We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful staff, great amenities, great location, we will be back”
Review of Grand Timber Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Timber Lodge
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Breckenridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 4 March 2009

The Grand Timber Lodge was awesome. I was in my room alot with my 20 month old son. The two bedroom condos were nice and large so we had plenty of room and we loved the swimming pools! They are heated indoor/outdoor pools and they do not skimp on the heat in the pool. The staff was fantastic and the private shuttle ended up driving us everywhere! They have a lot of little extras that most resorts won't go the extra mile for that, for me, made the trip memorable.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carob1823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2009

We are pleased to hear when a guest has a great vacation at Grand Timber Lodge!

-Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (810)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

733 - 739 of 810 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2009

My husband I just returned from Breckenridge, Colorado. We stayed at The Grand Timber Lodge the last week of February. It was very nice, we had a studio unit in Building 5. Everything was very nice, great view out our window (wished a studio would have had a balcony but they don't). Kitchenette well stocked, linens and bathroom very nice and large. Hot tubs/pools - nice but very cloudy! All of them! Lodgepole Bar & Grill good sandwiches and pizza! Ski/snowboard storage was great at Christy Sports! But the ski-out was definitely misrepresented. You take a short dive down off the back of Building 5 and then have to pole 50 yards, kick off your skis, walk to Beaver Run Superchair and then strap back in! The path to ski back in was narrow and extremely winding, so we decided not to use it! The shuttle service to town or the gondola was excellent. Overall I would recommend the lodge but don't expect true ski-in/ski-out!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank texanstogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2009

While the lift may not be right out the door at Grand Timber Lodge, it is conveniently located to both Peak 8 and Peak 9. Guests may take the Snowflake chair up to Peak 8, or take the Beaver Run Super Chair to Peak 9. To get back in to Grand Timber Lodge, take Lower Sawmill or the Snowflake Trail from Peak 8. Maps and detailed instructions are also available at the front desk.

-Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2009

Our condo was large enough and well equipped although the gas fireplace was lame. There are too few elevators and the ones that are there are badly located--especially Building 5. The facilities are fine--hot tubs, pool, exercise rooms. However, this lodge is not truly ski out, especially from Buildings 5 and 6. Don't be deceived by the advertising. However, Christy Sports is conveniently located in Building 5. The spa is fine although small with no sauna (it does have a small steam room). The couples massage room is in another building separate from the spa; so dress warmly when checking in at spa because you will have to go outdoors to get to the massage room--inconvenient to say the least.
The Lodge's private shuttle service is excellent and we never waited more than 5 or so minutes to be picked up.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bitsy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2009

The Grand Timber Lodge shuttle is a great resource for guests and owners, especially those who do not have a car during their stay. In the winter, it is a great way to get around without having to do any winter driving or look up directions.

Grand Timber Lodge is conveniently located to the slopes. There is easy access to two chair lifts that go to either Peak 8 or Peak 9. Ski in/ski out is do-able from the property, and the front desk has maps and directions to help guests do so.

-Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2009

We traded our 5 star Maui Marriott Timeshare for this DUMP. We stayed in room 133 S. In building 1 on the third floor. My brother in law and nephew stayed in building 5 and their one bedroom was everything we had hoped ours would be. They paid "cash" for their room as they do not own a timeshare. Our room DID NOT have a lanai as stated in the Interval description. It did not have a fireplace, jacuzzi tub or a flat screened TV as other reviews have stated. Our room reminded me of the 'bare essentials' rooms in the Grand Canyon--A bed in the bedroom, cheap nightable (one) and one dresser--falling apart, a pull out couch in the kitchen area, not a chair in the entire place to sit and watch TV once the couch was opened. The room was run-down, dirty, and outdated. The TV was a 19 inch relic. The kitchen was dumpy and outdated--a 10 foot kitchen strip against the wall all made out of white metal. And Ski out was a joke--you ski for a minute and then have to remove your skis to walk 200 yards to a lift. Ski in was difficult to get to and involved poling across a flat trail to get to the lodge.
After 2 days there we realized that there was no heat coming from the rusty baseboard heater in our bedroom. They did come promptly to fix that.

My brother in law's room was beautiful, with a firelace, a big screen TV, a lanai, a modern kitchen and bathroom. He is not an owner there nor did he trade through Interval--he paid for his room.

We were told confidentially by a person there that all Non Owners are put into building 1 (The shabbiest building on the property), so I recommend that you DO NOT stay here. Try Beaver Run Resort (which is true ski-in/out) or another ski area entirely.

The skiing was wonderful and the trip was fun but the accomodations were PROFOUNDLY dissappointing. We intend to complain to Interval and also Marriott about this.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PaulaB_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceDept, CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2009

Grand Timber Lodge offers a variety of unit sizes ranging from studios to 4 bedroom condominiums. Our studios (sleep 4) and studio efficiencies (sleep 6) have limited kitchen facilities, called kitchenettes. Our kitchenette facilities include a small microwave, small refrigerator, small dishwasher, 2 stove top ranges as well as a toaster, coffeemaker, etc. Our one bedroom, two bedroom, three bedroom and four bedroom condominiums feature a full size kitchen, living room and dining room, as well as other full size unit amenities such as balconies, washers/dryers, and gas fireplaces. When making a reservation through Interval International, please be advised that if you book a unit with a kitchenette instead of a full size kitchen, your unit will not have a balcony or a fire place and your kitchenette facilities will include a small microwave, small refrigerator, small dishwasher, 2 stove top burners (in lieu of a full size stove), dishes, glassware, cooking utensils, pots/pans, cutlery, small kitchen sink, coffer maker and toaster. Also when making a reservation through Interval International, please read through your confirmation letter carefully so that you are aware of what your accommodations will offer. All room descriptions are detailed in the confirmation packet provided by Interval International. Also, reservations that are booked through Interval International are assigned a unit number and building based on the unit number and building that the Grand Timber Lodge owner relinquished to Interval International. Therefore, Interval International guests can potentially be booked in any unit or building throughout the property and are not put into a specific building based on whether or not their reservation was made through Interval International. Should you have any questions please feel free to contact us at 877-453-4440 for assistance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2009

Grand Timber Lodge is a solid choice in Breckenridge. Our room was well-appointed and comfortable, with a great kitchen and flat-screen TV; the location is excellent, as one can ski in and (almost) ski out, and one can also walk downtown; there is a convenient shuttle; and all the amenities (pools, hot tubs, apres-ski bar and restaurant) are very nice. To be sure, it does not have the luxurious feel of a Four Seasons, but then again it does not cost nearly as much.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CamboIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2009

Grand Timber Lodge is in a great location. It is right near the ski slopes, but also very close to town. It is convenient to get on the mountain during the day, and to town for dinner or shopping. Breckenridge is also a great "home base" for surrounding Summit County activities, like snowmobiling, dog sledding, snowshoeing, etc.

-Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2009

My husband and I live in Denver and travel up to Breckenridge pretty often during the ski season. The property had a great location with ski-in/ski-out access right near the Snowflake lift in addition to a free shuttle service to take you around town. Though the shuttle never seemed to be there when we needed it, the town is a quick 5 minute walk and easy to get to. They adhere very strictly to the 4pm check-in time---to give you time to check out their time-share package and go on a tour. There was definitely pressure to go on a tour. My husband is a very light sleeper and I had called twice to confirm that we had a quiet room. Upon checking in we found out we had a room right near the check in desk and lounge/pool tables (the ONLY place in the entire facility that isn't quiet), and the woman at the front desk made it seem like we were inconvieniencing her a great deal when we asked to switch to another room. After speaking with the manager we were able to get a quiet room. Though the room was great and the pool/hot tubs were nice and relaxing, it wasn't as carefree of an experience as you would expect from an upscale property like this one. For example, you have to get a wrist band to use the pool area, having to sign out towels, needing a quarter to use the lockers --who brings a quarter with them to the pool, and worst of all was that they expect you to vacate the parking lot by 10am the following day, which really negates the ski-in/ski out appeal if you have to move your care and go park in town at the gondola. Overall, the hotel was very nice, but the inconveniences and staff did not live up to the price tag.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmartWorldTraveler80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2009

At Grand Timber Lodge, we can take specific room requests in advance, but we cannot guarantee a certain room until check-in.

We have begun a new policy in which owners and guests on property must wear wristbands; this is to ensure that only owners and guests are taking advantage of our facilities. Similarly the towel check-out ensures that we have enough towels for everyone.

Parking at Grand Timber is limited; therefore guests who have checked out after their stay may not leave cars parked on property afterwards. This is so that guests checking in will be able to park when they arrive.

-Customer service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2009

If you've never been to Breckenridge, Co it is a fabulous town( lots of restaurants and shopping) a great mountain for skiing, a wonderful relaxing family atmosphere overall.
We stayed at the GTL ( have been before) and love this place. Ski in and ski out...can take an easy walk to town or ride the free resort shuttle. We love the hot tubs after a day on the slopes and happy hour at the Lodge pole..right next to the tubs.
Rooms are rustic indecor, clean and updated..They have everything you need for a night or a week. We bring breakfast and some lunch food and eat out for dinner.
Try to get some package deal on the lift tickets or buy them at King Soopers grocery store before you get to Breck ( since they are pricy on the hill)

Once you stay here- I'll bet you'll return...

Stayed: February 2009
Thank buttercup53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2009

We are always happy to hear when someone has had a great vacation at Grand Timber Lodge!

Also, another way to get discounted lift tickets would be to take a preview tour of the new property we are currently building on Peak 7 in Breckenridge, the Grand Lodge on Peak 7. An owner or guest may inquire about this through our reservations department.

-Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
0.8 mi away
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
0.6 mi away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#12 of 23 in Breckenridge
694 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
780 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 23 in Breckenridge
622 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Timber Lodge

Address: 75 Snowflake Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Breckenridge
#5 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
#6 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Timber Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Timber Lodge is a luxury ski-in/out condominium resort offering the largest amenities package in Breckenridge. Our exquisitely appointed luxury condominiums are conveniently located between Peaks 8 and 9 at the world famous Breckenridge Ski Resort. You will also enjoy our close proximity to Breckenridge’s Main Street, indoor/outdoor swimming pools and hot tubs, a fitness center, complimentary shuttle bus, pampering spa and salon services, an on-site ski/bike concierge, a bar and restaurant and much more. At Grand Timber Lodge, you’ll find everything you need for a great vacation: A lovely and private wooded setting, excellent amenities, all of the comforts and convenience of home, and a staff eager to make your vacation simply perfect! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Grand Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Timber Hotel Breckenridge
Grand Timber Breckenridge
Grand Timber Lodge Breckenridge Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing