We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breck Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Breckenridge
Certificate of Excellence
Illinois
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Breck Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2009

Stayed in one of the condo-townhomes, not in the lodge. Very nice property, daily maid service, clean and modern. Each unit individually furnished by the owner, nice personalization. Outdoor patios or decks depending on floor plan elevation. Garages for each unit would be a huge plus in ski season!

The lodge has large patio with gas grills, adjacent hot tub, complimentary coffee and snacks. Gas grills and hot tubs also scattered through the condo areas. Easy access to walking trails, which double as ski routes to the lifts in ski season. Close walk to downtown shopping and dining. A relaxing mountain getaway!

  • Liked — Location, atmosphere
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ThreeRivers75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    127
    28
    18
    17
See reviews for
314
173
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2009

The service at MTL could not have been better, the staff were really friendly and were only too happy to help with any questions we had. The free shuttle into town and also to the ski runs also made life hassle free.

We stayed in block 5 in a two bed two bathroom apartment, it was really specious and was imaculatly kept, which was excatly what you wanted when you had come back from a hard day on the slopes!

The option of being able to ski straight into the complex at the end of the day was brilliant, especially as the ''four O Clock'' run which led into the Mountain Thunder lodge complex was 3.5 miles long!

If your looking for quality accomodation then this is the place for you.

  • Liked — Quality of furnishing
  • Disliked — internet was only free for an hour a day
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Cloughy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at Mountain Thunder with two other couples and we still can't stop talking about the amazing accommodations! The condo was more like a nice house. The bedrooms were large as were most of the bathrooms. The kitchen was completely modern and had plenty of storage for groceries and plenty of utensils for cooking. The living room was so comfortable and perfect for relaxing after a long day of skiing. It's located within walking distance of the Gondola and downtown Breck. The shuttle service is fantastic. We didn't want to leave! Everything was so clean and relaxing. We'd all definitely go back in a heart beat! This is a great place for a family or a group of travelers.

  • Liked — The condo was very well-cared for a clean
  • Disliked — The Internet was pretty expensive
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaina2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel Islands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2009

Booked a 2bed/2bath Condo over the christmas period for a family Ski holiday. Having never been skiing before we found the location of the MTL to be excellent. We were over the road from the Peak 8 Gondola, walking distant to main street, with the MTL shuttle to take us any place in Breck.
Booked through Virgin Holidays who give 10% to flying club members, they even cover the $15 per night service fee that some have mentioned in there quote, so the only thing to pay on check out was the $1 per day forest dontation which is optional.
The Condo was amazing, with one en-suite king room, one double, and a double sofa bed. Having a kitchen was great as we were able to do breakfast, as well as make meals as an when we wanted. Proved to be an excellent addition for tired skiers at the end of the day!! Our view was over the pool and hot tubs, but we also had views of peak 9.
I would reccommend this property for people wanting an excellent stay in Breck, and you get 1 hour of free internet in your room per day.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank silverbacksloth77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2008

We stayed on the second floor in a 2-bedroom, 2-bathroom corner unit during our ski vacation in Breckenridge. Great unit! Kitchen has all of the expected amenities, living room has gas fireplace and large screen flat panel t.v. Each of the bedrooms has a smaller t.v. and comfy beds. Nice views of the town from the balcony and from the windows within the condo. The condo unit was clean for the most part… little things like behind the couch and the base of the refrigerator needed attention. The front desk/reception was very friendly and the shuttle service was very efficient. We chose to walk to/from the gondola most days, which is about a five minute walk. The hot tub at the lodge was rarely in use while we were there. We had it to ourselves each time. The “year-round” heated pool was not open. The restaurants in Breckenridge were excellent. Our favorites were Briar Rose, Relish, and Swiss Haven. We rented skis from Breckenridge Sports and were very happy with the service and quality of rentals. However, even with our discount there are other rental shops that cost less. While in Breckenridge we also skied at Vail, about a 50 minute drive. Well worth it!

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Skicatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2008

Originally we had booked a two bedroom in the Village, however, when we learned that Peak 8 was going to be the first to open we called Breckenridge Reservations and they suggested this property for less money than the cost of the village. I am incredibly thankful we did. Everyone we spoke with told us how much nicer the Mountain Thunder Lodge was relative to the village.

Found the property to be spacious, clean, and well furnished. We rented 2BR/2BA unit and it was very comfortable. Location great right across the street from the peak 8 Gondola.

Pros: Space, Fully furnished kitchen, cleanliness, location, price

Cons: RESORT FEE of $15 per day!!! Mentioned in the reservation but not quantified - incredibly expensive relative to the ~$200 per night rate and what is received. Also, noise from other units surprisingly loud as noted by previous posters and we did not have the windows open as one previous poster suggested. No hot water one morning, resolved by end of day, and a lukewarm hot tub. Pointed out both to the front desk and got we are working on it both times - not an apology, but hey it is a ski town.

Overall, more good than bad, and seems to be a great value.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise from other rooms
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinMan1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in a two bedroom condo. We had a great view of the mountains and the village from our patio. The master bedroom was large and had a fantastic bathroom with a separate bath and shower. The kitchen was well equipped and the dining and living area were spacious and comfortable.

The hotel is near the road and although we could hear traffic during the day it did not bother me at night (and I'm a light sleeper).

The property is walking distance from the village and other activities.

We would definitely stay here again!

  • Liked — great views
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bamom91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
0.9 mi away
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
1.2 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
0.4 mi away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 23 in Breckenridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.6 mi away
Main Street Station
Main Street Station
#17 of 23 in Breckenridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Thunder Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Thunder Lodge

Property: Mountain Thunder Lodge
Address: 50 Mountain Thunder Drive, PO Box 8269, Breckenridge, CO 80124
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Breckenridge
#2 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Breckenridge
#3 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mountain Thunder Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mountain Thunder Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Thunder Hotel Breckenridge
Mountain Thunder Lodge Breckenridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing