We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our experience with this outfit was terrible :(”

Arkansas Valley Adventures
Ranked #6 of 17 Tours in Buena Vista
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: World-class Colorado rafting trips on 8 rivers for all ages and abilities, zipline tours and rock climbing on our 44-acre mountain property. Plus free wetsuits and splash jackets on AVA-run trips. Colorado rafting trips only 30 minutes from Denver and 1 hour from Breckenridge, Keystone, Vail, Aspen, Winter Park, Steamboat. Also join us for cabins, camping, horseback riding, fly fishing and more.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our experience with this outfit was terrible :(”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

After making the initial reservation, we had to add a few folks to our list. The customer service representatives were curt and unprofessional. We received the confirmation emails and, rather than click on the direct link, we copy and pasted the address into two separate cell phones in two separate cars. Both maps systems (one was Google and one was the iPhone map system) took us to an entirely incorrect address 20 miles up the canyon. Consequently, we were an hour late for our reservation. Upon arriving, the gals at the front desk stated that several people had this exact problem and they had notified their counterparts in reservations. They informed us we would not have a hard time requesting a refund as we were unable to reschedule at the time.

Upon much negotiation with customer service, which are the same rude reservation folks, we were informed that only half of our fee was refundable. We do not live in the area and will not have an opportunity to utilize our remaining half credit. Huge thumbs down for an overall disappointing experience!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank jenncalaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVARafting, Manager at Arkansas Valley Adventures, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear jenncalaway,

Thank you very much for your review as we are constantly striving for ways to make our guests happy and our services better here at AVA. I would like to apologize for your unfavorable experience with our sales staff when you called to notify us of your tardiness. It is policy for each sales agent to explain the proper directions and current road conditions in detail with each and every customer we speak to along with our cancellation policy, both of which were explained before your reservation was made and after. In regards to potentially receiving the wrong address, I apologize if you feel mislead. The address on our confirmation is indeed our true location. The links included in our reservations are to help assist in our guests travels, though they are not the only means of finding our various outposts.

I am sorry you were unable to take part in your rafting trip. If you are in the area again, we would be more than happy to prove to you why we are one of the best rafting outfits in Colorado. There are notes in your reservation describing this situation so if you decide to go on a future trip with us we will try our best to accommodate you any way we can. I can assure you we are always looking for new ways to assist our guests during any and all travel problems that may arise on the day of their trip, so thank you again for your review.

Kevin Sommers
Assistant Sales Manager
AVA Rafting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    506
    48
    8
    8
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rafting at Its Best”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The Gauntlet, Arkansas River class IV-V, was big on my bucket list and did not disappoint. Rafting on the east coast is fun, but if you want adventure, do AVA. By far the best guides in the business. Not only do they know the river inside and out, they gave us a history of the area, ecology and geology. The lunch was a great way to unwind and meet new people. Do not forget to ask them where to get the best steaks in town. Ended our week with a second trip down Clear Creek, class III, with our 6yo. Now he's hooked.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Did the AM Half Day Upper Colorado Family Trip”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

and it was great! It was my sons first time on a river like that and he had so much fun! The Guide was great, the kids all loved Jump Rock and seeing their faces pop out of the 50 degree water was so funny! Cannot wait to use this company again next year and up it from the Class I-II to the Class II-III !!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Great Experience with Great Guide”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

6 of us had a blast zip lining and rafting. Will definitely go back and recommend to family and friends. Terry Man King was an awesome guide.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Greg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent every time!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I have rafted with AVA and with another company. AVA was by far the better experience. Their guides are knowledgable and have always made me feel safe. I also appreciate that they offer you a wetsuit with no extra charge. They also have real bathrooms. Not something you might think about but certainly nice to have. I also appreciated that as a repeat customer, I received a discount when booking. I will always use them in the future and cannot wait to get back out on the river.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sabriel_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arkansas Valley Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Arkansas Valley Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing