We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visitor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Breckenridge
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Florida
1 review
“Visitor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Great location, near town and gondola with easy return after skiing. Heated pool and hot tubs feel wonderful at the end of a ski day. Rooms very nicely furnished and maintained. Very friendly staff and the guests too all seem very happy and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    127
    28
    18
    17
See reviews for
314
173
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

New Years was our first trip to Breckenridge and Mountain Thunder Lodge gave us the best of all worlds! Walk to town or take the private shuttle that the lodge provides............ Short walk to the gondola or take the private shuttle that the lodge provides......... Ski off the mountain straight into the back door! Our cozy condo was right next to the hot tub and ski lockers. Very convenient and also very quiet. MTL also arranged for at least 1 FOOT of powder every day (OK- maybe they didn't actually make it snow.......). Look forward to the 2014 ski season and our next trip to Mountain Thunder Lodge!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claydoughhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solon, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

There were 5 women in a 2 bedroom, 2 bath condo. There were 21 people total in our group staying at the condos. The condo was very very comfortable and very roomy. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend these condos or to stay here again. The lodge provided free shuttle service which made everything very convenient.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank janfromsolon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We were lucky enough to stay at Mountain Thunder Lodge over New Years after not having been to Breckenridge in many years. I was a little worried about having taken the shuttle and being left without a car to get around. My worries vanished when I saw the specific location of MTL. It's across the street from the Gondola lift so ski access was a breeze, especially with the lodge's private shuttle service. And we could ski off the mountain directly to our back door. The town & grocery store were easily walkable, even for tired old ski legs!
Our condo was right off the lobby on the first floor. We had easy access to the ski lockers, the font desk for any needs, the hot tub, and the delicious coffee made fresh every morning. The condo itself was beautiful with state of the art appliances, and everything appeared to be brand new. Very tastefully done and comfortable. I was a little worried about noise being so close to the lobby, but it was quiet and peaceful in our condo without even a hint of other guests.
I would try to book this lodge before any other in Breck without hesitation on future trips.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lac286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

What great fun skiing in Breckenridge and staying at Mountain Thunder Lodge! Great shuttle service to places, and ski right home on the four o'clock run! Can't wait to go back! Comfortable, luxurious lodging, hot tub, exercise room, great service and location!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Mountain Thunder is the perfect location for summer or winter activities; right across the street from the Gondola, as well as Main Street - for shopping, dining, and entertainment. The Resort is in great condition, and the staff is always top-notch. They offer a free shuttle around town.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank planitd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We recently stayed here and loved it. Growing up in Denver we have been to Breckenridge many times and we have stayed in several places including the newest ski in and ski out locations right on the mountain as well as homes and condos closer to the town. After our week at Grand View Lodge I can say we won't be trying anything else. The location was perfect. In the morning we could walk across the street to the gondola which takes you to the base of the hill, or the lodge has a bus that will take you the short ride up the hill - a nice benefit. At the end of a day, there's a ski run that was built just for this resort that you can take all the way to the back door - and the outdoor hot tub! Our room came with underground parking (nice) and a ski locker on the first floor so you don't have to drag your stuff to your condo. Rather, throw everything in the locker and you're done (and yes.., the locks actually work). What we liked even more than the access to the mountain was the access to town. We've stayed at other places where we felt a little isolated so this was a big plus. You can walk a couple short blocks (right across the street) and be in the middle of old town Breckenridge - an old, original mining town with lots of great shops, restaurants, pubs and music. No car needed - however we did have the lodge pick us up a couple times when we stayed out late. We just called and they were there in about 5 minutes - no fees!

Our condo was VERY nice with vaulted ceilings which made the place seem a lot bigger and amazing views! Although it was only a one bedroom is was very big with a double bath, small dining area, kitchen and family area - not to mention and a very large bedroom with King bed and a California Closet for all of our stuff. Our kids (6 and 7) slept on the pull out couch and sleeping bags they found to be adventurous! We had an end unit so there were lots of windows and amazing views of mountains. Nice to sit on the deck with a glass of wine at night. The service here was excellent. The front desk staff were always extra helpful and they gave us lots of tips when we asked. We learned a lot about Breck that we did not know before. It was clear that they liked their jobs - even on Fri and Sat night - but what's not to like. About working and living in a Breckenridge.

Our kids really liked to go swimming at night which we did a lot. They were completely exhausted by 8 each night. The Outdoor pool was warm and hot tub was "hot"! The snow and skiing were amazing and we got to check out the new Peak 6 which has really opened up a lot more area for skiing and helps a lot with crowds.

All and all, a great vacation. Can't to go back!

Room Tip: Top floor units have vaulted ceilings. End units have more windows, light and views. Single units...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
0.9 mi away
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
1.2 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
0.4 mi away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 23 in Breckenridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.6 mi away
Main Street Station
Main Street Station
#17 of 23 in Breckenridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Thunder Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Thunder Lodge

Property: Mountain Thunder Lodge
Address: 50 Mountain Thunder Drive, PO Box 8269, Breckenridge, CO 80124
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Breckenridge
#2 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
#3 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mountain Thunder Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mountain Thunder Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Thunder Hotel Breckenridge
Mountain Thunder Lodge Breckenridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing