We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilltop Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Broomfield B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Hilltop is definitely tops at everything. If you're looking for the most homely place on the planet, go stay with John, Maureen and son John. A place to escape from the 'show ponies' and mirrors and lights of big city hotels. John and Maureen, and their son John run this great place with genuine and sincere desire to make all guests feel like they're coming home for Xmas. Big hearty meals (no fancy china plates with a lettuce leaf, slice of meat here and there and a drizzle of some fancy sauce) that taste like real food that deserves to be eaten and enjoyed.
Huge rooms with fireplace, desk with not only an area to read but also some books to read as well, nice big beds, and adequate bathroom.

This place is located well away from the noise and pollution of the main roads that far too many hotels are located on. Be sure to check out the new pub on site, and sample some of the unique rums and whiskey in stock. If you visit Colorado without visiting the Hilltop Inn, then you haven't seen Colorado's best. Even if it's just for afternoon tea or a decent feed for lunch, make sure you go there.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwi-travellor100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2011

We decided to stay at the Hilltop Inn Guest House & Suites for our anniversary. Our stay was centered around Cirque Du Soleil at the 1STBANK Center. The hotel is in a great location if you plan on staying near the event center or the Rocky Mountain Metropolitan Airport . The Hilltop is less than a minute from the event center parking garages and the airport. We wanted a hotel near the show but away from any commotion. We also wanted a complimentary breakfast, and a fireplace. Finding rooms with fireplaces in Broomfield or anywhere in the Denver Metro Area is difficult. The Hilltop offers gas fireplaces in all it's rooms and at a reasonable rate. The Hotel Owners/Operators were very courteous and prepare a good breakfast. They will cook a range of items such as corned beef, eggs, and blueberry pancakes on the spot. They also provide a selection of juices and fruits and yogurt. The concept behind the Inn is to reflect the foods, personality, and comforts of Brittan. While we didn't feel we were anywhere near England during our stay, at dinner their menu truly reflects British culinary staples which derived from Ireland, Scotland and England itself...The Guiness (Beer) Reduction they dab on plates is tasty with corn beef. They also provide a range tea's and imported beers that are great.

The Rooms don't have a lot of 'wow' factor. The fireplaces are nice, but our fireplace had slightly foggy glass which obstructed the view of the flames. The beds are simple and firm. The comforters, and softness of the sheets aren't anything to brag about. The TV's are not flat panel, but did offer a wide range of Dish channels. We wanted to watch a playoff football game while we stayed...(I love my wife)...and we had fun rearranging the furniture in the room to watch our game. We ordered food from a local restaurant and ate it in our room and used some of the dishes that were in our guest room cabinets. Unfortunately we had to thoroughly scrub a few dishes because hardened debris was on them. Whenever I use dishes in a guest-room, I wash them anyway to be safe. The rooms were overall clean, we did notice some stains on the decorative pillows on the bed and on the chairs, but the sheets were spotless. The view was nice from our window, although not picturesque view because there isn't a view of mountains from the rooms. Another thing that disappointed was that the water took forever to warm up. We let the shower run for about five minutes before it was hot, but it still was inconsistent. 'A plus' was that the shower and bathroom looked updated and modern.

Our trip was not about our hotel stay as much as it was about our planned events so the averageness of the rooms didn't affect us much. We still enjoyed our trip, the Inn's Brittish food, restaurants in Broomfield, Cirque, and 'of course' the cute little wild rabbits that hop around the hotel grounds.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Everstil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

Completely different experience! Felt like we were being welcomed into someones home. Large king suite, excellent restaurant, staff that catered to our every need. Wonderful amenities, soft drinks, cookies, gourment coffee, microwave pop corn, fruit, etc available in lobby. We will stay there anytime we are in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GSK22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

I had made a reservation with the hotel by going through Expedia'Unpublished hotel rates.. Unfortunately I had the date incorrect and called the Inn directly to see if a room was available for the following night. The desk manager said it would not be a problem and that they had a room. I do not know if he was aware of the low rate we had gotten through Expedia. This was in August. When we arrived after a 250 mile drive, we were told that there was no room (although the parking lot was empty at 6 pm) and that they had contacted Hotwire on Sept. 10th to find us a room elsewhere. No one, however, had contacted us!! The desk manager then gave us an address and directions to another hotel which turned out to be a La Quint Inn - hardly the British Inn and guest house where we had made a reservation!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NUFFsaid73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

My wife and I stayed in many towns in Colorado for our July vacation. Part of our vacation was to POSSIBLY look for a future place to live. We picked Broomfield as one nice area, as it would be close to my possible office and City Data gives it great grades!. My NY office has a sister office in CO..about 30 minutes from Broomfield!

Anyway as to the Hilltop Inn Guest House we REALLY loved our stay there. It is attached to a small Country style looking British restaurant. The restaurant is open to the public and or guests that stay there.

The food and atmosphere at this restaurant where you will also have a great breakfast, are REALLY special. Both the look, food, and the service are all excellent and special!.

Our room was quiet..had a private fireplace..and a mini kitchen, smelled clean.. This place is a sort of B&B yet it's a sort of tiny hotel. Forgot to mention..there is a beautiful garden right outside your door..when you pull up to the Hilltop In..you will most likely be greeted by SEVERAL little cute rabbits. They are not pests..they just add a Country flavor to your arrival and stay. Long story short we felt this Inn was QUITE special and Unique. The chef and pr owner? Duncan was quite a nice guy and an amazing cook. Wonderful place to stay...!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yarns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

Right off the bat, two things went wrong. We arrived on a Wednesday and were told that they almost canceled our reservation, even though they had acknowledged on the phone that we had changed our arrival date. Then we were given the wrong room -- two double beds instead of a king. We had to stay one night until the room could be changed. The room was adequate, but old and dated.

The next day we were changed to a king room. The big problem was that the main air conditioning unit on the wall was permanently broken and a tiny window air conditioner was trying to cool a giant room with an outdoor temperature of about 90 degrees. Again a dated room with a big stain on the seat of one of the cloth chairs. I don't know how the stain got there, but I wouldn't sit in it. When I pointed it out to management, the reply was “Oh, you mean this water stain?”

So management upgraded us to the two-room suite. The problems there were threefold. First one of the two air conditioners was broken, so one room was too warm. Second a smoker had been in the room, so it reeked of smoke, even though it was a non-smoking suite. Third, we were told the room was already reserved for Sunday night, so we could only stay for two nights and then would have to change rooms again.

The "fitness room" is a joke -- a closet sized room with three machines, no kidding. The wifi signal was weak and worked poorly in some areas of the hotel. The laundry room was free -- a nice touch.

We checked out of the hotel and stayed at the magnificent Omni Interlocken, about a mile away.

The two gentlemen in the office (I assume the owners) seem like good people. They need to bite the bullet and spend serious money to completely upgrade their facilities. The location is very nice, the outdoor area is nice. It could become a charming, wonderful place. As it now stands, I cannot recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

The Inn is located near Broomfiled Airport, convenient and quiet, with great view.
It's a family-owned British style inn, very nice place to stay. Rooms are large, beds are large.
Complimentary breakfast. The staff can even cook anything you want - omelettes, scrambled eggs, bacon, hotdogs etc - just like mama's kitchen.
We had a good sleep and went to the Rocky Mountains the next day, really enjoyed the trip.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjingaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broomfield
0.6 mi away
aloft Broomfield Denver
aloft Broomfield Denver
#5 of 9 in Broomfield
388 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hyatt House Boulder/Broomfield
2.2 mi away
The Westin Westminster
The Westin Westminster
#5 of 20 in Westminster
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Boulder Broomfield/Interlocken
2 mi away
Renaissance Boulder Flatiron Hotel
1.6 mi away
Omni Interlocken Hotel
Omni Interlocken Hotel
#3 of 9 in Broomfield
2,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilltop Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop Inn & Suites

Address: 9009 Metro Airport Ave, Broomfield, CO 80021-2516
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Broomfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Broomfield
Price Range: £94 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilltop Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the Charm of Country Inn. Scottish style Pub with over 250 Whisk(e)ys and Full Restaurant on site. Spacious Rooms, Fireplaces in every room, High Speed Wireless, Kitchenettes, Breakfast available for a fee. Perfect for a business trip or a vacation destination. Close to Interlocken businesses and amenities, First Bank Center, Golf courses, Breweries, Restaurants, Shopping and more. Minutes to Boulder, Denver, Westminster, and Arvada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilltop Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilltop Hotel Broomfield
Hilltop Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing