We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay in Breckenridge!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Breckenridge
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay in Breckenridge!!”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Stayed at the Thunder Mountain between 29th Feb and 9th March 2012. Primarily chose the Mountain Thunder Lodge because of the great reviews on Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. We stayed in a two bed apartment in the the main building. The apartment was great, fully equipped kitchen, comfy beds and plenty of living space. With four people it didn't feel cramped at all. Our rooms were serviced everyday including putting on the dishwasher on so that everything was ready when we got back form the slopes.

I really can't fault this place. The location is perfect, just outside of the centre but not far away enough that you can't walk to Main Street. This also means that it is quiet at night. During the day, the lodge is a few mins walk to a Gondola up to the slopes but the lodge has a free shuttle service that we used a lot. It will take you anywhere in Breckenridge and pick you up promptly with a single phone call to reception. Really efficient transportation.

The staff at the Mountain Thunder Lodge are brilliant too. Really friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble and they made us feel very welcome throughout our 10 day stay. I would definitely recommend this place.

Summary....pros
1. Friendly and attentive staff
2. Great apartments with daily service
3. Nice location with a free shuttle around Breckenridge
4. Lovely hot tub outside.....really hot and great after a ski!!
5. Convenient ski lockers

Cons......
1. None, if your thinking about Breckenridge then I couldn't recommend the Mountain Thunder Lodge enough.........

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whitmore_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    127
    28
    18
    17
See reviews for
315
175
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Someone taught Bryce Keener, Manager of Mountain Thunder Lodge, a little bit about hiring nice people and customer service.
Without exaggeration, every single employee we met was glowing with happy attitudes. One of the staff even said "Our goal is to make your experience incredibly memorable."

The location is great. Rooms are wonderful. But by far the best part of this hotel--- is its people. They really go above and beyond to make you feel welcome and CARED about.

As an added tip, don't forget to utilize the Shuttle service.They take you anywhere (within reason), 7 am to midnight, and prompt as well. If you wait 5 minutes, it seems like a long time for them :). And all with a smile, and some good local information about the town.

Excellent Stay. Recommend it highly!
Tim S, Smile-Therapy.com

Room Tip: Drink lots of water--- dry at night due to high altitude.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Very comfortable, shuttle bus service so you don't even have to walk accross the road to the gondola with your skis!
All comforts of home, much nicer than a hotel
Gondola in, ski back

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M0R1SS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
247 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Our 2 bed, 2 bath condo was very roomy and well-equipped. We loved the fireplace and spacious living/dining room. It is nice to be able to leave all the dishes after breakfast and the staff stacks and runs the dishwasher for you when the service the condo.

The central location is great, only a few minutes' walk from the main street. Our favourite restaurants were Hearthstone and Mountain Flying Fish - see my recent reviews.

The free shuttle service is super convenient and the drivers are so very helpful. Walking even short distances in ski boots is not pleasant, so it's great to be able to call the shuttle service and they pick you up within a few minutes.

This place really has a well-thought-out package. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We have stayed at Mountain Thunder Lodge for each of the past 5yrs we have skied in Breckenridge. The staff have always been super and our condo very well maintained and equipped.
We feel it is excellent value for money and beats any place we have stayed in Europe.
The shuttle bus is very flexible, taking you places anywhere in town. We always tip the driver a couple of dollars even if we are just going across the road to the gondola but it is not required or requested.
The more recent introduction of the ski to door is so very convenient too. It means we can ski the morning before we catch the flight back to London without any concerns that we won't make it home in time.
I have stayed in many 5 star hotels around the world but MTL staff are always friendly and helpful and unlike some hotels they don't expect a tip for everything they do.

The rooms themselves are equipped with pretty much anything you need. You can cook or call out for takeaway or head into town to eat at an array of restaurants.

We will be going back next year.

Room Tip: They are all super
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JNF_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Probably like many of you, I surfed TA for some time to pick a hotel for Breck. Well, my wife and I just returned from our Feb 1-5 trip and staying at the MTL was the perfect decision.

Our main search criteria was location. We wanted equal access to town as the slopes and the MTL is just that. I have read reviews about the LONG walk to the gondola. Honestly, it is 5 minutes....if you don't like the stairs to the tunnel, then just cross the street and walk across a parking lot. I usually carried my snowboard and my wife's skis since walking in snowboard boots is much easier....absolutely a non-issue. As for skiing back, the 4 O;clock runs literally takes you to the back door of the resort. The town is about a 2 block walk, which we made every night.

We did not use the shuttle service at all since we had a rental car. I drove into town to bring back breakfast one morning and it took longer for the KAVA cafe (awesome!) to make our donuts, then the rest of the trip.

We booked a 1 bedroom condo (non-studio) and ended up in corner room 5109 which was 2 bed and 2 bath. The room was incredible! Honestly, I have no idea what could have been improved upon and since this resort was half the price of others, the decision was perfect. We could have literally lived in our condo long term. The kitchen was huge, large kitchen table, flat screen, fireplace and two massive bathrooms. There was also a smaller flatscreen in the master bedroom.

The staff was very helpful and friendly, but we honestly didn't ask for much assistance. Actually, after check-in I think I called them once for breakfast advise.

In the main pool area, there are two hot tubs with changing rooms and bathrooms which were very convenient.

All in all, we travel all over and this place was incredible. I will say that it is much more condo living than hotel living. There is not a restaurant or bar on site, but the town is very close with everything you can imagine.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goodmatt78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Our stay in the mountains was perfect! The kitchen was nicely appointed, big table, roomy family room, master suite was really spacious and the heated garage was a bonus because we got snow every night. And the views out the windows are terrific. The hotel staff couldn't have been more helpful or pleasant. Great courtesy shuttle takes you into town and picks you back up...but its just a short walk. You can ski right to your townhouse. There's a nice little market just down the road to stock up on supplies...you do need everything from coffee filters to napkins. The town of Breckenridge is adorable! We will be back.

Room Tip: We didn't know that some units have different configurations of beds...wish we had asked for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thehaggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
0.9 mi away
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
0.6 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
1.2 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
0.4 mi away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 23 in Breckenridge
559 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Breckenridge
Residence Inn Breckenridge
#12 of 23 in Breckenridge
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Thunder Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Thunder Lodge

Property: Mountain Thunder Lodge
Address: 50 Mountain Thunder Drive, PO Box 8269, Breckenridge, CO 80124
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Breckenridge
#2 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Breckenridge
#3 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mountain Thunder Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mountain Thunder Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Thunder Hotel Breckenridge
Mountain Thunder Lodge Breckenridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing