We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, especially for the cost!”
Review of Skiway Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Skiway Lodge
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Breckenridge
Reviewed 4 January 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the SkiWay Lodge for 6 nights between the day after Christmas and New Years Day. The lodge is very nicely decorated and clean, although the place is not staffed 24/7. When the staff were there, they were very attentive and appeared eager to help if we needed anything. As other people have mentioned before, the lodge is Ski-In but not ski-out, which is not that uncommon for the area and definitely couldn't be found in the same price range as ski-way. The only drawback of the place was the lack of an elevator to the third floor (only went to the second) and the uphill walk from the Breckenridge Village as the bus only comes about once every 15 minutes and that's how long it takes to just walk downtown.

Overall, it was a great, affordable place to stay in Breckenridge!

Room Tip: Rooms 1 -4 are on the 3rd floor, where there is no elevator. If that is important to you choose room...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
There are newer reviews for Skiway Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2012

I can't believe more people don't know about this place!
Skiway Lodge has it all. A perfect location (short walk to downtown, on bus route to mountain and ski-in/ski-out), excellent value, comfortable beds and stylish new furniture, 2 fantastic hot tubs...Skiway Lodge dots every "i" & crosses every "t".
Look no further, this is your new favorite place!
Thank you for everything, we will be back!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with this place.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AddMoreWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

This is our second time to stay at the Skiway Lodge and we have loved both visits! It is like a secluded inn with rich leather and wood furnishings. Multiple common areas, attractively appointed. Fireplace in common room and in most bedroom suites. Our suite easily accomodated the three in our family by using the sleeper sofa. We enjoyed the hot tub each afternoon after skiing. Common area has dishes, glassware, and hot drinks - with refrig in room, you can easily do your own breakfast and happy hours! Very convenient for both skiing and walking to historic Main Street. We plan to return here many times!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebraP198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkiWayFrontDesk, General Manager at Skiway Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2013

Glad you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for the feedback and hope to have you with us again soon, cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

My girlfriend and I have stayed here a number of times the past few winters and love it more each time! We really enjoy the seclusion of the woods and hot tubs, while being only a two blocks from downtown (Main St). The office?front desk isn't staffed 24/7, but the owner and employees were very helpful when we did see them with questions. Tip: Read the check in info - The lodge is ski-in/ski-out, however, taking the free bus (across the street from the lodge) up the hill to the base of Peak 7 or 8 to get to the slopes is a MUCH easier option, rather than skiing down to the gondola. At the end of the day, from Peak 8, ski down Four O'Clock Run and stay left to SkyWay SkiWay (to gondola), the lodge is on the right.

Room Tip: Suite 3, on the top floor, with its four post bed, fireplace and balcony is the nicest room we'v...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank P0wderDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

If you want to be steps away from the charm of downtown Breck, yet feel like you are tucked away in the forrest, this is a great place to stay. The rooms are lovely, the hot tub is grand, and you can park your car once you arrive and walk to hiking, dinner and skiing.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the main road.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DD-Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights in Feb for a ski trip. We (2 people) took the shuttle in from Denver and found our door key taped to the front door of the lodge. There were instructions enclosed for everything we needed during our stay taped to the front door. The room was on the small side for 2 people but very comfortable. The lodge is beautifully decorated and furnished from bedroom to common areas. Everything was extremely clean. The common eating area had tea, coffee, juice, hot/cold water, ice, cookies, oatmeal and silverware, dishes/glasses and everything you could need. No actual sink or cooking area though but there was a microwave and fridge in our room. Common lounge area on the 1st and 2nd floors had board games, TVs and a warm fireplace and I remember seeing a computer too but didn't use it. We didn't use the hot tubs but it looked fine and several other people did and they seemed to enjoy it. There was an elevator that goes only to the 2nd floor but I couldn't get it to work - storage room for skis/boards is on 2nd floor. We carried skis & snowboards up to our 3rd floor bedroom (didn't see storage room until later) also our luggage - luckily, we packed light. The bus stop is just 3 minutes walk down the street and takes you to all the main lifts, depending on which bus you get on (easy to figure out since bus lines are colour coded). Fifteen minutes walk to main street where all the shops, rental places and restaurants are located.
I didn't really mind the lack of staff around because we didn't need additional services (the maid did make up the room everyday and that was all I needed), in fact, it felt more personal that nobody was around because it felt like we were guests in someone's (very nice) home rather than a hotel/lodge. The lodge was full (I could tell for the many cars parked in front) but I didn't hear anyone, maybe just for a little bit of talking while they were outside in the hot tub area but it didn't bother me at all.
I wasn't sure what to expect when we decided on this place but it was great. Good location, comfortable and had everything we needed during our stay. The only thing was we wished there was a supermarket close by to buy some fruits and snacks (I found one but very expensive and extremely limited selection). If you are driving here, I would recommend stocking up on whatever snacks/food you want before arriving as very limited selection around the lodge. Overall, a great stay, great trip and I will definitely return next year.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank canadiankiwi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights mid April, but wish we could have stayed longer. The lodge's location is great, close to everything, yet seems tucked away. Cozy on the outside, Skiway's interior is more tastefully and elegantly decorated than expected. It was a joy to stay in the spacious room with beautiful furnishings, an oversized armoire, romantic lighting, a king size four post bed, a luxurious leather sofa, gas fireplace, flat screen TV and a lovely balcony with french doors overlooking pines and the way into town. Waking up to views of fresh fallen snow each morning only added to the beauty of our room.
The whole hotel was very clean and the 4 staff members we met were all very friendly and gave great suggestions for restaurants and things to do. (Breakfast burritos at Coffee Depot are awesome and Blue River Bistro was great for Sunday brunch). The outdoor hot tubs were also great and relaxing and we felt pampered with the terry robes and slippers provided.
Looking forward to returning to Skiway Lodge soon, as I know Breckenridge is just as beautiful in summer as in winter!

Room Tip: Request the room with the king size 4 posted bed and balcony with fireplace. Sooooo romantic!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaryWatertown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
1.3 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
770 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Village Hotel
The Village Hotel
#16 of 23 in Breckenridge
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#12 of 23 in Breckenridge
692 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 23 in Breckenridge
612 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skiway Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skiway Lodge

Address: 275 Ski Hill Road, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Breckenridge
#8 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range: £103 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Skiway Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SkiWay Lodge is an elegant ten suite mountain retreat located 2 blocks from Main Street in the historic gold-mining town of Breckenridge, Colorado. The lodge has ski-in and ski-out access, an ideal location for dining, nightlife, shopping, hiking, biking, and sightseeing any month of the year. You'll love the privacy of SkiWay Lodge while still staying downtown! General Information: Two Outdoor Hot Tubs, Ski to the back door on 'SkyWay SkiWay' off 'Four O'Clock Run' from Peak 8 - Easy, Free Ride Bus Stop less than a block away, Close to Main Street and Park Ave shops, restaurants, activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Skiway Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skiway Hotel Breckenridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing