We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Skiway Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Skiway Lodge
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Breckenridge
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

Wife and I stayed there for two nights. This is a very good value. Ski in was really cool. Ski out down to tunnell and walk over to gondola. Down the hill from the shuttle and 1.5 blocks from Main Street… This place is very self directed and staff is rarely there. Everyone else we talked to enjoyed their stay as well. You can't beat it for the price.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Binwinut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkiWayFrontDesk, Manager at Skiway Lodge, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Thank you for the feedback! We love hearing our guests opinions of the property. We do appreciate you letting everyone know that we do offer a great place to stay without breaking the bank. You may also be happy to know that we now have a full time manager on duty so you will be able to experience a more personalized welcome upon check in. Hope to see you again soon!

Thank You,
Kylee Sklanka
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    44
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
11
80
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
del ray ,fla
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Read about this on Trip Advisor....was very satisfied....beds were comfy....BUT communication w/the front desk by phone is hard to get! So make sure you book on line. Also there is an elevator for the first and second floor only! My room was on the 3rd floor and with such a high elevation I would recommend to pack lightly! My husband had to lay down after hauling up my heavy luggage...THANK YOU HUSBAND!

Room Tip: We had room #4..although it is on the cozy side it was located in the back and was quiet....blocked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sk1gypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkiWayFrontDesk, Manager at Skiway Lodge, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Thank you for the helpful review! I consider this the perfect opportunity to let you know that we now have a full-time manager on duty. This will ensure easy communication between lodge staff and guests prior to check in, and throughout the length of their stay. We hope to see your and your husband again in the future and we will be sure to note a suite on the second floor would be best :)

Thank You,

Kylee Sklanka
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2013

My husband and I just returned from Ski Way Lodge in Breck. We stayed 5 nights in room 5 and were very impressed. Having stayed in many ski in ski out facilities, this was a welcomed pleasant surprise. Staff is very low key and most accommodating. Rooms are lovely, cozy, and extremely quiet. Hot tubs are HOT and public rooms very comfortable. I can't wait to return. Price and location can't be beat.

Room Tip: 3rd level rooms do not have elevator access. Room 5 has great windows and light. It faces road but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldenOlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

A very unusual but smart way to lodge! Like the other reviewers said, there is no true front desk and there is minimal interaction with people. Which is why I gave 3 stars for service, because there really isn't much "service" that you get. However this place was great in that the price was good, the beds were comfy the showers were decent and it's really all we needed for a weekend getaway to go riding on Breck. We did see one guy with a funky mustache around 5:00 PM sitting in the front office he was very friendly and helpful he said that he is only there for a couple hours here & there and the lodge and he works another job at Sevens Restaurant by peak 7. We stayed in room 2 which was not huge, the bed took up most of the room but there are 2 small closets, large, TV, a microwave & fridge. If our other favorite place to stay in Breck is booked, (which is a VRBO rental) we would def. stay here again as well.

Room Tip: Not sure what the other room sizes are like, but room 2 is not very big, but it is cozy and did its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJpancakeeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We stayed in suite 9 at the lodge. We had three of us...one each in the twin beds, and one on the pull out couch. The room was comfortable, but a little small, especially with the couch pulled out. We were able to leave our skis and boots in a separate room upstairs which was nice. Unfortunately there was not a lot of room to dry our wet clothing at the end of the day. Partly, of course, this was because there were three of us in a small room. Some hooks on the walls would have been nice.

The lodge has great amenities, including coffee and tea, dishes, glasses, and utensils to use, and a few large sitting rooms. The bus to the slopes is about 50 feet from the lodge, and you can ski back via 4 o'clock run. The lodge is close to town, but we chose to drive because it was very icy and dark on the road at night.

There was not always someone at the main desk, as has been mentioned before, but we had no problem with this at all. In fact, at any time we did need help, there was always someone there, and they were very friendly and helpful.

I've stayed at other places in Breck, and would definitely choose to return to the Skiway if/when I go back. Overall, its a good value and comfortable lodgings.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank trianne81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fitchburg, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

My husband and I just stayed here the first week of March and it was absolutely perfect. It's not spelled out anywhere how easy it is to 'ski out' to the gondola. Right outside the back of the lodge, there is a stairway leading up to the tail end of the four o'clock run, which goes all the way down to the Gondola South Parking lot, located across the street from the Gondola that goes up to Peak 7 and Peak 8. It literally takes like 5 minutes to get down to the gondola. Once you're ready to head back to the lodge, hop on the four o'clock run, stay left to head towards the gondola at the split off, and Skiway is on your right. If you would rather take the free bus up to the Peaks, the bus stops right across the street. The room was clean, well decorated, comfortable; there was awesome water pressure in the shower. The place was quiet. The hot tubs were nice; however there was no propane tank for the fireplace outside. The lodge is only a 1 1/2 blocks from Main Street, and these are short blocks; it took less than 5 minutes to walk to Main Street. If you're pretty independent when traveling, this is the place to go. Staff is not there everyday; we saw two staff members towards the end of the week. If you arrive when no one is around, it's basically self check-in and self check-out. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend Skiway Lodge.

Room Tip: Our room 4 faced the back where you can't see the mountains. You see the Four O'clock Run. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

This is a very nice clean hotel in Breckenridge. Jake will take care of you. Our room #3 nice size, with fireplace, very nice style king bed & furniture, with frig, microwave, coffeepot,& a balcony, with view of the mountains. Parking in the front of the hotel. You can walk down the hill to town which is 3 blocks away, which is fine during the day, but in the winter at night could be tricky on the snow/ice on the side walk. With the dry air it is normal that you will have to run your humidifier which is supplied for you in your room. If you read other reviews I will confirm that you will have to carry your luggage up the stairway to your floor. Note that rooms 1 thru 6 are on the 3rd floor ! Some rooms face Ski Hill Road and you will hear traffic noise, due to that this is the main road to Peak # 7 & 8. The shuttle system works great, & you can catch the shuttle 50 yards down the hill which comes 5 times during the hour 7 will take you to Peak 7 & 8. You can ski back on 4 o'clock trail to the hotel. Only one note there should be a desk or table in our room. WE enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: Ski Way has a very nice web site to help you select the room style you would like to book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeylonKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
0.1 mi away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#10 of 23 in Breckenridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
1.3 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Village Hotel
The Village Hotel
#16 of 23 in Breckenridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Breckenridge
Residence Inn Breckenridge
#12 of 23 in Breckenridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skiway Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skiway Lodge

Property: Skiway Lodge
Address: 275 Ski Hill Road, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Breckenridge
#8 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Skiway Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SkiWay Lodge is an elegant ten suite mountain retreat located 2 blocks from Main Street in the historic gold-mining town of Breckenridge, Colorado. The lodge has ski-in and ski-out access, an ideal location for dining, nightlife, shopping, hiking, biking, and sightseeing any month of the year. You'll love the privacy of SkiWay Lodge while still staying downtown! General Information: Two Outdoor Hot Tubs, Ski to the back door on 'SkyWay SkiWay' off 'Four O'Clock Run' from Peak 8 - Easy, Free Ride Bus Stop less than a block away, Close to Main Street and Park Ave shops, restaurants, activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Skiway Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skiway Hotel Breckenridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing