We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mountain Thunder Lodge
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Crystal Peak Lodge(Breckenridge)
US$252
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beaver Run Resort and Conference Center(Breckenridge)(Great Value!)
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge(Breckenridge)(Great Value!)
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Main Street Station(Breckenridge)
US$255
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge(Breckenridge)(Great Value!)
US$223
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$284
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$257
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lodge at Breckenridge(Breckenridge)(Great Value!)
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Lodge on Peak 7(Breckenridge)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Timber Lodge(Breckenridge)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (719)
Filter reviews
719 results
Traveller rating
513
137
32
20
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
513
137
32
20
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom condoshuttle servicemain streetthe kitchenin townhot tubend of the daygreat place to stayfree shuttlegrocery storeunderground parkinggas fireplacecar garagedaily housekeepingperfect locationfront desk staffski trip
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
596 - 601 of 719 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2010

Spent two weeks at Mountain Thunder in January could not fault it. Stayed in a one bed condo everything you could have wanted was available. The staff were helpful and very friendly, excellent shuttle service around the town. Although advertised as ski in ski out on some sites, it is only ski in and only ski direct to door if you stay in building one and a very short walk to the other buildings but the shuttle only takes a few minutes to any of the lifts or gondola and available on request but most of the time we found one waiting at the front door when requested.
Great skiing area for all levels. Good food in town for all price ranges. Ski pass covers other local areas, but as this was our first visit there was enough skiing to keep us happy in Breckenridges. We had hired a car but unless you plan on travelling around you can manage without one and if you did want to go to the other ski areas there is public transport.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2010

Mountain Thunder was great! The lodge itself was wonderful and the stuff were very friendly, check-in was a breeze. We got a great view 2 bedroom room, with a huge balcony and nice fireplace. A pool and 2 hot tubs were just a few floors away, very easy access. The pool area had a heated change room which made it nice coming in and out of the hot tubs. You get one free hour of internet a day which was plenty to check emails and upload pictures. Skiing out was a little complicated, a little annoying walking to the gondola, but the lodge provides free shuttle service and goes all the time, so we used that quite a bit. Skiing in was FANTASTIC, almost to the front door! Just cross a little field and you are on Main Street. Could make the access a little easier but it worked out fine. Will stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ola G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2010

This was our first trip to Breckenridge, CO. We flew into Denver and drove up Friday afternoon and left Monday morning to avoid the weekend traffic headed in and out of the mountains on I-70. It took about 1 ½ hours to drive from Denver without traffic. It was better than we imagined. In fact, we just so happened to be in town for the International Ice Sculpture Championships. Mountain Thunder Lodge was in a great location because it was just about two blocks off Main Street so you were away from the crowds but close enough to walk. But when it was cold we took advantage of the free shuttle that would take you anywhere in town which is helpful because the traffic on Main Street got bad at peak times. If you have a rental car it is great because they have free garage parking. We were in room 1312 in he main building on the 3rd floor. The view was one of the best on property - facing west we could see the mountains and the sunset. King Size bed was very comfortable and the gas fireplace was a nice touch. The staff was great - Bryce, Mary, Micole, Emily, Sean and Scott the Shuttle driver were all excellent. Sitting in the hot tub at night outside was especially nice after the daily excursions. We went snowmobiling at White Mountain Tours close to Copper Mountain (about 20 - 30 minute drive from Breckenridge) and our guide Jeff was great! Included in the rental rate are boots and a ski suit. You just have to bring gloves and glasses or goggles. We went on Saturday at 3:30. The views were spectacular from over 12,000 feet - a definite tour to take even if you have never ridden a snowmobile. You even stop for hot chocolate. In Breckenridge, I rented ski equipment and clothing from Alpine Sports. You get a 20% discount if you are staying at Mountain Thunder. I had not skied in 25 years so I wasn’t sure just how long I would be able to ski so I bought a lift ticket at 1:40 because the rate changes to $42 dollars (Instead of $92 for a full day) and I rented all of my equipment, jacket and pants for just under $40. So for $80, I was able to ski for about 2 hours (they stop the lift at 4:00) which was more than enough. I went right in town at Beaver Run. As for dining, it is a little expensive to eat in the restaurants in town ($40 to $50 for one appetizer, two entrees and maybe two drinks) so consider eating a few meals in if you can do so. We went to the grocery store (City Market) the day we arrived, got the essentials and being that our unit had a full kitchen we ate breakfast in the room everyday. We ate dinner at the MotherLoaded Tavern (Sweet Corn Bites, Fried Chicken and Waffles and Pot Roast Dinner) and Fatty’s (Wings and Pizza). In a nutshell, this was one of my favorite trips I have taken in a long time and can’t wait to go back.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KimmieLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2010

The location of this lodge is ideal. It is blocks away from groceries, the gondola and Main Street of Breckenridge. The room was spacious and very accommodating. The staff were friendly. Our only complaint was the room was very hot, so we opened up our balcony door quite often to cool it off. The gondola provides easy access to skiing. There are so many winter activities - ice skating, dog sledding, cross country skiing, snowmobiling, tubing, sleigh rides. The list goes on and on. Breckenridge has it all, and Mountain Thunder was an excellent place to stay and experience the beautiful town and all its amenities.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trixie7663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2010

2nd time staying here. Great location, 5 minute walk to Peak 8 gondola and right next to 4-O'Clock run where you can ski into the lodge at the end of the day. 10 minute walk to Main Street for dining and shops. 15 minute walk to super market for food supplies.

Top notch front desk staff, extremely helpful, setup sled dog and snowmobile tours for our family. Accomodations high end, decent size condo units with large bathrooms, kitchen, gas fireplace. Offer free shuttle service to anywhere in Breck.

Only negative is the almost $9 a day fee for internet service. They give you one hour free. For as much as pay to stay here throw in the internet.

Not cheap at peak season.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank highsierra52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews