We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“September Stay”
Review of Skiway Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Skiway Lodge
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Breckenridge
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Great place, quaint and well kept. We like the decor of the room and the little balcony with a table and chairs to enjoy a cocktail on. Close to town; can walk to all the great shops. Too much chlorine in hot tub though. Also would prefer an earlier check in time and later check out time.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the back side. We've been here twice now and this last time we were on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kristi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkiWayFrontDesk, Manager at Skiway Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Thank you for the feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

This lodge is within short walking distance to downtown, and for skiing on to the slopes in the winter. Room #3 is particularly nice, with a king bed and sofa sleeper. The gas fireplace and private balcony are a bonus. A good sized fridge and microwave in the room, with dishes available in the common area. Nice hot tubs. Very few guests during our weekday summer visit last week, but it's already filling up for ski season.

A good price for all you get.

Room Tip: While room #3 is nice with a view, it is on the front side, which means road noise. If you need qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLPCLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Great Location and Good value compared with other similar accommodation in Breck. Our room was clean tidy and well appointed. This is not a full service hotel but if you want a good room in a good location at a good price give it a try.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve and Hayle... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkiWayFrontDesk, Manager at Skiway Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2013

Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We visited in late July, early August and the temperatures outside were quite pleasant. Low 40s at night and low to mid 70s during the day. Unfortunately, the temperature inside the lodge and especially our room (unit 3) was well into the upper 80s! We are from South Florida and know a thing or two about heat particularly the need to open windows and air out the building when you don't have AC. The temperature in our room made sleeping very uncomfortable made worse by the outside traffic noise due to fact that we had to keep our windows and balcony door open in order to cool off the place. Even after borrowing an oscillating fan, the room would not cool off until 3-4 in the morning. All of this is a shame as the room itself was quite nice with an oversized (and slightly out of place) four post king size bed, a great leather sofa with pull out bed and a gas powered fireplace which was rendered useless. It is withing easy walking distance to downtown and a short drive to the free gondola ride. Now I realize that buildings in Colorado are designed to keep the heat in, especially during the long winters, however this lodge was unusually warm compared to other places we stayed at in Colorado. I cannot really give it a poor rating because of the decor and location but it was a struggle to give it an "average" rating. Come winter time I presume I would rate it much higher.

Room Tip: If you are planning on visting during the summer, make sure you get a room that does NOT face the hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gables79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I had room #3 - a NICE big room with a private balcony, comfy furniture and bed. I really like my stay there. It had a nice laid-back, non-chain feel, yet felt very posh. It's in a great location, just about 1/4 or so off Main. The building is located a little further up Ski Hill Rd than is suggested by the map they give you, so persist just slightly up hill and around the corner and you'll find it.

Ski Hill road is a busy road, so brace for a bit of traffic noise. Also, my room had no A/C (that I could find, anyway), and no way to pull in cool mtn air in the afternoon and evening, so it would up being almost uncomfortably warm. The plumbing in this particular room was not up to the high standard set by the rest of the room - it took some fiddling to turn each of the sink taps off (and they dripped no matter what) and the shower head was pretty low-end and gave a pretty low-pressure/volume stream. Neither plumbing issue was a big deal, just very inconsistent with how nice the rest of the stay experience was.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms on the back side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripmangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkiWayFrontDesk, Manager at Skiway Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Thank you for the feedback, we appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Skiway Lodge was recommended by an in-town friend and we could not have been more pleased with our accommodations. Being summer, the rates were down as were the number of other guests - only two others on premise. We were the only guests on the top floor (it took more than a few trips up the stairs to get acclimated!) which was fine with us. We were easily within walking distance of restaurants and shops, however the uphill climb back to the Lodge was more than these Flat-Landers were ready for! Kylee at the front desk is a gem! - pleasantly available with information and suggestions. We were in Suite 4, a lovely non-suite king room with a deck that was sunny, private and surrounded by Apens. The 2nd floor lounge was beautifully decorated and had everything you could need...cookies, coffee, wine glasses, comfy furniture and a deck. This was our first "Boutique Hotel" and we loved it!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I hate to give a negative review of this hotel, because it really is beautiful. But...I think summer is not the ideal time of year to try to stay here. The entire building was really hot (we arrived mid-week and all the windows were closed except for those in our room and there is no ac or ceiling fan). By the time we left on Sunday, temperatures were more bearable due to being aired out by other guests. The other major drawback (at least when you have to have your windows open) is that the hotel is located on a truck route; so it is VERY noisy at night (especially in any room that directly faces the road).

There are no blackout curtains, so the lights from the road at night and the bright sun in the morning can be an issue if you are a light sleeper (as I am, apparently).

If you didn't have to have the windows open, the road noise might not be an issue--in which case, it is a lovely place to stay.

The other kind of minor issue was that the hot tubs were both set to 104 and couldn't be adjusted. We were traveling with kids, so I did not request any changes, so I'm not sure whether that could have been resolved or not (the owner/cleaning person is available usually in the mornings, it seemed like).

The reason why I'm writing this negative review is that we reserved our room here based on the shining reviews that have been previously written and were very disappointed that no one has mentioned the noise and heat before.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms along the road if you will need your windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HotinColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
0.5 mi away
The Village Hotel
The Village Hotel
#18 of 23 in Breckenridge
236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#12 of 23 in Breckenridge
697 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
0.3 mi away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 23 in Breckenridge
638 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skiway Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skiway Lodge

Address: 275 Ski Hill Road, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Breckenridge
#8 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range: £107 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Skiway Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SkiWay Lodge is an elegant ten suite mountain retreat located 2 blocks from Main Street in the historic gold-mining town of Breckenridge, Colorado. The lodge has ski-in and ski-out access, an ideal location for dining, nightlife, shopping, hiking, biking, and sightseeing any month of the year. You'll love the privacy of SkiWay Lodge while still staying downtown! General Information: Two Outdoor Hot Tubs, Ski to the back door on 'SkyWay SkiWay' off 'Four O'Clock Run' from Peak 8 - Easy, Free Ride Bus Stop less than a block away, Close to Main Street and Park Ave shops, restaurants, activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Skiway Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skiway Hotel Breckenridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing