We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“White Christmas 2017”

Review of Gold King Retreat

Open concept great room with bar, mini gran piano, kitchen and dining area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open concept great room with bar, mini gran piano, kitchen and dining area
Great room with mini grand piano Private hot tub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Open concept great room with bar, mini gran piano, kitchen and dining area
Great room with mini grand piano
Private hot tub
Theatre Room
Master Suite with fireplace, private sitting room and private patio
Great Room with 5-foot high fireplace
Master Suite private pario
Kitchen with counter dining adjacent to formal dining area
Dining Room with views of back garden and national forest
Main floor full bar
Main floor game room with card table and TV
Master Suite
Master Suite sitting room with see-through fireplace
Master Bathroom with steam shower
Master Suite sitting room with private patio access
Billiards Room
Mini master 1 with king bed
Mini master 1 en-suite Bathroom
Mini master 2 with king bed
Mini master 2
Mini master 3 with two queen beds
Mini master 4 with queen bed and en-suite bathroom
Garden level bedroom with two queen beds and two bunk beds
Garden level queen beds and private access to front yard
Garden level queen beds
Garden level bedroom bunk beds
Mini master 4 en-suite Bathroom
Garden level full shared bathroom
Office with views of national forrest
Hot tub in fenced in back yard
Hot Tubw ith bar and seating
Front patio with grassy lawn
Front patio with seating for 12
Front patio off great room enterance
Six Bedroom Breckenridge Vacation Rental
Exterior Winter View
Exterior Driveway View
Master Suite private patio with access from bedroom and sitting room
Main floor powder room
Mini master 2
Mini master 3 with two queen beds
Mini master 2 en-suite Bathroom
Mini master 3 en-suite Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Breckenridge, Colorado

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lini91
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“White Christmas 2017”
Reviewed 26 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

This home away from home had all the amenities and special touches that made our family decide we want to come back again. The home is not only magnificent, but the access to a shuttle and proximity to downtown Breckenridge made it perfect for our adult children to have freedom to wander without us having to drive.

The kitchen is chef-inspired and we managed to cook several meals for 11 people with ease. My son played Christmas carols on the baby grand all week which is also something we’d never be able to find elsewhere.

This property is unique, it is cozy, it is decided we will be back again soon. Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magnificent Home”
Reviewed 20 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This home is magnificent. We leased the home to gather our family from all over the United States. So bright and spacious. Having our entire family around the huge dining room table for meals was priceless. There is so much room to relax enjoy company. Hire a piano player one night to play the Steinway grand piano. The furnishings are ultimately tasteful in every room. The kitchen is a gourmet's dream...Viking stove, subzero refrigerator and freezer (one each), two dishwashers...The elegant bar includes its own icemaker and sink. We played lots of pool on the beautiful pool table, and took in a few movies in the theater room. The sun shines through the floor to ceiling window in the great room, and every room is brightened with light through huge windows and French doors. So much room to congregate and enjoy each other's company. The management was so great and thoughtful, and worked with us every step of the way here and throughout our visit. What a grand home!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review, Brian. We are very happy to know that your family enjoyed the Gold King Retreat as much as you did and hope to welcome you all back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely over the top - Wonderful amenities - much more than a normal rental.”
Reviewed 21 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We rented Gold King Retreat for a 30th birthday get together for our family of 12. We are mostly all beginner skiers so we were right near the slopes and took advantage of the VIP shuttle. The place is fully stocked with everything you could need and more - no need to get incidentals at the store. The hot tub and theater room were wonderful and we ate dinner in every night. The only thing I would caution skiers on is that if you are not a beginner, you will not be able to ski in and out from this location. That was not a big deal to us, as the VIP shuttle came right to the door and was very prompt and wonderful!!! We will definitely book this one again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jan 2017
Amy. We are so happy to know you had such a wonderful birthday celebration- what a wonderful gift you provided! Thank you for pointing out that the ski in/out access is not for beginners and that there is a shuttle if anyone finds that they can't ski it. It sounds like you enjoyed all that the home offers and we look forward to welcoming you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff A
1 review
“Outstanding, Amazing, Perfect Mountain House for family and Friends!!”
Reviewed 27 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Gold King Retreat is the ideal large mountain house for groups of family and friends. I recently celebrated my 30th birthday at Gold King Retreat with both family and friends and had a great trip!! Everything with the house is perfect from the large chef style kitchen with viking ranges and heating and cooling drawers, to the amazing home theatre. This house has it all...game room with poker table, billiards room, hot tub, large flat screens in every room, and a huge master suite with awesome en suite bathroom, steam shower and additional fireplace. I absolutely loved this house. Beautiful fireplace in the great room with massive ceilings is ideal to gather. No detail is overlooked, an ipad is included to control music, and even the speakers and adjustable lighting in every room are top notch. The location is perfect, very close to town and the base of the gondola. Do yourself a favor and stay at Gold King Retreat! You will not regret it. I will hopefully be returning this summer!!

Cheers!
G

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Master, theatre, hot tub, kitchen, all of it
Liked least: Everything was great, no issues at all
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review Geoff. We are so happy to know that you think the Gold King Retreat is as amazing as we do! We're glad you had a wonderful birthday celebration and look forward to welcoming you all back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bjilek
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Overall nice, massive home, but advertised amenities and perks unavailable/unusable. Not worth price paid”
Reviewed 12 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Massive house with enough room to sleep 14 comfortably. Would be great for families, although our trip consisted of 4 couples. The kitchen and bar are very nice. The jacuzzi is easily accessible, although the deck is not heated so ice accumulation can be problematic. All the bathrooms and bedrooms were large and modern. Overall, we enjoyed the stay. However, there were several things we were disappointed with which gave us a bad taste in our mouth.

First, while they advertise there being a "private VIP shuttle" (a business called Plan B) it is not reasonably usable, particularly when you would actually want it. This service was one of the main reasons we chose this property over smaller properties within walkind distance of town or close to the free bus stops. This company apparently communicates only using land-lines only so if Verizon goes down, which it did during our stay, guests cannot use the service. On the day we had planned to get a ride to and from downtown Breck, we called numerous times and got voicemail each time. Moreover, when we finally received a return call we were advised that on any of the days we wanted to use this service they had very limited times for pickup or drop-off and effectively had to notify them the day before, which is simply not reasonable whether you are skiing or shopping in town. Finally, they only run until 5:30 pm so it is not beneficial when you really would want it most, such as getting to and from dinner when you may want to have some adult libations. In short, the Plan B shuttle service is pretty much a waste requiring you drive everywhere.

Second, many of the electronics in this relatively new house were inexplicably not working. The movie theater room was useless as the DVD player was not working, the jukebox in the pool room was broken, and the house stereo, which requires WiFi to operate, was inoperable when Verizon was down. In addition, they don't have any easy way for you to connect your own music (and warn you not to modify any of the electronic equipment) so you are stuck with what they have (Pandora), assuming the internet is even available.

Lastly, we were not impressed with the management company, Book Breck Lodging. In the initial stages, their representative attempted to sell us on the house by stating it included a "full bar" ("[T]his home offers a private movie theater, a game room, a pool room, a full bar and so much more."). As "full bar" of course notates to everyone that alcohol is included, when we inquired further she gave her definition of a "full bar" as a fully stocked bar as in "glasses, dishwasher, ice maker and all necessary items to make a specialty cocktail outside of the alcohol." At the very least, it came off as misleading. We also were not impressed by their customer service. For example, we brought to their attention the fact that we were not able to utilize several of these services they advertised (see above) asking that we receive some compensation/refund accordingly to which they responded that everyone in the area was being inconvenienced. Thus, I guess we should be glad the water and electricity was working since their response would apparently be, tough luck even though you paid for it. Our other paying customers are cold too.

In short, while the home is massive and relatively new, we did not find it to be worth the price paid, particularly given the location well outside walking distance to town or the nearest bus stop, requiring you drive everywhere.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size of the home
Liked least: Advertised perks and amenities were unavailable or unusable
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2015
We are truly sorry to hear that the home did not meet your expectations and sincerely appreciate your comments here so that we can avoid unintentionally misleading any future guests. We certainly do not want to mislead anyone since that would only result in unsatisfied guests and we want all our guests to have the experience that the others that have posted here have had.

To your points, first, while it’s true that power outages are not unheard of here in the mountains and can be disruptive, what you experienced with Comcast being down in the entire county and neighboring county is uncommon. With Comcast being the leading provider of cable, internet and phone lines, the severed fiber optic was extremely frustrating and disconcerting for businesses, residents and guests alike and I am sorry that you had to experience those hours without the ability to place or receive calls or emails. That is not something that I would expect to happen again so I hope you haven’t crossed Breckenridge off your list because of that experience.

Also, we have not previously had anyone report that they expected the bar to be stocked with alcohol so we are so glad you raised that point so no one else has that misconception. We do not provide alcohol, but the home does have a full bar versus a wet bar.

I wish we had known that you were unable to figure out the DVD player because we would have gladly come out to troubleshoot that for you. The DVD player is working but that system can be a complicated to figure out. I hope all our guests know that they can always call us if the instructions we have in the home are insufficient.

Lastly, we will look into if providing an auxiliary cord will allow guests to play their own music for those who want more that the radio, Pandora or Rhapsody so thank you for pointing that out.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your concerns. We are sincerely sorry that your experience was less than perfect.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewed 18 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We loved the backyard fenced in.
Liked least: That there was only one towel per guest. Also there needed to be some counter cleaners in the kitchen.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Jun 2014
Thank you, Robert. So glad that you and your family had a good time at the Gold King Retreat. We look forward to welcoming you all back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great Family Get-Away Home”
Reviewed 16 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We spent a week in July with our two sons' and their families in this beautiful home. It was everything we could have asked for and more. The spacious home is not only luxurious, but welcoming and comfortable. It met all our needs and we will definitely consider it for our next family vacation! Plus, Breckenridge provided many fun experiences for every age group. Thanks for the memories!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing