We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Filthy! Broken Down! Park Avenue Lofts” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Avenue Lofts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Park Avenue Lofts
New England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Filthy! Broken Down! Park Avenue Lofts”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2008

What a disgrace! We booked a 2 bed/2bath condo unit at Park Avenue Lofts both thru and based on the recomendations of Rocky Mountain Getaways. This is the only unit in the building that is managed by Resortquest. The rest of the units are managed by Great Western Lodging..who I wished I had booked through. I should have trusted my instincts while booking this rental over the phone and internet, but after reading some positive reviews on tripadvisor, we decided to give it a shot. First the positives: Basically, the building is in an excellent location for the people who like to be in the middle of things right in town. It is withing walking distance to everything. Our unit was on the third floor, and backed up to the parking lot, with a view of the mountains. Which was beautiful! The unit was was nicely decorated overall, with granite counter tops and stainless steel appliances in the kitchen. And a private hot tub on the 2nd floor loft area balcony.

Now the negatives! The unit was a run down and very, very disgustingly dirty. First off, the window cranks in the living room were broken.The unit was over 90 degrees with the sun beating on it all day, and we were unable to open the windows for relief. No fresh mountain air blowing in. But our first impression of the unit when we walked in was the filthy, gross stained carpeting. Not just a spot here and there, but huge dirty shoe marks, human hair, potato chips, lint. I have pictures! The refrigerator had some type of liquid spilled down the front of it with smudge marks on the outside of it. The ice maker was broken. But the kicker of it all...when we walked into the downstairs bedroom, we noticed a huge, bloody snot/fleghm ball stuck to the wall near the light switch. The light switches themselves were dirty, or missing all together. This was it for me! The battle began with Resortquest, who was responsible for any items wrong with your unit, as they manage this only unit here at Park Avenue lofts. We called for ice, and in the meantime, a young gentleman came over to our unit. We showed him all the things we were talking about. He admitted that the unit was disgusting. He even told us that the owners of these units do not fix things as they break and upkeep the units. When asked about the cleanliness, he remarked that they have been having a HUGE problem with housekeeping. That it is hard to get good housekeeping and they haven't been doing their jobs correctly overall. My next question was when the last time the Hot Tub was cleaned??? I didn't want that nasty rash that people get from hot tub bacteria. He replied, that he would be very surprised if it was even working. Most of the hot tubs in the building do not work properly. We immediately requested to move our unit to another one. Resortquest was unable to do so, due to the fact that they manage only this unit. it took ALOT of complaining and being very adamant that we would not pay for this unit. They finally moved us to a nicer facility, but not without a significant additional fee that we had to pay to upgrade! I think due to the nature of this, the least they could have done was upgrade us for the same cost of this unit. Sooo...2.5 hours after checkin, we finally were moved to another complex. We had to go back to the check in area down the street, turn in our key, and head to the next complex to check in. It was a nightmare, but once we were checked in and unpacked, we were happy. OH, and did I mention this was my birthday! We had dinner finally at 9pm and tried to salvage what was left of our day. I will write a review of our eventual stayin the other complex, which we loved and didn't want to leave. Any questions...I have pictures!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Dirty, filthy, overpriced, poor management
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank snl1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    11
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Breckenridge, CO
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2008

Hello, I am Jeb, the Park Avenue Lofts building manager. Please note that the building has 19 rental units (your page says it has 50.) Thanks.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank parkaveman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey, USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Park Ave. Lofts for a long weekend end of November into December 2007. Both of us loved the rental which had ample space for 2 people. The building was built pretty recently so everything is new and clean. Some amenities that we enjoyed was the gas fireplace, the heated bathroom floors, and heated parking garage. There is also a room attached to the parking garage to store your ski/snowboarding equipment which was pretty convenient.

As for the location, it was an easy 2 minute walk across the street to get to the Quicksilver lift. It's also half a block away from Main street so getting to restaurants and shopping is easy.

The only issue we found was a few rooms on our floor were going through renovations during our stay. Most of the work was done during the daytime but it affected one of our naps after a long day of boarding!

Overall we were very happy with our stay and would highly recommend this place to family and friends.

  • Liked — Location and WiFi
  • Disliked — No Front Desk Service
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Granite07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2007

This was our 2nd stay at Park Ave Lofts. This time we booked condo 306. It was a 2 bedroom, 2 bath (2 level) condo with private hot tub. Again, we had a wonderful stay! This building has underground parking, elevators, is steps from the Quicksilver lifts and 1/2 block from Main street. The outdoor theater is out the backdoor of this building so again we enjoyed touring the ice scuptures from the International competition. The had 2 5 year olds with us and it was an easy walk to the lifts with their equipment each day. There is a ski school also at the village base. I can't say enough about renting through (-). I like being able to see the actual room we will get and they were very helpful with all my questions. Park Ave Lofts was built in 2001 so everything is very new and looks great. All the furniture and bedding was in excellent condition. I highly recommend this property.

  • Liked — Location and newness of property
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank abctate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2006

the condo was luxurious -it was certainly worth more than its 3star grading.
great facilitiesand nice and quiet.
the only problem was checking in -we didn't realise the address was of an office to pick up the key.it was raining heavily and it was out of office hours,hence a big panic attack!!!
but once we arrived it was great
we would definitely stay again

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — make sure you have info to check in if you arrive out of office hours
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spark48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2005

Above expectations summarizes our stay of 4 days. The Staff was kind and courteous. The Lofts are right across the street from the lifts and in a perfect location relative to shopping and eating. The bldg and the individual room we stayed in was in mint condition with all the amentities that one would want and need.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breckenridge
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2005

95% of the condos in Breckenridge are privately owned. Most check in locations are not on property. If one takes a shuttle, one notifies the shuttle service of one's check in location and they take you there and then onto your lodging. No one in there right mind should expect to check in and then catch a bus to their condo!!

Park Avenue Lofts is not billed as a hotel - so I do not understand the complaint there. There is a nice common area hot tub - very typical throughout Breckenridge - in the lower level which has a nice view of town as well as the old Dredge.

This new property has one of the best locations in town, as well as some of the nicest accomodations.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blue73mgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
0.1 mi away
Main Street Station
Main Street Station
#17 of 23 in Breckenridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#7 of 23 in Breckenridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Water House on Main Street
Water House on Main Street
#8 of 70 in Breckenridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Der Steirmark Condominiums
Der Steirmark Condominiums
#55 of 70 in Breckenridge
3.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cimarron Condominiums
Cimarron Condominiums
#36 of 70 in Breckenridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Avenue Lofts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Avenue Lofts

Property: Park Avenue Lofts
Address: 500 S Main St, Check-In at 322B North Main Street, Breckenridge, CO 80424-8707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 70 Speciality Lodging in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Avenue Lofts 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These deluxe condos are in the heart of all the action in downtown Breckenridge, just 1/2 block from Main Street. However, they are only 150yds across the street through The Village courtyard and up to the Quicksilver Lift. This wonderful property was built in 2001 and offers 1-3 bedroom condominiums. Our guests enjoy the heated underground parking, outdoor hot tub, elevator access and wonderful town or mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Park Avenue Lofts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Avenue Lofts Breckenridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing