We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but no sound-proofing”
Review of Skiway Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Skiway Lodge
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Breckenridge
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good location, but no sound-proofing”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My husband and I booked four nights at Skiway lodge after reading positive reviews on Tripadvisor. It describes itself as a 'boutique hotel', but it is really more of a guest house. We were greeted by the friendly manager who explained that she was the only staff member and that she worked until 6 pm and after that to call her mobile. We checked into room 7 on the 2nd floor. The room was spacious and well decorated, but we were immediately concerned by the proximity to the 'lounge area'. It was also extremely warm in the room and there was no means of controlling the heat. We had to sleep with two windows open and it was snowing outside.

The hotel is well located for walking into town for dinner (there's a bus outside to take you to the slopes) and well decorated, but unfortunately I can't give the hotel a good review because my husband and I did not get one good night's sleep. The building has clearly been converted from a house into a hotel and unfortunately there has been no work done to sound-proof the rooms/walls/doors. We were awoken the first night by guests speaking at a normal volume (not loud) in the lounge area. They were apologetic when we went out and explained that we could hear everything they were saying and they kindly moved their conversation downstairs. On the second night we awoken by guests in the room above us speaking in a reasonable volume in their own room (albeit at about 2 in the morning). Because there is no concierge there was no one for us to call about the noise. We were moved upstairs after complaining the next day, but we could still hear every door open and shut in the building.

One other minor complaint is that although the hotel is clean, the maid service consisted only our trash being emptied.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scotland4211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    44
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
11
80
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My daughter goes to college in Co. I wanted to spend a long weekend with her, so she thought it would be great to have a mother-daughter weekend in Breckenridge. At first I thought we wouldn't be able to because lodging was so expensive. Then I found SkiWay Lodge. $99.00/night! There are 10 units in this boutique hotel. The online pictures and description looked lovely. I decided to go for it.

Arrival: There is a very small parking lot in front of the hotel. I guess there is room for one car/suite. Kylee was there to greet us, although she would soon be leaving for the night. Staff are not on premise round the clock. She did leave a phone number in case of emergency. There is a very small elevator that goes from 1st to 2nd floor. Our room was on the 3rd floor, so we were on our own after that. The staircase is steep and narrow, it was fine for my daughter and me, but keep it in mind if stairs and lugging suitcases are hard for you. You might want to request a room on a lower floor.

Room: We had suite #3 and loved it! It was very large, had a great king sized four poster bed (which was also comfortable), leather sofa that opened into a queen size bed. The furnishings had an antique feel that made the room very homey and welcoming. There was a lot of storage space - primarily drawers but also some space for hanging clothes. The sink and mirror was separate from the toilet/shower room. Lovely tile in the bathroom, nice shower with good water pressure. The supplied hair dryer didn't work but Kylee came through with a replacement. There was a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, a pkg of microwave popcorn and a popcorn bowl. Robes were also provided. Our suite had a private balcony with a mountain view. Fabulous! The room was too hot, but we opened the window a bit and then it was perfect. However, with the window open we heard a fair amount of traffic noise in the morning, it was quiet at night, though.

Amenities: Breakfast wasn't provided but there was hot water for the tea, hot chocolate, cider, and oatmeal. There were also toasters, real (not paper) plates, mugs, silverware,glasses, and even wine glasses! In the back of the building were two hot tubs - very nice at the end of the day! There is a fire pit, it wasn't in use while we were there.

The hotel is only about a 7 minute walk to main street with its' shops, restaurants and bars. The main street was very quaint with nice, but somewhat expensive, shopping. I recommend walking due to limited parking. However, be aware of the high altitude! I had one glass of wine at dinner our first night. Half way through the wine I felt like I had drank 3 or 4 glasses! Then we walked back up to the hotel - there was as lot of huffing and puffing!! It was considerably easier the 2nd day. I suppose it takes awhile to adjust. There is a grocery store in town if you want to pick up a few things to have in your room.

Over all it was a lovely hotel and a great weekend away! Give SkiWay Lodge a try, especially suite 3. You'll love it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank loveDomRepMar2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
99 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend for the first time in late February in room #10. We have stayed at several other properties in Breckenridge. We found this one by chance while surfing online for places to stay. We had never heard of Skiway before and were pleasantly surprised to see that it was relatively inexpensive for Breckenridge. Skiway feels almost like staying in a friend's nice cozy mountain home and they handed you the keys to the whole place. There is limited parking out front but enough for everyone staying there provided they park correctly, and parking is free. Our room has a comfortable king bed, TV, sofa, bath, microwave, fridge and a balcony. The sink is a separate stand alone vanity in the room apart from the bathroom. The room is a little on the small side but certainly had plenty of room for 2 of us. We had brought a cooler with us to stock the fridge so we never needed to go out to eat. The balcony doesn't directly face the main road but you can see it. There is quite a
bit of traffic on the road but it's only noisy when the balcony doors are open. The room is one of three located on the 2nd floor adjacent to the common area, which is convenient for accessing water, the ice machine, dishes, utensils, cookies, and oatmeal. There is also a TV there, sofas, and a few tables for guests to eat their meals. There was one evening where a group of people came in to watch TV and talk kind of loud after we had gone to bed. The TV is adjacent to our room's wall. We just poked our head out and asked nicely if they could keep it down and they did. Other than that we hardly ever saw anyone in the common area. They also provide robes in the room that are handy for the 2 outdoor hot tubs. The hot tubs are conveniently located out the back door off the 2nd floor and are in very good condition. Remember to take your keys whenever you leave the building because the doors lock behind you. There are several signs reminding guests of this and we appreciated the reminders. The girl working the front desk the few times we saw her was always so nice. Skiway is also very accommodating on check out day. One of us decided to ski that day while the other took the day off. They allow guests to leave their car parked there even after check out, and one of us hung out in the 2nd floor common area while waiting for the other to return from skiing. We really enjoyed staying here and would definitely return. We may opt for a king room on the 3rd floor next time if available to be away from the 2nd floor common area, even though there is no elevator to the 3rd floor.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 2windsurfandski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denver, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Nice place
Walking distance to downtown
Small quaint rooms, quiet
By no means is it a ski out place. You either have to take the bus to the slopes or walk to the gondola.
U can ski in, even though we didn't get to do it.
Definitely a more affordable version of ski in/ ski out.
The bed not super comfortable and the pillows outright bad. (Maybe they can read my review and change them)

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank denvertraveler06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I stayed in room 2 for 5 nights in early March. The room itself wasn't huge but had two big windows looking out to the ski run back and a really nice balcony. The bed was also very big and comfy and the furnishings were in-fitting with the cosy lodge feel. The location of the lodge is great - it is genuinely ski in and the bus stop is just over the road (about 3-5 minutes in ski boots). The main street is also just 5-10 minutes walk away (downhill going, uphill going back…), which is great. I used the hot tubs on a couple of nights and they were really lovely and hot and not busy. There are nice common rooms to use (which were pretty much deserted during my stay) including tables and a toaster and hot water for making your own breakfast. The room also had a microwave. It was a bit strange not to see any staff during my visit (I checked in at night and collected my key from an envelope on the door) but it was all very efficient and I it didn't cause any problems (I just phoned Kylee from the slopes during the day with one particular query I had). The wifi didn't quite reach the third floor (where my room was) so I had to go to the common room to use it but that wasn't a big problem and I think they might be looking at putting in another router. All in all it was a fab place to stay for a ski break and reasonably priced - I would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller2312_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This place is a hidden gem. It is very close to the free shuttle bus or just walk away to the gondola. The room was very nice with a fireplace and great views from our balcony. It has a nice ski in after the day is over. It was very clean and the common rooms were very nice. I will be going back to this resort from now on.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jbotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2014

It is just one of those classic little B & B's but you can walk downtown or to the gondola in 5 minutes. Well maintained and the hot tubs are clean and HOT! Or, if you are like me you can go the the main room at 5am and read the paper or watch sports / news. The price is about right also.

Room Tip: Book Early for the week ends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bruce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
1.3 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
734 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#11 of 23 in Breckenridge
675 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 23 in Breckenridge
559 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Breckenridge
Residence Inn Breckenridge
#12 of 23 in Breckenridge
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skiway Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skiway Lodge

Property: Skiway Lodge
Address: 275 Ski Hill Road, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Breckenridge
#8 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Skiway Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SkiWay Lodge is an elegant ten suite mountain retreat located 2 blocks from Main Street in the historic gold-mining town of Breckenridge, Colorado. The lodge has ski-in and ski-out access, an ideal location for dining, nightlife, shopping, hiking, biking, and sightseeing any month of the year. You'll love the privacy of SkiWay Lodge while still staying downtown! General Information: Two Outdoor Hot Tubs, Ski to the back door on 'SkyWay SkiWay' off 'Four O'Clock Run' from Peak 8 - Easy, Free Ride Bus Stop less than a block away, Close to Main Street and Park Ave shops, restaurants, activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Skiway Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skiway Hotel Breckenridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing