We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average, but had a great time”
Review of Grand Timber Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Timber Lodge
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Breckenridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“average, but had a great time”
Reviewed 5 December 2009

We have friends who own at Grand Timber and we decided to rent a 3 bedroom unit to meet them during their annual stay at Grand Timber. We arrived just before 2 PM, unable to check in and get room keys until after 4 PM. They blamed a computer/door lock issue, however it was pretty apparant our unit had not been used for awhile. Not sure why they wouldn't allow early check in (my dad and husband were actually on the floor and in the room before they gave the keys and it was clean and available).

We were in building 4 - and had no issue with cleanliness or accomodations, other than toaster and washing machine were broken - once we called, toaster was replaced, and we just got by with the washing machine.

The hot tubs outside of our buidling were either too hot (the uppoer one was 109 one day) or too cold (lower one was 98 on the same day), so we had limited hot tub use.

Ski in/out did not have enough snow, however the shuttle bus was very conveninet and timely. Lodgepole was good quality and service. Some issues with the business center - not maintained - no working phones - printer not working. When I called, I was invited to come to the front desk to print, but service was not very friendly when I arrived, and there was no interest in discussing my concerns with the lack of maintenance in the business center.

Went on the tour for Grand Lodge at peak 7 - beautiful, but high priced, and if the same folks are managing it, I would have major concerns buying into that facility.

Overall, good stay and would go back, just expecting 3 star accomocations.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank scubachick_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, 23 December 2009
At Grand Timber Lodge, our housekeeping staff and front desk agents always strive to accommodate as many early check-in requests as possible; however, these requests are not ever be guaranteed to be fulfilled. At the time of this stay, there was an unforeseen predicament with our system, which prints the new room keys, being temporarily down. There were arrangements made to have keys printed at a different physical location here in Breckenridge, but it did cause some delays in having the rooms ready on time for those couple days. We are very sorry for this inconvenience and would like to share that there has been a back-up process developed and instated to ensure that we will be better-equipped to handle a situation such as this in the future.

-Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    231
    51
    42
    34
See reviews for
333
231
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2009

Great location but the staff was not trained in customer service skills. They encouraged me to walk into 3 feet of flood water to retrieve my car in their underground garage not telling me that the electricity was not turned off. Thank God for the local fire department. After shutting down our electricity and water in our unit, we inquired as to if other accommodations would be made available to us...We were told to go back to our unit and be patient. No "I am sorry for the inconvenience" just get out of our face and wait for us to make a decision. This was a no brainer decision that should have been made immediately but we only found out about another room available to us after we had packed up our car and were ready to drive home early. After explaining the problems to Grand Timber, the only think we got was you should have been more patient. In this line of business, you need to hire the best of the best and this staff only cared about themselves and God forbid if the customer has a question or concern. Very disappointed in this trip.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Waldo1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, 1 December 2009
At Grand Timber Lodge, we sincerely apologize for any guest’s inconvenience. Unfortunately, unforeseen events do occur that cannot be avoided, such as the flooding of one of our buildings at the time of this stay. We do try our best to remedy guests’ inconveniences caused by happenings such as this and are very sorry for any discomfort during a guest’s stay with us.

-Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2009

We arrived through a blizzard to find our room freezing cold. Maintence was notifed and arrived to find the windows were opened due to an odor in the room. We turned up the heat and after rechecking due to the cold temp, found another window open. The floor of the bathroom was dirty, the carpet was stained and dirty,
the area above the TV very dusty, the bedspread smelled like cigarette smoke in a nonsmoking room, and hooks missing on the shower curtain. The room was not representative of the information on their web site. It was the smallest studio we have ever stayed. The topper was the evening we returned to our building after dinner to find no parking spaces remaining in our parking garage. We were offered another garage not connected to our building and the outside temperature was very cold. We asked to speak to a manger or supervisor and were assured we would be contacted in the morning. No call was received by us or contact in our room. On arrival we asked to upgrade but told no rooms were available, yet the hotel bar and grill were closed due to slow season.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jakefrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, 1 December 2009
We always appreciate hearing about all of our guests’ experiences, whether they were positive or negative. Learning about those instances where we were unable to meet our guests’ expectations helps us to make improvements for future stays. That being said, these concerns have been brought to the attention of our housekeeping staff, as well as our management team. We sincerely apologize for having left the windows open as this issue should not have been overlooked by the unit inspector. We would like to share that our staff is recommitting their full dedication to details such as this.

We would also like to share that during the off season, our maintenance staff completes several large “property upkeep” projects, such as refinishing woodwork and doors in all of the units, as well as painting, which can cause a temporary odor from the paint and refinishing products. Maintaining the resort is an important part of our ongoing operations, and work needs to be done continually in order to keep the property kept-up and looking good.

-Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2009

We chose to stay at the Grand Timber Lodge for a nice relaxing getaway for 5days while the kids were out of school. We fortunately beat a snow storm in on Tuesday night and initially thought "no problem" we can get everything needed here at the lodge. What wasn't disclosed to us prior to booking or even at check-in was that the Bar/Grill was closed, the Restaurant was closed & the Grocery store was closed for the entire duration of our stay. Thankfully the grocery store wasn't far, but was definately an inconvenience when your in the midst of a snow storm. Come to find out the town shuts down A LOT of things from mid Oct - mid Nov, when ski season starts BE FORWARNED! We stayed in a two bedroom, which was wonderfully spacious with parents & children on opposite sides of the condo. It could have used some maintence, there was a short in the bedside lamp & it would go on/off and the fan wall switch kept falling off. All planned activities were geared towards younger kids and several activities were cancelled because of the weather. The pool table and pool were great until the last day, when they changed temp in the pools and they were rather cold in comparison to days previous.The one thing we did fall in love with was the wonderful eucalyptus bath soap supplied in the shower and wanted to purchase some in the spa. We were again disappointed to find out that it isn't available. I think this lodge definately has the potential to be wonderful during peak season, but unfortunately for us it was very disappointing.

Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank shearsuccess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, 4 November 2009
We most definitely appreciate when concerns are brought to our attention, such as issues related to the general maintenance and up-keep of the units. These reviews help bring certain matters to the surface, so that we are able to fix problems, and future guests do not have to face the same potential issues.

-Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2009

We have now visited Grand Timber Lodge 3 times for skiing on timeshare swaps from Europe.
It is a first class resort. It is definitely ski in/ski out if you dont mind the leisurely Snowflake lift to start the day.
We have always stayed in a studio. The accommodation is clean, well maintained and we were surprised not to be disturbed by people in the lock off bigger rooms when they were populated. Any issues we had, like no kettle, were resolved almost instantaneously.
For those who like a little walk, the town centre is only about 15 minutes away and a nice way to start and end an evening out. There are lots of good places to eat out.
The Lodge bar serves good food and beer if you cannot be bothered going far.

We did the timeshare sales talk this year for the first time and it was an easy $100 in the pocket towards meals out.

Top tip for lunch while skiing. The mountain huts are pricey but head to Spencers at bottom of Beaver chair for a great value buffet in very pleasant surroundings.

Also coming from Europe, I do lots of mail order shopping at US sites as they are such good value and the Lodge kindly agreed to receive my parcels and store for my arrival. Top marks.

We will be back, it is our favourite place for skiing.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CazMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, 23 October 2009
At Grand Timber Lodge, we are always so very pleased to hear when guests have a great vacation!

-Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, IN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2009

The resort had everything we could ask for! We had a 2 bedroom unit (one side had a studio - which we did not end up using), in the middle was the dining/living room and kitchen and the final section was the master suite. Our unit faced the pool, which could be a little noisy with kids at times. While not completely ski in-ski out, you can make it ski in-ski out depending on snow conditions. We did that once, but otherwise took advantage of the resorts free shuttle that dropped us off right by the six-pack chair on Peak 9 and the return shuttle was only a phone call away. All in all it was a great location and we would highly recommend this property!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smkritzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, 22 October 2009
Grand Timber lies directly between Peaks 8 and 9 in Breckenridge, conveniently along the beautiful 10-mile range. It is a ski-in/walk-out location to the Beaver Run and Snowflake Chairlifts.

We are always very happy to hear when guests are pleased with their accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

My husband and I visited GTL the week before Labor Day. The resort is in a great location. We could walk to downtown. A bus runs to downtown on a regular schedule, every half hour, I believe. During ski season, it would be very close to the lifts. Not quite ski in/ski out. You would have to walk a bit to the closest lift, but you could ski straight back in.

We were in building 2. It was very quiet. We hardly ever heard other guests from inside our room, even from our own lock-off unit. The unit itself was very roomy. The kitchen was very well equipped, with nice cabinets, appliances, and counters. The bed was not very comfortable. The mattress was pretty hard. The bedroom closet was small and the carpet showed signs of wear, but overall we were happy with the unit.

Wireless internet is available for free in the Great Room, but costs to have it in your unit. It was a kind of a pain to lug the laptop to the next building, but we didn't feel like paying extra for it. We think it should be available for free in the units. It's already installed, so it wouldn't cost them any more.

The pool and spa near our building were small, but clean and never overcrowded, probably because of the weather. It was cooler than we expected. The water was comfortably warm and both felt good after a day of hiking.

My husband would like to return to GTL during ski season. I'm not really a skier, so it'll probably have to be a "guys" trip.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, 23 October 2009
We do offer a free shuttle service, which runs on an on-demand schedule, and will pick-up anywhere in town. We provide all guests with the shuttle number, and it typically runs from 9:00AM - 10:00PM. On the weekends in the Winter season, it will run until 11:00PM.

We always accept requests from guests who prefer a certain type of unit, such as one in a quieter location. So, if guests would appreciate peace and quiet during their stay, all they have to do is ask! We can never guarantee units, of course; however we will do our absolute best to accommodate a specific request.

As far as providing free wireless in each unit, if you are an owner at the property, this would be something that could be brought up and addressed at the next Home Owners’ Association Meeting. We always consider suggestions regarding company policy and process from any owner who is willing to present his or ideas.

-Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
0.4 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
0.6 mi away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#10 of 23 in Breckenridge
677 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 23 in Breckenridge
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
1.1 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
735 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Timber Lodge

Property: Grand Timber Lodge
Address: 75 Snowflake Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Breckenridge
#5 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
#6 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Timber Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Timber Lodge is a luxury ski-in/out condominium resort offering the largest amenities package in Breckenridge. Our exquisitely appointed luxury condominiums are conveniently located between Peaks 8 and 9 at the world famous Breckenridge Ski Resort. You will also enjoy our close proximity to Breckenridge’s Main Street, indoor/outdoor swimming pools and hot tubs, a fitness center, complimentary shuttle bus, pampering spa and salon services, an on-site ski/bike concierge, a bar and restaurant and much more. At Grand Timber Lodge, you’ll find everything you need for a great vacation: A lovely and private wooded setting, excellent amenities, all of the comforts and convenience of home, and a staff eager to make your vacation simply perfect! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Timber Hotel Breckenridge
Grand Timber Breckenridge
Grand Timber Lodge Breckenridge Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing