We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfortable room, great views”
Review of Wedgewood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wedgewood Lodge
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Breckenridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We just got back from our trip to Breckenridge, Co. This was our third year in a row staying in Breckenridge, but the first time in three years we had to stay at a different hotel.

I was pretty hesitant to stay elsewhere. Why you ask? I'm a creature of habit, I like what I know, but unfortunately our usual hotel/condo decided to throw caution to the wind and triple their prices, so we had to improvise. Needless to say, I wasn't thrilled when we had to look for an alternate place to stay for our ski trip.

After lots of research, using tripadvisor.com, google, price comparison, etc. I found a great deal online for Wedgewood Lodge. The reviews seemed pretty good, location appeared to be great, and the views looked awesome. So with a click of a button our fate was sealed and we booked our stay at Wedgewood Lodge.

When we arrived at the hotel, the outside appeared to be exactly as advertised. The property (with snow) was nicely maintained and the parking under the lodge was convenient. Check-in was a breeze, I didn't catch the lady's name, but she was helpful and since we arrived early, she said they'd call us when our room was ready. She was nice enough to store our luggage, so we could walk to grab some lunch.

On a side note, the lobby was lovely (decorated for Christmas). Wedgewood also has a nice common area, fully equipped with a fireplace, tables, games, movies, etc.

An hour later we received a call and we headed back to grab our keys and go to our room. We stayed in a studio room, which had all the basic necessities one needs for a five day stay: full kitchen (refrigerator, microwave, stove, oven, pots, pans, coffee maker, etc.), bed, couch, recliner, porch, couch, TV, table, and bathroom. The best part of the room was the view from the porch. We had a wonderful view of the mountains.

The bed was comfortable, as was the room. The only complaint I have is the room's bathtub. While I only showered, the tub didn't drain properly and the shower pressure wasn't great. Did we let the front desk know? No, because I didn't want to be bothered, but just an FYI to Tonti Management, please check on the shower/tub in room 310.

Other than that, our stay was great. Wedgewood is a short walk to town (restaurants, shops, etc.) and an even shorter walk to the ski lift (4 o'clock run), so if you own/rent your skis, you have a shorter walk to hit the slopes.

Pros: Great views, comfortable rooms, helpful/pleasant staff, close to town and gondolas.

Cons: Bathroom tub didn't drain (Hey folks, this isn't a deal breaker).

Would I come back? You betcha.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CostaRicaChica75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (659)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

540 - 546 of 659 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Wonderful location, within walking distance to anything we needed. (Although the temperature was hardly above 0 all weekend). Employees were knowledge and helpful. Rooms comfortable with good views of the mountains. Highly recommend Wedgewood. We will be returning.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GTI2488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I returned Dec 2 2013 from Breckenridge, and the loft condo room (sleeps 6) with fireplace at the Wedgewood Lodge was in a word 'perfect'. The downstairs has a fold-out couch and a daybed with a trundle bed under it, super comfortable mattresses. Upstairs is a big bedroom. it does get warm at night upstairs. The balcony is nice with a beautiful mountain view. There is a spiral staircase going into the loft which might be hard to climb after skiing all day. Nice bathroom upstairs and down. Bring your blowdryer, I dont think they provided one.
ADVICE: During the warmer non-ice and snow months the walk up to the lift must seem very short because other reviews described it as 'next door'. Well trust me it is not next door! Its a (long) at least 100 yard walk up an icy sidewalk! The bus stop is up there by the ski lift. Apparently they don't use much salt or sand around there on the ice and walking is a challenge. Microspikes would be great, or good traction shoes. Also the Snowflake Lift did not got to easy slopes. (blues and blacks only). Riding the bus to get to the lift where there are green slopes means a lot more walking. ADVICE: if you are a skiier BRING SHOES and ski with shoes in a backpack and you will have shoes to walk in. Snowboarders have comfy boots but ski boots are hard to walk in and you will have to walk a lot if you stay at Wedgewood Lodge.
It is not a ski-in situation.
The parking Garage is nice with lockers, and the staff is wonderful. There is a laundry room with washers and dryers at a dollar a load in the garage and detergent in a vending machine.
I never saw a grocery store (im sure there is one somewhere) but I was glad we brought groceries from Denver.
The lobby bathroom has a shower and they let us stay parked and use the bath at the end of our last ski-day even though we had checked out that morning.
Very accomodating staff and a very nice place to stay! a huge lodge-room with games and big fireplace and big TV in the lobby, but I never saw anybody in there. Free coffee/tea was always available in the lobby. The hot tubs (inside and out) and the sauna were all nice and clean with towels provided. I would stay there again and have some shoes so I dont have to walk in ski boots.

Room Tip: 411 has a beautiful mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank annajriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TontiMgt, Front Office Manager at Wedgewood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Good morning AnnaJRiley,

Thank you so much for the detailed review!

I did want to let you in on a few helpful hints to make your next visit much easier!

We do offer hair dryers. You are correct, we don’t keep them in the rooms, but have them at our front desk and would be more than happy to get you on during your next visit.

Also, the Snowflake Lift is right across our neighboring street Kings Crown Road, although can seem longer if you walk out from our lower garage door. A nice short cut is if you take a left from our lobby entrance, and walk the small path between our town homes. That way it’s a shorter walk to the lift, and cuts out having to walk on the sidewalk in ski boots. It ends up being just short a two-minute walk. We are definitely a ski in location although in the early season it is very weather dependent on when 4 O’clock Run will open. Just yesterday, December 9th, the snow guns were fired up, and I believe the ski run will be open by tomorrow. Otherwise, there is a free town bus that runs 3 times an hour from Peaks 8 and 9 that drops folks off right below the Snowflake Lift. I hope that you make it back this season to experience how much more convenient it truly is to have 4 O’clock Run open! We are very excited for it to open this week.

The City Market grocery store is just over a half mile from our front door, just past the gondola on Park Ave.

I hope your group had a nice birthday weekend, and we hope to see you again very soon!

Think snow,

Sarah
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

My son and I spent five nights at the Wedgewood last week visiting Breckenridge. We had a room with loft and fireplace, it was so cosy. The room was perfect, it provided some privacy and the luxury of two baths. We were there for three perfect autumn days and then watched two days as snow coated the landscape. We enjoyed off season rates so it was a great value.The staff were helpful, answering questions and attending to room needs. The location is great you can walk to Main Street or take advantage of the free bus on the corner.

Room Tip: We had a great view from our balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jody897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

It's always so nice to open the door to a vacation place and everyone says "wow!". We rented a one bedroom with loft (queen bedroom and loft with queen bed). Very clean and plenty of room for 6 people (pull out sofa). Nice small kitchen with all the needed dishes, utensils, etc. Unit is across the street from a ski lift in a residential area and there is a free bus to town (walkable too) and other ski lifts. Hot tubs were clean with one inside and one outside. Best feature - parking under the units - heated and so nice when it snows overnight!

Room Tip: higher units may have nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarterCasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I stayed at the Wedgewood Lodge for 5 nights leading up to the UROC 100k race in September. The accommodations were quiet, clean, and very comfortable. The lodge was within walking distance to town, unlimited trail heads for running, and was beautiful with the changing of the leaves. I would certainly stay here again without question and look into it for a winter ski trip with its proximity to the Snowflake lift as well.

The management staff was very kind and accommodating with any and all requests we had during our stay. Thank you!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank shopgirl241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My daughter and I spent last weekend at the Wedgewood Lodge. We had such a good time. Our one bedroom unit was spacious, comfortable and well equipped. Also, the staff was terrific - friendly and informative. We were there during "mud" season so it was pretty quiet. The only negative was that our couch was starting to show a little wear and wasn't super comfortable. I can't wait for a chance to go back for a visit!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
1.1 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
793 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
0.4 mi away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#12 of 23 in Breckenridge
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Village Hotel
The Village Hotel
#18 of 23 in Breckenridge
238 reviews
0.8 mi away
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
0.4 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wedgewood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wedgewood Lodge

Address: 535 Four O'Clock Rd, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
#4 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range: £207 - £351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wedgewood Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at the Wedgewood Lodge we offer comfortable, welcoming accommodations that provide all the conveniences of home. With both condominium and townhome style options to choose from, you can plan a romantic getaway for two or an affordable family vacation... Without sacrificing the perfect location! We are family owned and operated, providing an intimate lodging experience to make your Breckenridge vacation complete. Located right across the street, the Snowflake Chairlift provides Wedgewood guests access directly up to Breckenridge Ski Resort. Our convenient slopeside location also allows you to ski back down to the Lodge via the Four O'Clock Run trail at the end of the day or for a quick lunch in the comfort of your own unit! After a fun day on the slopes, wander a short 3 blocks down to historic Main Street to experience the unique dining, shopping and nightlife of Breckenridge. The Wedgewood Lodge offers units ranging in size from efficient studio condominiums to spacious three bedroom townhomes with everything in between. Each unit comes with a fully equipped kitchen, 32" flat screen TV, cable, DVD/VCR player, and stereo/CD player. All units on property have a private or shared balcony, hide-a-bed sofa and FREE Wi-Fi. Gas fireplaces come standard in every unit with the exception of Studios. As a guest, you'll be able to enjoy our on-site amenities including underground parking (1 car per unit please!), Indoor/outdoor hot tubs, dry sauna, ski lockers, coin operated laundry and a complimentary selection of movies, books, and games. Offsite outdoor heated swimming pool access is also available at the Upper Village Pool. When you choose to stay at the Wedgewood Lodge, our exceptional local staff will attend to all of your needs with recommendations, uncompromising service and enthusiasm! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wedgewood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wedgewood Hotel Breckenridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing