We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 year anniversary”
Review of Gold Point Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gold Point Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Let us preface this by saying we were assigned a studio, and it appeared that the larger rooms were much nicer as indicated in other reviews. The entire size of the studio was about the size of the kitchen in our 800 square foot Denver home. The studio had no view (it opened onto the parking lot), had not been updated since the 80's, and lacked the basic amenities that it was advertised as having (i.e., access to a kitchen, meaning you had to pay $5 for a cup of coffee in Breckenridge). So, we were left with a mini-fridge and microwave, meaning we had to eat out in the very expensive ski town restaurants in Breckenridge.

Also, this is not "Breckenridge" in the traditional sense. It is very far, and very elevated, from downtown. If you are coming from outside of Colorado, be prepared for altitude sickness. Also, if you are over 5' 10"", be prepared for your feet to hang off the bed - which left us with a sore back every morning. As a basic complaint, something as simple as air conditioning would go a far way if you are visiting in the summer, but there was none. Also, you can hear EVERYTHING through the paper thin walls (including what is going on in the public hot tubs in each unit).

On the plus side, this place did have one of the most friendly and helpful staff we have ever met. However, for the same price, spend half as much time at the Broadmoor - - you'll have a much better time.

Room Tip: Do not stay in a studio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SkipSusannaSpear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Gold Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the Gold Point Condominiums, we truly appreciate your feedback. We sincerely apologize that you were not entirely pleased with your stay. The majority of the Gold Point condos were first built in the late 1980’s and early 1990’s and our maintenance team has worked diligently to keep the resort up to date so that all of our guests and owners are able to comfortably enjoy their stay. We do have a plan in place where each building gets updates on a schedule. Although we wish we could do more all at once we do have a responsibility to be fiscally responsible for our owners and to make updates and replacements as necessary. There are a variety of room configurations to accommodate all different types of guests and their families. All rooms except the studios have full kitchens and decks. Our apologies that you planned for a full kitchen we can certainly understand the inconvenience. We only advertise the studios in having microwaves, toasters, coffee makers, cutlery and mini refrigerators (3-5 cubic feet). We apologize you experienced some discomfort due to the lack of air conditioning. In an effort to keep the design of the resort as green as possible while eliminating energy costs it was decided that the Gold Point Condominiums would not feature air conditioning. In fact, very few resorts above 9,700 feet above sea level have air conditioning due to the cool, dry mountain weather we experience all year long. As you mentioned, the Gold Point condos are located a few miles up from down town Breckenridge and does sit at a higher elevation. This affords our guests gorgeous views of the Breckenridge Ski Resort but altitude sickness can be a concern to those coming up from sea level. For altitude sickness we recommend drinking a lot of water on your way up and while you are here. Also, it is a good idea to have ibuprofen or Tylenol on hand in case of headaches. Altitude sickness is no fun and we apologize if you had trouble acclimating. On a brighter note, we do pride ourselves on providing our guests with exceptional customer service and are thrilled to hear our efforts did not go unnoticed. Keep in mind that the Gold Point condos are great for families and large groups; they are very spacious, have huge, fully-equipped kitchens (except the studios), have amazing views and great deck space (except the studios). If you’re looking for something a little closer to town, lower in elevation and a little more modern we would love to have you as our guest at one of our other properties, either Grand Timber Lodge or the Grand Lodge on Peak 7. Thank you again for reviewing the Gold Point Condominiums, we appreciate the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2012

I just spent seven days at the Gold Point Resort in Breckenridge, and was very pleased. Condo's are two story-duplex like units and my end unit had a fantastic deck overlooking Breckenridge Valley, the ski resort and the 10 Mile Mountains. Visit was in June, but snow still capped the mountains, despite the 70-80 degree weather.The staff at Gold Point resort are very accomodating, and my unit was perfectly maintained. Every amenity was thought of and provided in the condo.I was delivered to the resort via the CME (Colorado Mountain Express) shuttle service directly from Denver airport to the front door, and thankfully had no need for a rental car. Although the resort sits high above Breckenridge Village, free and frequent bus service provided rapid (and scenic) transportation to Breckenridge Village.Hiking and bike trails were located immediately outside my front door, and I loved the immaculate and very comforting jacuzzi. Each building has it's own jacuzzi and BBQ grill. At night, enjoy the amazing star filled night sky while sitting on the deck. The main lodge provided a fireplace, reading room and computer, but internet access and printing capability was spotty. Weekly and daily wi-fi service was also available for purchase in your condo for up to two users.

Room Tip: Choose an end unit, with unobstructed views. Some of the lower, central units have views obstructed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisDTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the Gold Point Condominiums, we truly appreciate your feedback. Gold Point Condominiums has views that would drop any visitors jaw and the spacious decks really provide an excellent place for our guests to take them in at. We strive to maintain a high standard in all aspects of our business including the customer service we provide and the property we maintain. We are thrilled to hear our efforts have not gone un-noticed and that you enjoyed the property, its amazing views and close proximity to trails. Thank you so much for reviewing the Gold Point Condominiums, it’s much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We had a 3 Bedroom unit which was perfect. The kitchen was well appointed and the fact that each room had a humidifier made a HUGE difference. We also loved the gas-powered fireplace. The only issue we had was that the walls are thin, and we got to listen to our neighbors which got a little old, but fortunately only lasted a few days. One thing we enjoyed though was the daily visit of a small Red Fox. He was just looking for a snack, but he provided some beautiful pictures.

What makes it worth the stay though it clearly the views. Simply put...there was no bad view in the area given the fact that you are above town.

Speaking of town, you are only five minutes from Breckenridge, so you're close to everything!

Room Tip: MAKE SURE TO GET OXYGEN! We used 24Oxygen.com because we came from sea level. It saved the vacatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davidmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Gold Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the Gold Point Condominiums, we truly appreciate your feedback. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed the property, its high alpine location and its spacious units. We sincerely apologize for the disruption of your neighbors and hope it won’t dissuade you from visiting us again. In the future please feel free to bring these types of issues to the attention of our front desk staff and they will assist you in any way that they can. As you mentioned the views are truly unmatched and wildlife can be observed from the property. We look forward to having you as our guest for years to come. Thank you again for taking the time to review the Gold Point Condominiums, it’s much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Gold Point Condo’s sit several hundred feet above the great town of Breckenridge and is a few miles up Boreas Pass Road. The unit we stayed in was roomy and although not newly furnished it was more than adequate for us. This condo complex is out of town just enough to make you feel that you are, “up in the mountains”. The Summit County free bus even runs near by the units. This is a great town to visit at any time of year other than the “mud season” when the snow is melting. (late April & early May) If your goal is to be in the high country and still just a short drive or bus ride down to all the great activities in Breckenridge this is a good consideration.

Room Tip: Spring time with the wild flowers in Summit COunty / Breckenridge is a wonderful time to visit. Chec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank birdatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Gold Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the Gold Point Condominiums, we truly appreciate your feedback. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed the property, its high alpine location and its spacious units. As you mentioned the Summit County Free Bus stops right outside the complex which makes for easy transportation up and down Boreas Pass Road into town. This property is ideal for folks who want to get away from the hustle and bustle of down town Breckenridge and feel like they are truly in the mountains. The peaceful atmosphere is also ideal for sitting back and enjoying the breathtaking views of the Ten Mile Range. We are so glad to hear the property met your expectations and we look forward to having you as our guest for years to come. Thank you again for taking the time to review the Gold Point Condominiums, it’s much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Lots of problems with Gold Point. First, the construction. These condos were obviously built in the 1980's and there is absolutely no interior insulation. We could hear every footstep and conversation of our neighbors and when they flushed a toilet it sounded like a waterfall coming through our unit, enough to wake you up in the middle of the night. Second, the maintenance. Our outdoor light by the entrance was broken (not a burned out bulb but a photo cell problem) and despite the fact that we reported it the second day there, it was never repaired. Given the hard-packed snow and ice around the entrance this was a serious safety hazard. Finally, the elevation. Gold Point is about 1,000 feet higher than Breckenridge and that exacerbates the altitude sickness problem for people who live near sea level. We spent two nights in Denver before coming to Breckenridge and still had problems acclimating. BTW, there is no way you want to stay at Gold Point in the ski season without a 4x4 vehicle. Boreas Pass Road is not for the faint hearted, even in a Jeep.

On the positive side, the management is friendly and they seemed to want to provide a good vacation experience. But they just can't, given the age of the facilities.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Business_TravelerFFX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Gold Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the Gold Point Condominiums, we appreciate your feedback. We are sincerely sorry that you were disturbed by the guests in the neighboring apartment and the property did not meet your expectations. We truly appreciate having this opportunity to address the concerns you have shared. As you mentioned the majority of Gold Point Condominiums were built in the late 1980’s and early 1990’s. Keep in mind that as much as we wish we could do more updates all at once we do have a responsibility to be fiscally responsible for our owners and to make updates and replacements in phases and as necessary. We encourage guests who are experiencing any type of issue (maintenance, noise, housekeeping etc…) to notify our staff so that we can address the matter as soon as possible. It is our goal to provide an outstanding vacation experience, and we welcome the opportunity to address any issues. Our apologies that the photo cell on your exterior light was not fixed immediately, some repairs require outside vendors and are scheduled in as soon as possible. As you mentioned, Gold Point is located a few miles up from down town Breckenridge and does sit at a higher elevation which affords our guests gorgeous views of the Breckenridge Ski Resort but altitude sickness can be a concern to those coming up from sea level and a four wheel drive vehicle would be ideal for the commute. For altitude sickness we recommend drinking a lot of water on your way up and while you are here. Also, it is a good idea to have ibuprofen or Tylenol on hand in case of headaches. Altitude sickness is no fun and we apologize you had trouble acclimating. On a brighter note, we do pride ourselves on providing our guests with exceptional customer service and are thrilled to hear our efforts have not gone unnoticed. Keep in mind that Gold Point units are great for families and large groups; they are very spacious, have huge, fully-equipped kitchens, have amazing views and have great deck space. If you’re looking for something a little closer to town, lower in elevation and a little more modern we would love to have you as our guest at one of our other properties, either Grand Timber Lodge or the Grand Lodge on Peak 7. Thank you again for taking the time to review the Gold Point Condominiums, we truly appreciate the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We are staying at Gold Point Resort to ski over President's Week. We traded a Marriott Aruba Surf for this. Because I made the request so late we got a one bedroom for our 2 bedroom. I could not believe how large the unit was! It is much larger than any of the other timeshares I have stayed in over the years. The unit even has a "mud room" which for skiers is a real advantage. The parking was abundant. There is a garage for each unit right out the downstairs door and plenty of parking if more cars are with your party. It is a couple of miles out of town, but after you see how crowded the condos are in town, you will be happy for the peace and quiet. It is an easy drive, no more than 10 - 15 minutes to anywhere in town. You can take the free shuttle to the Gondola. It runs twice per hour during peak times. I would highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: I can only speak from my personal experience and rooms on the 8 and 7 side do have very good views o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happywoman93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Gold Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

Thank you for reviewing Gold Point Resort. We are so glad that it exceeded your expectations!
As you discovered the Gold Point units are very spacious, have huge, fully-equipped kitchens, and have great deck space. Again thank you for taking the time to review Gold Point Resort!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We stayed in a 3bd 3 ba condo after being upgraded for the Grand Lodge timeshare sales presentation. It exceeded our expectations because of the amount of room we had and the views from our deck! The kitchen was big enough for a few people to be in it at the same time and the condo had an open floor plan. The view from the deck was probably the best part and easily could fit 5 chairs out there. Everyone was super friendly and maintenance was eager to fix anything we had problems with. It was clean and had all the amenities you would want from a condo.
I would recommend this to someone that wants to stay out of the hustel and bustle of town but still be 10 minutes away. There is a free shuttle but we never took it since it was only a 10 minute drive. Overall it was wonderful and I would not hesitate going back in the summer or winter.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melody F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Gold Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review Gold Point Resort. We are so glad that it exceeded your expectations! The views are truly stunning. We are glad you we able to take advantage of the spacious deck to enjoy the view. Our goal is to make every guest feel like they are treasured guests and ensure that they are able to enjoy all the comforts of home, away from home. We are glad our staff met this expectation during your stay. Thanks again for writing a review of Gold Point Resort!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
2 mi away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 23 in Breckenridge
662 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#12 of 23 in Breckenridge
700 reviews
1.6 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
1.9 mi away
Beaver Run Resort and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Point Resort

Address: 53 View Lane, PO Box 568, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 69 Speciality Lodging in Breckenridge
Price Range: £251 - £362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gold Point Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spacious condominiums at Gold Point Resort are located 1,000 vertical feet above Breckenridge, CO. The spectacular views overlook the town, the Breckenridge Ski Resort, and the entire Ten Mile Range. Each full size unit offers vaulted ceilings, a gas fireplace, a large private deck, garage parking, a private ski locker, a fully equipped kitchen and much more! As a Gold Point guest, you will have access to the pool, spa and exercise facilities at the Breckenridge Recreation Center. You will also take pleasure relaxing in the on-site hot tubs after a long day experiencing all that the Rocky Mountains have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and LoveHolidays so you can book your Gold Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Point Hotel Breckenridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing