We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome week!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Timber Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Timber Lodge
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Breckenridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Juan , PR
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awesome week!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2010

This was our second time in Breckenridge. Our first time we stayed in town in January (right after New Year's Eve). Being from the tropics, we were not sure what to expect at this time of the year in Colorado. Also, the hotel seemed a little far away from town.

The hotel staff welcomed us very nicely, and explained to us all the possibilities - get to the ski lifts, and move around- with ease. The hotel is located less than one minute with the shuttle to the Beaver Run chair, and ski in from Peak 8. The accomodations were more than expected: we stayed in a one bedroom unit: in Bulding 5 with new kitchen equipment, washer/dryer in the unit, fireplace, nice view , and the ski rental facility down in the basement.

It was very easy to move around town with the hotel shuttle, prompt service and courteous drivers. No problem at all.

The weatther was BEAUTIFUL, fresh snow and powder conditions. We could not be in a better place in April!

The only recommendation we will give to the hotel is to provide more lockers in the buildings, the lockers were occupied all week and we had to carry our ski boots and poles to the rooms every day. We were able to store the skies in the ski rental shop. The other alternative is to rent and store the equipment at the lifts,,,,,

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MomeSanJuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, 15 April 2010
We love hearing back from guests who have enjoyed the high quality of service that we are committed to providing at the Grand Timber Lodge! We take all suggestions to improve Grand Timber seriously so I have passed along the idea to add more lockers to the lodge - thank you for your suggestion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    231
    49
    41
    33
See reviews for
318
219
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2010

We've owned at Grand Timber for years. It's always lovely to spend a week there, but make sure when you're booking that you're not on the ground floor, facing in towards the pool near Buliding 6. Makes for dark accomodations and a daily face-to-face with a landscape retaining wall, which is a pity given the ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC light and mountain views available from most of the apartments in this fun resort.

Very helpful front desk staff. Great pools and hot tubs. Fun spa. Super maintenance people on site. Love the snow, love GT, love Breck.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetRockies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, 15 April 2010
We are thrilled when guests experience the high level of service that we are committed to giving. The goal of the Grand Timber Lodge is to be each guest's home away from home!

In addition, we try to accommodate each guest’s room preferences to the best of our ability, so please feel free to request a higher floor, a mountain view, town view, or whatever your preference may be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
floridasunshine1111
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2010

Dirty, tiny room with no amenities. Over $255/night and it was so loud from upstairs none of us slept for 4 nights. We complained and when we finally actually got someone at the front desk, were told they could do nothing. The ONLY good thing was the parking garage---when you were allowed to use it. Unprofessional, discourteous people. Would never stay there again. Brought 2 of our 4 children for the first time to ski, what an awful disappointment.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank floridasunshine1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, 30 March 2010
We always appreciate hearing about all of our guests’ experiences, whether they were positive or negative. Learning about those instances where we were unable to meet our guests’ expectations helps us to make improvements for future stays.

We apologize if a guest feels that the front desk staff is not wholly displaying their primary commitment to respect and proper etiquette, which requires always being willing to go out of the way to make each guest feel comfortable and at home, while ensuring that we are doing everything possible to accommodate each guest’s requests. We do train our staff extensively, and our primary commitment is to always create great vacations.

Naturally, some rooms are quieter than others and we try to accommodate guests' requests to the best of our ability. Also, some rooms experience more wear and tear over the course of a season, but the rooms at Grand Timber are renovated regularly and go through two weeks of cleaning each year. Additionally, we have a maintenance staff that can fix any immediate problems in the rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2010

(all of the reviews are basically right - just use your own personal filter to decide who complains to complain and who offers good advise.

We just got back from our trip and wishing we were still there. Had a great time. The studio was a little cozy for two adults and 2 kids but it worked out. That's what we get for trying to book a week before Spring Break. The picutres online represent exactly what you get. Yes the insulation could have been better. I thought our two small boys jumping from the bed would get us noise complaints - but they didn't.

The restaurrant was good - a few notches above bar food. One night we told them we were in a hurry and our food was on the table in 5 minutes. I lost my phone there and they kept it safe and sound. I thought 5 bucks to get online was cheesy. The pool area was fun and I didn't find it over-crowded. The shuttle service fantastic. I liked the underground heated parking but I didn't use my car once we got there.

The staff was almost to a person was very freindly, courteous, and professional. If we didn't have small children in ski school at the Brek Village we probably would have made use of the trail/lift access nearby. Not sure what we would have done to store skis in the confines of the studio.

The answer to the biggest question, "would you stay there again"? Yes, definately. Lots of options to stay and ski in Breckenridge, just depends on your personal taste on what works for you. Grand Timber worked for us. To the person who was miffed at the time share tour pricing I'd say read the fine print, call and ask questions so you don't have those problems again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louiebelouie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, 8 April 2010
We love hearing back from guests when they have had a great experience with us. The free shuttle is an excellent amenity that the Grand Timber Lodge offers; also the convenient location of GTL is enjoyed by all guests. It is our goal at Grand Timber to make great vacations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadow Flat Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2010

Stayed here for 4 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment, with 2 kids under 4 plus mother & sister in laws.

Rooms were nice, washer & dryer were great. Shuttle to & from town & ski areas was great, really saves on parking costs, long waits around 4pm tho so be prepared to find somewhere warm to wait, we waited on main street for 30 minutes with 2 young kids.

Pool & spa was awesome, kids loved it everyday.

Did the timeshare thing but didn't get any freebies like others seem to have gotten :(

Arranged through general email address to lodge to have our lift passes & lesson passes sent to hotel as we would miss mail to Australia as we would already be n the US, they said no probs they would keep the mail. After losing 3 hours of skiing someone finally worked out they sent the mail back by mistake even tho the note on our accomodation file said it was there, quite annoying since we only had limited skiing time.

Would stay here again due to conviences that outweighed bad customer service issues.

Say spa was heave, Lexi does a wonderfule job.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craigsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, 30 March 2010
While the property is located in a ski-in location from the lifts on Peak 9, The Grand Timber Lodge is also within walking distance to the downtown area of Breckenridge. As guests take a stroll down Main St., they will find many excellent options for dining and attractions.

We apologize that you feel that our staff was not attentive to your needs. However, we appreciate hearing about these situations so that we can remedy them and ensure that similar situations will be better taken care of in the future. It is always our goal to create great vacations and make our guests feel at home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2010

This is a very nice place to stay in Breckenridge. Service was very good. On site restaurant was very good and reasonably priced. Free shuttle was the best! Very convenient for heading down to Main St for dinner or shopping. Convenient for skiing - especially skiing back in at the end of the day.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmkmtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, 18 March 2010
The Grand Timber Lodge offers truly unparalleled amenities, along with a superb location to the slopes and downtown Breckenridge.

-Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedford, ny
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2010

We exchanged into this resort through interval. It is a large resort comprised of several buildings. The pool/restaurant/lobby/spa/grocery were in one building, surrounded by several buildings with heated 1st floor garage (with ski lockers) with 3 stories of rooms above them. The downside to this arrangement is the walk back from the pool/spa/hot tub...BRRRR. There is an on site ski rental shop, which we had a good experience with. There is a free shuttle which takes you arround town. They appear about 5 minutes after you call, rather than a set schedule. As to the ski on/off issue...if you ski down from the front of the resort, it takes you to the chair lift. If you ski down the back, you must take your skis off and cross the bus drop off area to the mountain base. We enjoyed this resort very much. It was a very nice experience. The only thing we didn't enjoy was the hard sell of the timeshare. The resort offers you free lift tickets if you 'just go listen to the presentation'. Well, given that I've bought several timeshares in the secondary market at a fraction of what it costs to buy from the resort there was no way he was selling me one. The salesman kept insisting that I was wrong and that weeks from GTL NEVER are sold in the secondary market. To which I replied 'can I use your computer' and showed him a unit on ebay from his resort for 5% of what he was trying to sell me. Then he was willing to let us leave, .... but it had been 3 hours of discussion, which I would have rather spent at the spa, quite frankly. Other than that a great trip.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scooterjuanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, 12 March 2010
Often times, the Vacation Ownership weeks available on the resale market are less costly because they are of a much lesser value than those bought through the developer. This is because those packages may not include the Club Benefits, such as the option to come up and use the amenities, or book deeply discounted rental nights, any time of the year. The Club Benefits are truly what make Vacation Ownership with Breckenridge Grand Vacations so unique and valuable.

-Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
0.6 mi away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#10 of 23 in Breckenridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
0.8 mi away
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 23 in Breckenridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
1.1 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Timber Lodge

Property: Grand Timber Lodge
Address: 75 Snowflake Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Breckenridge
#5 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
#6 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Timber Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Timber Lodge is a luxury ski-in/out condominium resort offering the largest amenities package in Breckenridge. Our exquisitely appointed luxury condominiums are conveniently located between Peaks 8 and 9 at the world famous Breckenridge Ski Resort. You will also enjoy our close proximity to Breckenridge’s Main Street, indoor/outdoor swimming pools and hot tubs, a fitness center, complimentary shuttle bus, pampering spa and salon services, an on-site ski/bike concierge, a bar and restaurant and much more. At Grand Timber Lodge, you’ll find everything you need for a great vacation: A lovely and private wooded setting, excellent amenities, all of the comforts and convenience of home, and a staff eager to make your vacation simply perfect! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Timber Hotel Breckenridge
Grand Timber Breckenridge
Grand Timber Lodge Breckenridge Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing