at this resort, you get great accommodations from what I could see. Having exchanged my H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling3Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark G, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you for your review of Grand Timber Lodge. We love to hear that you had a wonderful stay and would like to return! Our company motto is “Always Great Vacations” and we are pleased to know that we were able to provide you with this experience. We hope to see you and your family back at the resort again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

This was our third stay at the Grand Timber Lodge, and all have been superb. This time we were two groups each in 3 br units, one in building 1 (seven nights, Interval International exchange) and one in building 3 (3 nights, vacation package). The 3 br units are combined 2 br and studio lock-off units and very roomy. I called-in to Breckenridge Grand Vacations about 10 days in advance to request units in the same building. Due to the difference in length of stay, they could not change what had already been assigned. (The customer service representative checked every available building and unit to try to accommodate my request). No big deal, but if you want certain buildings (depends on check-in day) or room requests, call-in sooner or put your request in when you make your reservation.

Everyone in our two groups commented on how friendly all the staff was. We noticed this on previous visits, too. A couple of minor maintenance issues (squeaky door hinges and "sticky" clothes dryer knob) were quickly dealt with.

The only issue was during our last night. Some knuckleheaded guests decided to enjoy the outdoor hot tub between buildings 1&4 at 3 a.m.! They did not just sneak-in, but carried on a conversation that anyone in the adjoining 4 building could hear. Just as I was about to call the front desk, a resort employee arrived to inform them the hot tub was closed (5 hours earlier -- are people clueless as to the rules, or do they just think they do not apply to them?) I do not blame the resort one bit; someone else must have complained and the resort dealt with the situation as soon as they were aware.

We enjoyed a twilight game of shuffle board on the outside deck. The onsite restaurant makes a good pizza (for dine-in or to-go to your room). The shuttle service to and from town was quick and reliable. There are beautiful views of the surrounding 11,000+ ft. peaks. This place offers everything we want in a resort experience, and we can't wait to come back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark G, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you for your recent review! We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at Grand Timber Lodge. We do recommend that if you are looking for a multiple room stay to request a building and floor while making this reservation. While we can never 100% guarantee a room; we do our best to keep multiple room parties together. We also apologize that there were some knucklehead guests that woke you up. We do our best to make sure that all guests are following the quite hour policies, but are sorry that this disrupted your stay . We hope to see you again in the near future and create some more great memories for you and your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
0.6 mi away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#10 of 23 in Breckenridge
678 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
0.8 mi away
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 23 in Breckenridge
568 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
1.1 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Timber Lodge

Property: Grand Timber Lodge
Address: 75 Snowflake Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Breckenridge
#5 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
#6 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Timber Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Timber Lodge is a luxury ski-in/out condominium resort offering the largest amenities package in Breckenridge. Our exquisitely appointed luxury condominiums are conveniently located between Peaks 8 and 9 at the world famous Breckenridge Ski Resort. You will also enjoy our close proximity to Breckenridge’s Main Street, indoor/outdoor swimming pools and hot tubs, a fitness center, complimentary shuttle bus, pampering spa and salon services, an on-site ski/bike concierge, a bar and restaurant and much more. At Grand Timber Lodge, you’ll find everything you need for a great vacation: A lovely and private wooded setting, excellent amenities, all of the comforts and convenience of home, and a staff eager to make your vacation simply perfect! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Timber Hotel Breckenridge
Grand Timber Breckenridge
Grand Timber Lodge Breckenridge Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing