We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but a little too expensive for what we got”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lodge at Breckenridge
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Breckenridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2014

It was not a bad place but for what we paid and what we got, it was too expensive.
For starters, the hotel was still undergoing construction (or renovation).
The hot tub was gutted.
Rooms had temporary number plates on the doors.
The only room we could book faced the mountains and the price was higher which was an okay view but not as spectacular as some of the peaks we've seen on our trip...plus, the lights from the lobby bled into our room so it wasn't totally dark at night and Highway 9 was off in the distance so we heard traffic noise at night.
The bathroom amenities were nice but the shower was a fixed head and took several minutes to get hot water.
The toilet seat was low-grade plastic.
The hair dryer was good: full blast of air!
The Keurig coffee maker looked promising but had a faulty connection.
The TV was a plus as there were plenty of channels to choose from.
Material used between first and second floors didn't buffer noises from above (plus a wedding party may have contributed to loud sounds late in the evening).
There is no restaurant in this hotel so expect to drive into Breckenridge if you are foraging for food.
As for breakfast: poor - yogurt, cereal and generic coffee was bland.
Due to the hotel limitations, I will be looking for another place on my next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank docscholl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhondaPGM, General Manager at The Lodge at Breckenridge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

We greatly appreciate your feedback from your recent stay. We regret that our remodel left an undesirable impression on you. The concerns that you have mentioned are all part of our remodel and we look forward to showcasing a brand new look and feel for our grand opening in November. We hope you would reconsider another visit with us after our remodel is complete.
Sincerely, Rhonda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (784)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 784 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

We booked through expedia who said we could not get a refund. After commenting on the Lodge's Facebook page they called us and refunded the money even though through expedia there should not be a refund. Outstanding customer service in my book. Will be making it a priority to book here in the future!

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Lacey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhondaPGM, General Manager at The Lodge at Breckenridge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

We were sorry you could not stay with us recently. We do look forward to seeing you in the future. Hope everyone is well now!
Sincerely, Rhonda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

My husband & I almost by-passed the Lodge due to negative comments. I am glad we stopped! Karen graciously gave me keys to different rooms for my choosing as I won't stay in a room without first seeing it. Awesome mountain views from a huge wall of windows, Euro style bath with scrumptious towels, super soft Enviro bedding, great wifi and a spotless room awaited us. Keurig with plenty of coffee to begin with. When I asked for additional they gladly pulled out the basket for me to take what I wanted. Pastries, yogurt, fruit, juice & coffee without anyone hovering. Renovations did not bother us. Workers try to be as invisible as possible to guests. We travel approx. 8,000 mi/yr and The Lodge is on our calender next year. We hope to see the same lovely staff.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 673Debra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhondaPGM, General Manager at The Lodge at Breckenridge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

We are so glad you gave The Lodge the opportunity to extend a wonderful mountain stay to you during your travels. I will pass along your feedback about Karen’s helpfulness during your stay, and all of our staff. It is important to us that all our guests have a wonderful stay and we are very pleased to see that you did. We look forward to having you back after our remodel, as we still have more changes to come through this next month.
Sincerely, Rhonda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stayed August 10-12 had the king suite number 205. Stayed with my wife and our 1 year old daughter. Very nice and quiet, yet not too far from Main Street. The view is first rate. Nice place to stay. Beautiful from sunrise to sunset. We will have to get the balcony suite next time. Very large nice deck would be great for a wedding or other events. Pictures do not capture all of the beauty. Also noticed that construction crews made no noise until 9am, good idea.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank almarcusp23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhondaPGM, General Manager at The Lodge at Breckenridge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Thanks for taking the time to post your experience from your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor and we can’t wait to see you back again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We are staying here for pro cycling event and this is the worst hotel experience we've had in 10 years. Clear plastic tarps are the doors to half the room. No ice machine in the hotel work. Walk to the spa was cut short by a showering leak for the hallway ceiling. We had to change rooms because of the overwhelming varnish seem on the 2nd floor. Our blinds in one of the "completed refurbished" rooms we're broke so we were welcomed by the sun at 6:00 am each day. Poor receptionist at the front desk was apologetic but had no control over all the comical issues.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhondaPGM, General Manager at The Lodge at Breckenridge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

We are so sorry to hear about the recent issues you experienced during your past stay. We are under a remodel, however the situations that transpired do not reflect the experience we want our guests to have. I welcome the opportunity to speak to you further for the potential to create a better experience for you in the future.
Sincerely, Rhonda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We've traveled a lot and stayed in everything from tents in the Himalayas to resorts on the coast of Kauai. I have never had better service and warmer hospitality than what we received at The Lodge. We arrived with a large group of women and, yes, the Lodge is undergoing renovations. But, the staff went well out of their way to make sure our stay was nothing less than as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. Situated above Breckenridge, the views were breathtaking! The fully renovated rooms were delightful; not overstated. I would describe the hospitality as exemplary--they have set the standard very high! I would recommend this location without any hesitation!

Room Tip: The 2nd floor rooms in the 200's have incredible views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Cathey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeresaColorado, Manager at The Lodge at Breckenridge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is great to hear that our staff took care of you during your stay, and that you enjoyed the amazing views. We will be sure to pass this along to our team! We enjoyed hosting your group at The Lodge, and look forward to your next event in Breckenridge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My husband and I were looking forward to staying at the lodge which seemed like it had good reviews and such. When we called to make reservations they had let us know that during their renovations that the jacuzzis were not available, but that was it. When we arrived after a very long day of driving the whole hotel looked like a giant construction site. There were signs everywhere about not letting the dogs go the bathroom in specific areas, but it was ridiculous because there wasn't any thing but dirt, hardly any landscaping at all. The room was dingy and depressing. We were suppose to get a forest view, but got a view of all the construction vehicles.There was no doors on the closet and worst of all no air conditioning at all. There was a fan, but it didn't blow air very well. We asked for another fan and that one was worse, which was strange. This isn't even the end. The bed was sagging and for those with a bad back, made for a very difficult night. On top of that, the hot water did not work and after calling the desk, they told us to keep it going for awhile until the hot water kicked in. The next morning at 10:00 all water was turned off for the renovations. To add insult to injury the lodge charged us 30.00 to have our labradoodle, You would think they would waive that considering the dreadful shape the hotel was in. The breakfast that they advertise ended up being yogurt and cereal. This was a sad experience and a waste of our money and a precious day of our vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rooroo1, General Manager at The Lodge at Breckenridge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. Our guest input is welcomed and we are very disappointed to read a guest review that had such an unsatisfactory experience. We would enjoy the opportunity to see how we can turn around this past experience. I look forward to hearing back from you to see how we might create a wonderful return experience for you.
Sincerely, Rhonda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
1.2 mi away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#12 of 23 in Breckenridge
696 reviews
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
1.9 mi away
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
#10 of 23 in Breckenridge
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 23 in Breckenridge
630 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
0.8 mi away
The Village Hotel
The Village Hotel
#17 of 23 in Breckenridge
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Breckenridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Breckenridge

Address: 112 Overlook Dr, Mailing: PO Box 1078, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Breckenridge
#4 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
#10 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range: £129 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Breckenridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Lodge at Breckenridge, your resort for magnificent Rocky Mountain adventures. Located 90 miles west of Denver, 5 minutes from historic downtown Breckenridge and minutes away from some of the best skiing in the Rocky Mountains. Situated on a forested cliff at 10,200 feet, The Lodge overlooks Boreas Pass, Breckenridge Ski Resort and the Ten Mile Range. Here guests will find all the comfort and services they would expect from a world-class ski resort in a charming boutique hotel -- perfect for a romantic getaway, family vacation, mountain wedding or corporate retreat. Winner of The Knot's 2015 Best of Weddings. The on-site Meridian Spa offers massages, spa treatments, and signature packages perfect for pampering yourself. Traverse Restaurant & Bar serves up innovative fresh, local and seasonal culinary creations. Open Thursday - Sunday at 4:oopm. Open seven days a week starting mid-June. Whether you're coming for a vacation, corporate meeting, wedding, special event or ski trip The Lodge at Breckenridge is the perfect place to start planning your Rocky Mountain getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Lodge at Breckenridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge And Spa At Breckenridge Hotel Breckenridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing