We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful condos & outstanding staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Breckenridge
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful condos & outstanding staff”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Our July visit to Breckenridge was fabulous. The Mountain Thunder Lodge is a great location for experiencing everything Breckenridge has to offer in the summertime. We were just a short walk to the Gondola station & the downtown area. When we didn't feel like walking the free shuttle was happy to take us anywhere in town. The staff at Mountain Thunder Lodge was outstanding. They were extremely friendly and went out of their way to help us when our rental car had problems. The condo was also the perfect location for watching the 4th of July Fireworks!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    491
    130
    30
    20
    17
See reviews for
319
177
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed there with extended family for a reunion of sorts for 3 nights this past weekend. There were 16 of us -- 2 in their 80s, 8 in their 50s (or so) and 6 in their 20s (was supposed to be 8 - 2 couldn't make it at the last minute). We had 5 1-bedroom units and 2- 2 bedroom units in the main building. The group is generally well traveled, and 2 sets currently live in Colorado and are very familiar with the various Co. resorts both summer and winter. Everyone was extremely happy with the accommodations and setting, and though they were great (I got a lot of "atta girls" off this one); the Denver group said they would be back. Lodge has a nice deck, with one of the hot tubs right off of it with grills (we didn't use them, but they were there) -- the deer came right up to the deck. Its a very short walk to the down town and shorter to the free downtown bus, and the Lodge has its own van/bus as well that can take you if you are not up to walking. Also close to the rec trail along the river. Beds were very comfortable (although several did complain about too soft pillows), Units were well appointed and clean. My only minor complaints are that the lighting in my particular unit in the bathroom/dressing area was a tad dim, and for a family group like ours, it would have been nice if they had an one premises cash bar happy hour like I have experience seen some places without full restaurant or bar, to relax and gather before heading back out for dinner.

Room Tip: In summer, when you have the windows open, the rooms over looking the parking lot (or hot tub) will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mennolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

My first time in breckenridge in the summer. Gorgeously green, beautiful mountains , and moderate weather. We have 2 boys so condos are the way to go with our family. We stayed in building 50 in a 2 bedroom/2 ba condo. It was clean, well stocked with extra paper towels, napkins , spices , pots /pans, utensils, etc. the in unit washer/ dryer was well used. No a/c--- but with windows open and fans , kept cool. ( sometimes too much during sleeping hours ). Highly recommend

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jch0643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed one night June 27 in condo with murphy bed--husband on couch--very uncomfortable--Good location--Gayle MNear restaurants--skiing--Very nice check in--condo very clean--Just bad beds--near ski slopes

Room Tip: No Murphy beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1741Gayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I stayed here for 5 days with girlfriends and it was awesome! Staff was very helpful and nice from the front desk to housekeeping to drivers. The condo was wonderful with great views. This lodge is in easy walking distance to downtown Breck; ie the shops, bars and restaurants. The pool was right across from our building which was the main building. The weather cooperated enough for us to have a great pool day and the hot tub was wonderful for evening. Shuttle took us to sister resort and the shuttle could take us downtown if weather wasn't good. Grocery store and liquor store are also within walking. Kitchen was perfect size. Laundry on each floor of our building which we used. I slept on sleeper sofa which was so comfortable that I was shocked! Definitely remember to drink lots of water. The altitude will get you. Also, underground parking as well as outside parking.
This is worth a stay!

Room Tip: Really liked the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agape1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had just one night at Mountain Thunder Lodge but wished for more. The lodge is ideally located and excellent value for money. We were checked in efficiently and courteously and our room was much larger and more comfortable than we expected. The king bed was very comfortable. We walked the short distance into town for dinner. This is a top place to stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evergreen, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We couldn't have asked for a better weekend! The staff was unbelievably friendly and helpful! Such a beautiful place and great location. We walked to everything. Room was comfortable and they worked with my request for a room near the pool. Great time! Loved it!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
0.9 mi away
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
1.2 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
0.6 mi away
Main Street Station
Main Street Station
#17 of 23 in Breckenridge
117 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 23 in Breckenridge
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Thunder Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Thunder Lodge

Property: Mountain Thunder Lodge
Address: 50 Mountain Thunder Drive, PO Box 8269, Breckenridge, CO 80124
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Breckenridge
#2 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
#3 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mountain Thunder Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mountain Thunder Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Thunder Hotel Breckenridge
Mountain Thunder Lodge Breckenridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing