We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Breckenridge
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2006

This may be a nice place but we were turned away even with a confirmed reservation that had been prepaid weeks in advance. They said they were full and did not have a room for us. They were not very sorry. They found us a room at a sister property that was rundown a not really what we wanted. I was very disappointed with this lodge.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
16 Thank Chitownjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    127
    28
    18
    17
See reviews for
314
173
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parker, CO
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2006

The room was clean and pretty and very cozy. That's the good news. The bad news is the bed was as hard as a rock, the rooms were very warm, and could not open the windows due to loud construction noise. Did I mention that the construction vehicles and saws started in at 7:15 am and didn't quit until 6:00pm? There was a large family staying there, and they let their small children run up and down the halls all hours of the day. The check in was quick and efficient, but at checkout, they never even asked if we enjoyed our stay or said goodbye, goodluck, whatever.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cammar2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2006

My fiancee and I stayed here the last week of the ski season and had a great time. We had a one bedroom studio which was perfect for us. The decor was really nice and it was very clean. The full-size kitchen was beautiful with granite counter tops and it had everything you would need to cook every meal in. It was also nice to bring leftovers back and be able to reheat them the next day. We also saved a ton of money by buying water and sodas at the grocery store and keeping them in the condo. Besides the beautiful rooms, the staff was super friendly and you have a shuttle at your becon call. You just called the lobby and within 5 minutes walk outside and the van took you wherever you wanted to go in Breck. And they would come ppick you up when you called them within 15 minutes. It was perfect for skiing and for going out at night. And it ussually was just us and the driver. Once in the morning we had another family in the van going skiing. The location is perfect and very close to everything. There is also a very nice pool and three hot tubs that were never too crowded. Also- the website photos were very true to life. I would definitely stay here again next time I come to Breck.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2006

We stayed at Mountain Thunder for our honeymoon, and it was amazing.
The staff was so accomodating, and they treated us like family. They were always eager to help with suggestions of where to eat and what activities to try out, like snowmobiling, and dogsledding.
They went above and beyond the call of duty on our first night there. We arrived late and starving - the guy at the front desk called at least a dozen places for us, and when we discovered everything was closed, he even gave us money out of his own pocket so we could eat from the vending machine. They were so sweet to us! We were known as "the newlyweds" and they even gave us a small parting gift when we left.
We didn't even have to rent a car. The hotel had a shuttle that took us everywhere we wanted to go, and all the drivers knew us personally after a week! They recommended the best breakfast place on the face of this earth - The Columbine Cafe - we ate there every morning for 7 days!!!
Our 1 br condo was not only decorated beautifully, it was also very cozy and had a fully equipped kitchen where we made our very 1st Thanksgiving dinner as a married couple.
Our private balcony had an incredible view, and having a fireplace was so great.
Our bed was king sized and super comfortable, and we even took advantage of the sofa bed, which was very comfortable as well too.
We were so pleased with our stay, and if we ever go back to Breckenridge, Mountain Thunder is where we will stay!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2006

It was our first time skiing outside of Europe and staying in a condo, and it was great!

The whole place was very clean and well-run with great facilities, especially the pool area and two hot-tubs.

There were a lot of kids staying over at the same time as us (we are newlyweds with no kids!), but the only reason we knew that there were children around was when we saw them in the lobby or by the pool. The rooms must be pretty soundproof because we were totally unaware of anyone else when we were in our room (which is different to most places we've stayed in Europe!). All other guests we met were friendly and nice, and the staff were superb. Sean on the main desk was cheerful and helpful from when we arrived to when we left, and the shuttle staff always very polite and often lots of fun with great advice.

And on a side note, the shuttles were fantastic too. They are rare in Europe and we like to walk places, but at this altitude it was a godsend and so useful.

I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2006

Stayed in Breckenridge from April 1 - April 8 from Australia.The Mountain Thunder Lodge was excellent especially Mary on front desk who cannort have been more helpful.Shuttle drivers friendly and always willing.

Condo rooms were great modern ,clean .Temperature was fine even thoughsome days were very warm .Exercise room and hot tub great

Only one suggestion the hotel shoukld provide an internet terminal in foyer for guest use ,even if a nominal fee is charged,some people like to leave their laptops at home on holiday

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tb00th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McDonough, GA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2006

We just returned from a stay and it was everything we expected. It snowed both days we were there and it was beautiful. Close to downtown and ski areas. The staff was very helpful and always friendly, especially Mary who helped us. The rooms are equipped with everything you need. The only thing that was bothersome was the outside noise from the street. Request a room away from traffic noise. City of Breckinridge is quaint with mostly local owned shops. Ate at the Steak and Rib- a little pricey but good food and atmosphere. Would definitely go back and stay here. Thanks for a great stay!!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BaseballMom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
0.9 mi away
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
1.2 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
0.4 mi away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 23 in Breckenridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.6 mi away
Main Street Station
Main Street Station
#17 of 23 in Breckenridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Thunder Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Thunder Lodge

Property: Mountain Thunder Lodge
Address: 50 Mountain Thunder Drive, PO Box 8269, Breckenridge, CO 80124
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Breckenridge
#2 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
#3 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mountain Thunder Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mountain Thunder Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Thunder Hotel Breckenridge
Mountain Thunder Lodge Breckenridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing