We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Emotions…”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lodge at Breckenridge
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Breckenridge
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Mixed Emotions…”
Reviewed 28 January 2013

I stayed here Jan 15-18. Upon my arrival I immediately had a frown on my face. I was thinking… this ain’t good. It looked like a rustic cabin sitting high atop a mountain.

Here’s the good the bad and the ugly.

The ugly; there was none.

The Bad - When we first arrived our room was freezing! The baseboard heaters either weren’t working or they were off. The room had a space heater in it to offset the lack of heat from the baseboard. And that didn’t seem to work too well. After leaving the room for a few hours, the room was still below a level of comfort; all the front desk staff had to say was… we just had a cold snap. Really! Isn’t the cold outside?? I’m thinking they could’ve adjusted the heat some prior to our arrival (maybe that’s just me). The hot water was very slow to get warm/hot. You had to let it run for 5-10-12 minutes before you would have any. That mixed with a cold room. Yuchh. The room was very small. No place to sit other than the bed. The walls were thin. You could hear people walking in the hallways and please don’t let them be having a conversation. The TV channel selection was poor and not much to do on the property itself.

The Good – After day 2 the room did start to warm up to a decent level of comfort.
They had a workout facility that could rival a small gym. (2 thumbs up). They served morning breakfast (juices, dry cereals, breads, muffins, and waffles). They also have a micro-wave in the lobby for your convenience. They offer a shuttle that will take you ANYPLACE you wish to go. It operates from 8am to 10pm. W/O that you’re stuck because you’re atop a mountain and you surely cannot walk back and forth to town.
The location is not in town nor is it near town; it’s about a 10-14min ride. When I hear near town I should be able to walk a few blocks. With all the bad, these amenities made the place a bit more bearable.

As far as the town itself; very nice. Lot’s of eateries, shops, museums and friendly people. The skiing was awesome (my first time to Breck). If you have issues with the altitude, you may want to take a day to walk about town and drink plenty of water. The town sits at 9700ft!

Overall, The front desk staff is very friendly and the shuttle drivers are very friendly but I wouldn’t make this my first choice of places to stay when in Breck. There are many, many other lodging choices in town. Most within the same price range. I’d stay here if, I had a veh, I chose not to be anywhere near town, or in my case, I just couldn’t figure out the proximity of this lodge to town.

Let me be clear, I don’t visit places to slam them nor will I over rate them. I don’t expect Ritz treatment when I’m in a Motel 6 and surely don't expect Motel 6 treatment when in the Ritz, but all things being equal, I have a certain level of expectation based on wherever I stay.

Sorry, nice enough place but the Lodge & Spa has some work to do to earn a future stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJazzMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rooroo1, General Manager at The Lodge at Breckenridge, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
The Lodge & Spa at Breckenridge is a rustic mountain lodge. We are known for our mountain charm, relaxing environment, quality guest service and spectacular mountain views! In January, Breckenridge experience above normal cold temperatures; where during the evenings it dropped to -20 degrees below. We had a few rooms with issues and did everything we could to accommodate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    218
    72
    49
    28
See reviews for
171
329
31
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, WI
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

This property has arguably the best view on their block - no, seriously.

I booked a trip here with my boyfriend in early January and scored a Forest View King for just $68/night. The staff is genuinely friendly and very helpful in suggesting places for you to go for dinner or entertainment.

If you're looking to hit up Breckenridge for skiing or snowboarding, it's good to know that this lodge has complimentary shuttle service for its guests and will drop you at any lot. Although you may have to call ahead to the front desk if you're staying a little out of their peak season - it's free and you really can't complain!

The view from their deck is incredible! They have complimentary hot-tubs which are great in any weather and their positioned on the deck so that the guests have a gorgeous view to take in while relaxing in the hot and bubbly water. I'd love to come stay here again in summer to see how the view changes with the seasons.

Pros: Complimentary wi-fi, complimentary shuttle, complimentary breakfast, location, views, staff is ultra-friendly, and price.

Cons: Don't really have any other than their room keys, which are actual keys - not the key-cards you swipe. The only downside is if you're a scatterbrain like me, the lost fee key is $30. But hey, if I could make it without losing it - so can you! :)

Room Tip: I'm convinced that there's not a bad room in the entire place. Every view I've experienc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexandra_keller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rooroo1, General Manager at The Lodge at Breckenridge, responded to this review, 26 January 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a full representation of our hotel!

Our shuttle service only runs during the winter season. Call us directly to enusre the best room for your needs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2013 via mobile

Oh if I could purchase this property and run a REAL hotel on its grounds. Having both lived in and visited Breckenridge over the last 20 years, cannot say how disappointed I am at its decline. To put it simply..some of the greatest views in Colorado..and that's all that is left. Front desk staff was fine. Room? $260 a night for water stained ceilings, cob webbed corners, pilled sheets and a bathroom with hair stick to the walls? No thank you. Truly unfortunate. This place used to be a wonderful retreat. Not worth the cash, even it's the only place with zero vacancy. There's a reason. You'll have better accommodations in the Super Eight back in the valley...at half the price.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DappersGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rooroo1, General Manager at The Lodge at Breckenridge, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
We have reached out to this guest to get some more feedback to ensure complete guest satisfaction for every guest that stays with us! We have very high standards and our top goal is to make sure that no one experiences such.
Thanks, Rhonda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, USA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We haven't left yet and are still enjoying our stay - but wanted to commend their excellent spa staff. My husband and I received a couples' massage yesterday with Ashley and Juliana. They have definitely raised the bar on our massage experiences and future expectations :) - the service was wonderful and they were both so pleasant and professional - also glad they suggested the oxygen - a perfect addition. Can't wait to come back again :)

Room Tip: This was specific to the spa experience - we will add another review at the conclusion of our stay...
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MissTiggyWinkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rooroo1, General Manager at The Lodge at Breckenridge, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Thank you for your recent comment on your spa services. This really helps us confirm that we have some of the best massage therapists! I typically get a massage here before I head out on my vacations. We hope you are enjoying your stay with us and we look forward to your review on The Lodge. Please let us know if there is anything we can do ensure a wonderful rest of your stay with us!
Sincerely, Rhonda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013 via mobile

The staff was super friendly. They have free shuttle service into Breck that runs until 10pm. Continental breakfast was very nice. Got a little noisy from guests outside our room but they can't control that. My husband was feeling altitude sickness and the shuttle driver offered to go into town to get whatever we needed. My only warning....your gps will try to tell you to turn on overlook dr to get to the hotel, but you actually drive past overlook and you will see signs for the hotel. Drive straight up that driveway and it takes you right there.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corrie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rooroo1, General Manager at The Lodge at Breckenridge, responded to this review, 19 January 2013
The Lodge offers a complimentary shuttle service to town and ski slope during the winter season only. It runs from 8am – 10pm and on the weekend’s extends till midnight. We do recommend that you follow our driving directions, as this guest is correct in the fact that the first right turn on Overlook Dr is a “Drive at your own risk road”, pass by that first right turn on Overlook and take the 2nd right turn on Overlook Drive where you see our Sign. Also, GPS might lead you to take Hummingbird Drive, we recommend that you do not take that road and stay on Boreas Pass till you see our sign.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellijay, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

The lodge is a nice alternative to standard motel rooms. It could use some TLC such as new carpeting and paint, but such things did not detract in my opinion from the "lodge" feel. The front desk clerk was extremely friendly, as was the driver of the free shuttle to town. The room was very large and spacious with lodge type furnishings, nothing fancy. Beds were comfortable enough, and the bathroom was very spacious as well. Plenty of hot water. I was not hot at all in the room, although the hallways were always overly warm. The continental breakfast was sufficient, and the views from the dining area were spectacular. The weight/exercise room was outstanding. Many pieces of equipment you would find at a gym. This place is a diamond in the rough!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruce h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rooroo1, General Manager at The Lodge at Breckenridge, responded to this review, 19 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay. The Lodge is continuously making improvements to the overall look of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

This is more of a rustic no frills lodge than a "spa". It's neither a spa nor a resort. It's a quiet lodge about a mile outside of Breckenridge perched high in the hills. The views are spectacular. The lodge itself is older and basic. The dining area seems abandoned with a bar area that is cleared out and probably only used for special events. The breakfast bar gets a C-. However, if you're looking for a quiet lodge with a nice main area to hang out and read, look at the mountains and just relax, this is your place. The staff is nice and the shuttle will ferry you around like your own personal taxi. The price was great, too. A good value. If you want luxury, this is not your place, but the price reflects that.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank richard_lozano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rooroo1, General Manager at The Lodge at Breckenridge, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay!
We are a small rustic mountain lodge, that sites above the town of Breckenridge, known for our spectacular views of Breckenridge Ski Resort, Baldy Mountain and the Rocky Mountain Range. We off a complimentary continental breakfast that is inclueded in the lodging rate (we are the only hotel in Breckenridge that offers any type of complimentary breakfast included in lodging rate). We offer our complimentary shuttle service to town and ski slopes during the winter season only.
Thanks, Rhonda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
1.2 mi away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#11 of 23 in Breckenridge
680 reviews
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
0.8 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
1.1 mi away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 23 in Breckenridge
574 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Village Hotel
The Village Hotel
#15 of 23 in Breckenridge
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Breckenridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Breckenridge

Property: The Lodge at Breckenridge
Address: 112 Overlook Dr, Mailing: PO Box 1078, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Breckenridge
#4 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
#10 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Breckenridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Lodge at Breckenridge, your resort for magnificent Rocky Mountain adventures. Located 90 miles west of Denver, 5 minutes from historic downtown Breckenridge and minutes away from some of the best skiing in the Rocky Mountains. Situated on a forested cliff at 10,200 feet, The Lodge overlooks Boreas Pass, Breckenridge Ski Resort and the Ten Mile Range. Here guests will find all the comfort and services they would expect from a world-class ski resort in a charming boutique hotel -- perfect for a romantic getaway, family vacation, mountain wedding or corporate retreat. Winner of The Knot's 2015 Best of Weddings. The on-site Meridian Spa offers massages, spa treatments, and signature packages perfect for pampering yourself. Traverse Restaurant & Bar serves up innovative fresh, local and seasonal culinary creations. Open Thursday - Sunday at 4:oopm. Open seven days a week starting mid-June. Whether you're coming for a vacation, corporate meeting, wedding, special event or ski trip The Lodge at Breckenridge is the perfect place to start planning your Rocky Mountain getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Lodge at Breckenridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge And Spa At Breckenridge Hotel Breckenridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing