We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Skiway Lodge(Breckenridge)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wedgewood Lodge(Breckenridge)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Village Hotel(Breckenridge)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Timber Lodge(Breckenridge)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (719)
Filter reviews
719 results
Traveller rating
513
137
32
20
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
513
137
32
20
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom condoshuttle servicemain streetthe kitchenin townhot tubend of the daygreat place to stayfree shuttlegrocery storeunderground parkinggas fireplacecar garagedaily housekeepingperfect locationfront desk staffski trip
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
345 - 350 of 719 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had just one night at Mountain Thunder Lodge but wished for more. The lodge is ideally located and excellent value for money. We were checked in efficiently and courteously and our room was much larger and more comfortable than we expected. The king bed was very comfortable. We walked the short distance into town for dinner. This is a top place to stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We couldn't have asked for a better weekend! The staff was unbelievably friendly and helpful! Such a beautiful place and great location. We walked to everything. Room was comfortable and they worked with my request for a room near the pool. Great time! Loved it!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay at Mountain Thunder Lodge. We were in a king room (with full kitchen, living room and fireplace) in Building 5 on the first floor. The place was clean and spacious. The hotel staff were very friendly and went above and beyond to make our stay a pleasant one. Lodge is very close to Main Street and everything you might need. We never drove our car after we arrived until it was time to drive back to Denver – we walked everywhere or used the complimentary shuttle. We will definitely stay here again when we return to Breckenridge.

Room Tip: Request a room on a higher floor for a better view.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LolaJade85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We spent a couple nights here for a weekend trip. It began with a nice surprise that we had been upgraded to a 2 bedroom instead of the 1 bed we had reserved. The condo was very nice. Good Wi-Fi, TV in every room. Nice view from the balcony. Staff was very friendly. For ski season, they have ski storage in the lobby and ski in access from the run that goes to the gondola parking. To get to the lifts you can walk about a block to the gondola or I think they have a shuttle that will drive you. It is easy to walk to Main Street or they have a shuttle that will take you there too. Plenty of underground parking. We would stay here again. We were here for a horseback riding trip at Platte Ranch in Fairplay (30 minutes south). I would highly recommend riding here if horseback riding is on your things to do list. We also had great meals at Empire Burger in Breck and Chimayo and Arapahoe Cafe in Dillon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tm2924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We purposely chose to stay at Mountain Thunder Lodge as a side trip while visiting family in the Denver area. I had never heard of the term "mud season", but now understand it is the time between winter ski season and summer in Breckenridge.

We very much enjoyed the accommodations in the 2-BR, 2-Bath townhome unit we had for our four night stay. The layout of the townhome was very nice and the unit we had provided a very nice view of the pool and hot tub area as well as the mountains. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Facilities were well maintained. Beds were comfortable. Nice to have an inside entry pull-in garage with automatic door as part of the unit. We enjoyed using the heated pool and one of four hot tubs on the property.

The lodge location is very close to old downtown, so walking is very doable. If you want to avoid using your own vehicle and finding parking that is somewhat limited in town, you have use of the resort's free shuttle service. We didn't use the shuttle since tourist activity was a bit slower while we were there.

There is no food or bar service at the resort, other than what is brought in for special events, but in the townhome you have a full kitchen with utensils.

If you are not going to be in Breckenridge during the ski or summer seasons, expect a number of restaurants and shops to be temporarily closed. That being said you can still find enough places to go and enjoy without the crowds.

As far as Mountain Thunder Lodge goes, this is where we would definitely stay were we to vacation again in Breckenridge.

Room Tip: There is really not a bad location on the property in our opinion. We preferred an interior townhome to be closer to the pool/hot tub and to distance ourselves a bit more from the nearby roads and traffic.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mac7610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews