We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our family of five (plus grandma)”
Review of Wedgewood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wedgewood Lodge
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Breckenridge
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, TX
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for our family of five (plus grandma)”
Reviewed 15 February 2008

We just got back from a four-night trip to Breckenridge. With ski lessons for three children to pay for, I did not want to spend top dollar for lodging. Never having been to Breckenridge before, I was not really sure what to expect when I arrived and was a bit anxious about my choice of the Wegewood Lodge.

The location is fantastic; very close to snowflake lift and there is also a bus stop right in front of the lodge. The lobby was modest, but "homey". They always had coffee, tea and hot chocolate available, fireplace, books, and large screen TV in lodge. There was also a closet full of games and videos/DVDs to check out (free)--too bad I did not realize this until the last night.

We stayed in unit 524, a 3BR/3BA condo. It was very clean and very well-stocked. There was even a brand new humidifier in the unit. The decor was a bit sparse, but I wasn't there to look at the walls, I was there to ski and so were my kids. I would definitely recommend this unit to families. The only caution would be that one queen bedroom is on the ground floor and the other two (one queen and one w/ two twin beds) are on the top floor. So, if you don't want to be far away from your kids, you would need to take that into consideration.....

  • Liked — location to ski lift
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kjpnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    129
    18
    5
    5
See reviews for
272
146
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach Fl.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2008

This was our second time to Breckenridge and our first to Wedgewood. We did plan late in the year so we had to get what was available. New lesson...plan early.
The people in the front office were nice and very helpful and other than having a blessed time with family ,that is as good as it got.
I was very disappointed in the facility. Our condo or room was very old needed alot of updating. Very scarce with decorations and kitchen supplies. Carpet very old. very few pillows and cover.
Walls very thin and need painting.
Maybe it was just the condo we stayed in but to me I was very disappointed.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank skibunny39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid America
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2007

First time in Breackenridge. Stayed in a studio apt. Room was great for us. Stayed during "off season" and the room was about the lowest cost for our vacation. Had a hard time finding the lodge but maps worked and got us there.

  • Liked — Roomy, clean, low cost
  • Disliked — Climbing the hill from the city.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2007

We booked a last minute (2 weeks before) ski vacation to Breckenridge. We booked via the Vail.com resort web site. For 3 of us, we found a 2-bedroom, 2 1/2 bath townhouse condo at the Wedgewood lodge that fit our budget.

The condo was a 2-story townhouse. Downstairs was a 1-car garage, a fully stocked kitched (no food), dining room for 6, living room with TV and gas fireplace and sleeper sofa (didn't use) and a large powder room with a stacked washer and dryer in a closet. Upstairs was a master bedroom with a queen bed and spacious master bathroom. There was an upstairs balcony off of the master bedroom. Also upstairs was a 2nd bedroom with two twins, and a 2nd full bathroom in the hallway.

The complex is located about 1/2 block from the snowflake lift, and about 2 blocks from "downtown" Breckenridge. We walked to both the ski lift in the morning, found the ski-home trail (4 O'Clock run) which put us across the street from the complex, and were able to walk into town each evening for dinner and souvenir shopping.

The only reason for a rental car was to hit the grocery store, and for our one day when we drove to Keystone (15 minutes away) for some different skiing. But we enjoyed skiing at Breckenridge so much better, we didn't mind skiing 5 of our 6 days there!

Our townhouse was separate from the "main" Wedgewood lodge building that housed a large, indoor hot tub. There is also a dry sauna that we didn't use, but looked decent. Separate mens and womens locker rooms are nearby. An outdoor hot tub is located outside the main lodge in a "gazebo" looking extension of the outside deck. But this hot tub is very small, and only holds about 4 or 5 people. We enjoyed the larger, indoor hot tub after a day of skiing.

The few employees of the lodge that we saw were polite and attentive to our needs. We found the price to be reasonable (part of a package deal through the resort). We would go back to the Wedgewood lodge again, if the price and availability were there.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Faulty Stove
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank royski69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2006

I've never stayed anywhere so dirty. Our shower had a chunk of hair on the wall, apparently they forgot to clean it. Everything in it was so old and worn down. There was NO water pressure at all. The toilets barely worked. Only one person could use the bathroom every hour b/c it took so long for the tank to fill up. Eventually one of the toilets stopped working. The parking is awful if you have more than one car. You only get one permit and then you are on your own to find other overnight parking in town. We wasted 3 or 4 hours of our weekend shuttling people back and forth to their parking space on the other end of town. I guess the think 10 people will drive one car up there. I've stayed in breck before and never have i stayed at a place like this. Just GHETTO. Only positive thing about it is snowflake lift was a few yards away.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank vailbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2006

Did a quick trip out to Breck and the Wedgewood had a good deal on short notice. The Wedgewood is about 100 yards from the Snowflake lift and about 3 blocks from Main street. The staff was friendly and there is a nice room with a gas fireplace in the lobby. They have a bowl of fruit at the front desk and laundry services in the basement. There are 2 hot tubs. One indoors and one outdoors with a dry sauna indoors as well. The walls are somewhat thin but we had no issues with noise. There is parking in an indoor parking garage but the space is limited. You really don't need a car once you are in Breck. There is a free shuttle bus that has a stop right near the Condo.

The rooms are worn and the bed was worn and there was no hair dryer but a call to the front desk provided us with one. No shampoo products, just soap. Maid service is an extra free. The room size and bathroom were fine. They have storage lockers in the garage. Overall a good value and location with a friendly staff. Would stay here again for the price.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Toadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 March 2005

Just came back from Breckenridge where we stayed at the Wedgewood Lodge. Our condo was great and came with pots, pans, & all other kitchen utensils. The down side was the sleeper sofas. Ouch! We put an air mattress under the sleeper mattress and that helped a little bit. We also used the couch cushions and that made it bearable. Everything else was great. They have covered parking and are just minutes from Main St. Check out time is 10:00 a.m. but they have a holding room for your luggage if you plan on staying in town until later that day. They also have showers available to use after you have checked out. A great experience, except for those sleeper sofas!

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
0.4 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
1.1 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#11 of 23 in Breckenridge
678 reviews
0.8 mi away
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Breckenridge
Residence Inn Breckenridge
#12 of 23 in Breckenridge
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wedgewood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wedgewood Lodge

Property: Wedgewood Lodge
Address: 535 Four O'Clock Rd, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Breckenridge
#2 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
#4 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wedgewood Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at the Wedgewood Lodge we offer comfortable, welcoming accommodations that provide all the conveniences of home. With both condominium and townhome style options to choose from, you can plan a romantic getaway for two or an affordable family vacation... Without sacrificing the perfect location! We are family owned and operated, providing an intimate lodging experience to make your Breckenridge vacation complete. Located right across the street, the Snowflake Chairlift provides Wedgewood guests access directly up to Breckenridge Ski Resort. Our convenient slopeside location also allows you to ski back down to the Lodge via the Four O'Clock Run trail at the end of the day or for a quick lunch in the comfort of your own unit! After a fun day on the slopes, wander a short 3 blocks down to historic Main Street to experience the unique dining, shopping and nightlife of Breckenridge. The Wedgewood Lodge offers units ranging in size from efficient studio condominiums to spacious three bedroom townhomes with everything in between. Each unit comes with a fully equipped kitchen, 32" flat screen TV, cable, DVD/VCR player, and stereo/CD player. All units on property have a private or shared balcony, hide-a-bed sofa and FREE Wi-Fi. Gas fireplaces come standard in every unit with the exception of Studios. As a guest, you'll be able to enjoy our on-site amenities including underground parking (1 car per unit please!), Indoor/outdoor hot tubs, dry sauna, ski lockers, coin operated laundry and a complimentary selection of movies, books, and games. Offsite outdoor heated swimming pool access is also available at the Upper Village Pool. When you choose to stay at the Wedgewood Lodge, our exceptional local staff will attend to all of your needs with recommendations, uncompromising service and enthusiasm! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Wedgewood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wedgewood Hotel Breckenridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing