We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous afternoon”

Arkansas Valley Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
US$113.85*
and up
Idaho Springs Cliffside Zipline and Freefall
Ranked #7 of 17 Tours in Buena Vista
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: World-class Colorado rafting trips on 8 rivers for all ages and abilities, zipline tours and rock climbing on our 44-acre mountain property. Plus free wetsuits and splash jackets on AVA-run trips. Colorado rafting trips only 30 minutes from Denver and 1 hour from Breckenridge, Keystone, Vail, Aspen, Winter Park, Steamboat. Also join us for cabins, camping, horseback riding, fly fishing and more.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 31 July 2014

A great rafting experience was had on the Arkansas River. Safety is always a concern first, with fun running an extremely close second. Katelyn was a fantastic guide. Recommend completely.

Thank Henkeac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (666)
There are newer reviews for Arkansas Valley Adventures
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

429 - 433 of 666 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

We had a great time doing the all day adventure. Our guide was fun and knowledgable. We stopped on the shore and had lunch which was good.

Thank IAFurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My husband and I took our kids (10 and 9) on an over night trip. Didn't know what to expect. Were completely blown away. The guides were so helpful, informative, and friendly. The trip down the river sells itself with beauty. We set up camp and were treated to amazing meals and everything we needed. My kids asked to go to sleep and awoke the next morning saying 1) they wanted to buy a tent to camp and 2) they had never slept better. The trip guides were super helpful and friendly. A fantastic experience all around. Hope to be back next year!!!

Thank m g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

After making the initial reservation, we had to add a few folks to our list. The customer service representatives were curt and unprofessional. We received the confirmation emails and, rather than click on the direct link, we copy and pasted the address into two separate cell phones in two separate cars. Both maps systems (one was Google and one was the iPhone map system) took us to an entirely incorrect address 20 miles up the canyon. Consequently, we were an hour late for our reservation. Upon arriving, the gals at the front desk stated that several people had this exact problem and they had notified their counterparts in reservations. They informed us we would not have a hard time requesting a refund as we were unable to reschedule at the time.

Upon much negotiation with customer service, which are the same rude reservation folks, we were informed that only half of our fee was refundable. We do not live in the area and will not have an opportunity to utilize our remaining half credit. Huge thumbs down for an overall disappointing experience!

2  Thank jenncalaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVARafting, Manager at Arkansas Valley Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear jenncalaway,

Thank you very much for your review as we are constantly striving for ways to make our guests happy and our services better here at AVA. I would like to apologize for your unfavorable experience with our sales staff when you called to notify us of your tardiness. It is policy for each sales agent to explain the proper directions and current road conditions in detail with each and every customer we speak to along with our cancellation policy, both of which were explained before your reservation was made and after. In regards to potentially receiving the wrong address, I apologize if you feel mislead. The address on our confirmation is indeed our true location. The links included in our reservations are to help assist in our guests travels, though they are not the only means of finding our various outposts.

I am sorry you were unable to take part in your rafting trip. If you are in the area again, we would be more than happy to prove to you why we are one of the best rafting outfits in Colorado. There are notes in your reservation describing this situation so if you decide to go on a future trip with us we will try our best to accommodate you any way we can. I can assure you we are always looking for new ways to assist our guests during any and all travel problems that may arise on the day of their trip, so thank you again for your review.

Kevin Sommers
Assistant Sales Manager
AVA Rafting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The Gauntlet, Arkansas River class IV-V, was big on my bucket list and did not disappoint. Rafting on the east coast is fun, but if you want adventure, do AVA. By far the best guides in the business. Not only do they know the river inside and out, they gave us a history of the area, ecology and geology. The lunch was a great way to unwind and meet new people. Do not forget to ask them where to get the best steaks in town. Ended our week with a second trip down Clear Creek, class III, with our 6yo. Now he's hooked.

Thank Kimberly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arkansas Valley Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Arkansas Valley Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing