We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ski Vacation Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lodge at Breckenridge
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Breckenridge
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Vernon, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ski Vacation Experience”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

My wife and I have been staying at the Lodge for 25 years, ten nights each year for our annual ski vacation. The most significant impression that we have is the wonderful teamwork among all of the working staff, from the managers to each individual performer. When one person has a difficulty due to circumstances, another person always steps in to assist, so that the overall enterprise runs as smoothly as possible. We thank Rachel, Karen, Whitney, Philip, Mamo and all of the others for making our stay as much as a "home" experience as it can be. Rhonda, you and your team are to be commended for your exemplary conduct as a team.

The intrinsic attraction of the Lodge for us is and has been the breathtaking views that never grow stale. No other accommodation in or near Breckenridge lets us sit at breakfast and drink in such magnificent mountain sights without any intrusive blocking structures. And the drive up the mountain is not a negative but a very positive experience. If you come to Summit County to ski (expecting lots of snow) without four-wheel drive, you just aren't very wise. Go to the beach instead.

Marsha and Ken

Room Tip: Mountain view, mountain view, mountain view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rooroo1, General Manager at The Lodge at Breckenridge, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Hello Marsha and Ken,
As always, our whole team here at The Lodge would like to let you know how much we enjoy having you stay with us year over year! Our team members that have enjoyed visiting with you every year look forward to having you back and our new team members look forward to meeting you and creating new relationships. It is rewarding for my team and I to know that our services to our guests are the best that they can be and I will be sure to pass along your comments to our team! Part of our hotel mission statement is to create a “home” for our guests while they are on their vacation, and it is truly remarkable to see that being done. As always we look forward to seeing you again next year and allowing for us to create another great experience for you to always want to come back to!
Sincerely, Rhonda and the Whole Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    221
    72
    50
    28
See reviews for
174
337
32
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
simplify4y@ymail.com
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Our first time in Breck and we were thrilled with our accommodations. From the shuttle drivers to the front desk (esp. Whitney) were very friendly and always accommodating. The rooms were spacious and ours had a gorgeous mountain view and fireplace! The continental breakfast was a perfect way to start out before we hit the slopes. On our first night our shuttle driver suggested a restaurant and even made the reservations for us. We cannot wait to come back next year!

Room Tip: Mountain views are worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelinghounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rooroo1, General Manager at The Lodge at Breckenridge, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on your recent stay at The Lodge! Customer service is very important to us and it is great to hear that we were able to meet all your needs. We look forward to seeing you back next year!
Cheers, Rhonda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We were surprised by all of the ammenities offered during our stay. The complimentary breakfast helped us get going and on the mountain sooner. The shuttle service made it so easy to get to the ski mountain and around town. And the staff was super friendly and helpful. Our room was quiet, spacious, and very clean. We will definitely look to stay here the next time we are in Breckenridge!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rooroo1, General Manager at The Lodge at Breckenridge, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
We are extremely excited that we met all your needs during your stay with us! Our guest service is very important to us, so your feedback is greatly appreciated and will be passed on to our team. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Cheers, Rhonda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

We got there after dark and none of the lights in our room worked. A lamp on the far wall worked but was unplugged so fumbling in the dark in an unfamiliar room was kinda a pain. You know how dark a hotel room is..... Anyway the room was really clean and the view was amazing but the outlets didn't work either so making coffee was not happening. Also you have to park SUPER FAR AWAY. Which sucks when it's freezing out. When we told the front desk at checkout about the lights they seemed like they knew about the problem but really couldn't care less. Also there was a huge pile of yellow stinky snow right outside our room. Not worth the money in my opinion.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmusedDaffodil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rooroo1, General Manager at The Lodge at Breckenridge, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your recent stay with us at The Lodge. We are getting ready to go through a full lodging remodel and the details you mentioned above will be updated at that time. We will be addressing the situation of the lights in your room not working upon your arrival and will make sure that our team is understanding of your concerns. Guest service is very important to us and we regret that we did not meet that for you during your visit. We do hope you will reconsider a future return visit to allow us the opportunity to exhibit our true customer service.
Sincerely, Rhonda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I took a group of 14 employees to Breck for an awards trip and we chose to stay at The Lodge and Spa and it was a great choice! The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean and spacious. We had mountain view rooms that overlooked the trails and it was wonderful to wake up to each day. The convenient shuttle service was never more than 15 minutes away the drivers were helpful and provided great local recommendations. My wife and I brought our 15 month old and they were very baby friendly providing a crib and a room fridge for us. We are now loyal patrons for life!

Room Tip: Get a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeresaColorado, Manager at The Lodge at Breckenridge, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
We are ecstatic to hear that your awards party was a success! Thank you for letting us know the our front desk staff was helpful in receommendations for local activities, and that they were able to accomodate your needs for the baby. The Mountain View rooms truly have breathtaking vistas, and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay looking Breckenridge Ski Resort. We will be sure to pass your feedback along to our team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado, USA
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

I'm only adding information to the ones that others had shared. If it is snowing the day you're going, I would suggest to postpone it. The road is treacherous in Boreal Pass Road. Climbing up to get to this lodge might not be bad but going out to get to the city with your personal vehicle will be bad. There's an area before Bright Hope Rd that is slick and even the driver of the shuttle was aware of it. Be very careful coming down around this area.
The king room we got had a balcony facing the parking lot. It did not matter because it's cold outside. On the other hand, our room was warm that I have to turn the fan on but at a very slow speed. Our room had a portable heater on top of the baseboard heater. It's very roomy and had daily housekeeping.
The room's amenities comes with single serve Keurig coffee maker. It came with 4 k-cups of coffee, 2 k-cups of tea, 2 liquid creamer, 2 cups w/ lid, coffee stirrer, and bunch of sugar. Wi-Fi connection is great with a full strength. There were times though that the Wi-Fi will stop working or slow processing when you're searching in a website.
Our room came with an extra pillow and a blanket. It came with ironing board but no iron. The lodge's hair shampoo, conditioner, lotion, soap are not cheap made. They smell good. The room is clean and it doesn't have a bad smell in it.
The con's were their outlets. It's hard to plug our cellphone chargers. It falls off and their lampshades keeps disconnecting. Treacherous road if not flowed. The louvered, bifold closet are dragging on the carpet. Shower rod keeps falling off. Hope the renovation will start soon.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Travelers330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rooroo1, General Manager at The Lodge at Breckenridge, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
We greatly appreciate your feedback from you recent stay. We are regret that your travels to The Lodge were a little difficult. Occasionally we do get a lot of snow and the county does a great job of removing the snow as efficiently and quickly as possible throughout all of Breckenridge. Our remodel is starting here at the end of March and we are excited to say that there will be a lot of changes that will enhance your stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Sincerely, Rhonda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We spent a long weekend during ski season at the Lodge and Spa at Breckenridge. It served as an ample "base camp" for the weekend.

The Lodge is across the valley and up the hill from the ski slopes - about a ten minute drive to parking for the gondola. The Lodge offers a handy shuttle bus that runs into town about every 20 minutes and also will come to pick you up on about 20 minutes' notice. The free city shuttle also stops at the Lodge entrance but depending on the time of day you might have to wait up to an hour to catch it.

The Lodge is a bit dated but still quiet and comfortable. Staff told us that a major renovation is going to start in March 2013 and end about six months later, so they are aware that some upgrades are needed and they are doing something about it.

We had a "forest view room." It had a nice king-size bed with good linens and pillows, a desk, dresser, closet and small cable tv, but was otherwise simple and unremarkable. The bathroom was also small but met all of our needs. The view is out to the parking lot; if you want a better view, reserve one of the more expensive "mountain view rooms." But you can get the same view for at least part of the day simply by going to the dining room, which is where the complimentary breakfast is served - it has a large window that runs the length of the room and the view is wonderful. Other public areas were inviting and cozy.

The complimentary continental breakfast was simple but good - yogurt, hot and cold cereal, hard-boiled eggs, a waffle machine, low-end bagels and pastries. No meal other than breakfast is served and there is no bar. This may explain why the Lodge is delightfully quiet at night.

The fitness center is pretty basic and nothing to write home about. There are two outdoor hot tubs which were nice once we traversed the small section of deck to get to them. There was a large patch of ice just outside the door to the deck; both we and other guests almost slipped on it. This is something that will hopefully be fixed during renovation.

My only other complaint was that the room was very, very dry. The Lodge does not provide a humidifier with the room. They gave us one when we asked for it, but it was noisy and we had to leave it off at night.

The Lodge represents a good tradeoff - you get a nice room with a dependable shuttle at a good price, in exchange for a location that's not slopeside or downtown. We were happy to accept this tradeoff and we would do so again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCTfromDEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rooroo1, General Manager at The Lodge at Breckenridge, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at The Lodge & Spa at Breckenridge! We appreciate your feedback on your stay. We will be going through a full lodging remodel starting at the end of March through the summer. After the remodel we will offer a restaurant on site; however we will be keeping to our true amenities of a quiet, comfortable mountain lodge. We look forward to seeing you back in the future!
Sincerely, Rhonda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
1.2 mi away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#12 of 23 in Breckenridge
688 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
1.1 mi away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 23 in Breckenridge
597 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Village Hotel
The Village Hotel
#16 of 23 in Breckenridge
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Breckenridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Breckenridge

Property: The Lodge at Breckenridge
Address: 112 Overlook Dr, Mailing: PO Box 1078, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Breckenridge
#4 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
#10 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Breckenridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Lodge at Breckenridge, your resort for magnificent Rocky Mountain adventures. Located 90 miles west of Denver, 5 minutes from historic downtown Breckenridge and minutes away from some of the best skiing in the Rocky Mountains. Situated on a forested cliff at 10,200 feet, The Lodge overlooks Boreas Pass, Breckenridge Ski Resort and the Ten Mile Range. Here guests will find all the comfort and services they would expect from a world-class ski resort in a charming boutique hotel -- perfect for a romantic getaway, family vacation, mountain wedding or corporate retreat. Winner of The Knot's 2015 Best of Weddings. The on-site Meridian Spa offers massages, spa treatments, and signature packages perfect for pampering yourself. Traverse Restaurant & Bar serves up innovative fresh, local and seasonal culinary creations. Open Thursday - Sunday at 4:oopm. Open seven days a week starting mid-June. Whether you're coming for a vacation, corporate meeting, wedding, special event or ski trip The Lodge at Breckenridge is the perfect place to start planning your Rocky Mountain getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Lodge at Breckenridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge And Spa At Breckenridge Hotel Breckenridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing