We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Woman”
Review of Pinon Court Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pinon Court Cabins
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Buena Vista
Denver, CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Horrible Woman”
Reviewed 12 April 2010

My husband and I were looking for a place to stay in Buena Vista, we have dogs, so when we saw the sign on their motel saying "pets welcome" we decided to pull in. We pulled in the narrow drive way, looped around and were parking to go into the office when a women came out, most likely to owner, smoking and called me a [--], and can't a read the [--] sign that said no turn around. She made our choice pretty clear. We promptly left and stay somewhere else. For a business owner I would expect better composure. I would not recommend that anyone stay there and be subject to such disrespect.

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank cdwilloug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JKHColorado, owner at Pinon Court Cabins, responded to this review, 23 April 2010
There was NO attempt to stop. People who don't follow the rules & get called on it complain the most . We post NO TURNAROUNDS for the safety & comfort of our guests & will continue to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    31
    9
    7
    12
See reviews for
38
68
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
morrison colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2010

My husband, daughter and I stayed in cabin #3. We were so very comfortable and warm in these cabins. I loved the kitchen space and my daughter loved that she had her own room. I noticed that each cabin had its own unique interior design that the owners obviously had taken alot of time in making its own personality. We had heard about the cabins from a friend of ours and are greatful for the referral. Thanks to Phil and Jackie for the great experience!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurelrobbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2010

Warning: if the power goes out DO NOT ask Jackie about it. I have never heard more f-bombs in my life! She was one of the rudest people I have ever encountered and can't believe someone would say she is a great host........ maybe before dark! I realize they would rather not be disturbed after 10pm but DEAL w/ IT.....HOST!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mountaingirl38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JKHColorado, Owner at Pinon Court Cabins, responded to this review, 7 January 2010
A nightmare is when there is a power outage in a 40 mile area for 1 hour starting after 10 pm and having 1 out 15 guests pound on your door twice. The second time at 11 pm, drunk and rude. This tends to cause an irritable response. We are the only establishment in town with candles, matches, extra blankets and gas stoves that can be used for heat in each cabin. Maybe that is why nobody else felt it necessary to wake us up twice after a 14 hour work day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2009

My family and I stayed at the Pinon Court recently, and we found it to be quite charming. The cabins are clean and very affordable. We had our pick of cabins, and each cabin is as unique and individual as the next. There are one and two bedroom rooms, and we really liked the fact that each cabin had a kitchen with stove, refridgerator, microwave, and dishware. There ARE also cabins with sinks in the bathrooms for the gentleman who wrote a review previously. And Phil and Jackie were great hosts. They are a true "mom and pop" operation, which is an idea that I adore. I would much rather support a business like theirs rather than hand my money over to a corporate chain. Phil and Jackie made us feel very comfortable and welcomed.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kkrose78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evergreen, CO
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2009

After a week-long backpacking trip in the Collegiate Peaks, my family was looking for a hot shower, bed, and a decent roof over our heads. Pinon Court seemed like a good spot for us. Boy, were we wrong.

Yes, the managers/owners were inebriated, smoking, and laughing/talking very loud. We checked in and moved our bags into the room. The "nonsmoking" cabin smelled like cigarette smoke. O.K. that has happened before, we will get over it, we smelled, too.

Then we wanted to get showers but there was no hot water. We asked the manager/owner to fix the problem. They tried but failed. Our room started to smell like natural gas. We went and got the manager/owner again and asked for another room. They said they didn't have another room and we should just open a window!!!! Hello, we don't really want to die of asphyxiation or getting blown to bits!!!

So... we asked for our money back. They called us all (in front of our 7 and 11 year old girls) "[--]" and said that if we wanted our money back, we would have to go through the trouble of contacting our credit card company.

We left. Drove to Leadville where we stayed in a nice enough place, got showers, and slept well. We did contact our credit card company and we did get the charges removed from our bill.

It sounds like the hotel may be under new management? I sure hope so...

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank clbmanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cozmania, Owner at Pinon Court Cabins, responded to this review, 19 November 2009
The property is under new owner's sine the July 2007 stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2009

The first reviewer evidently has a problem because Phil and Jackie are THE best hosts. We loved our cabin (traveled with our daughters, 18 and 20) and it feels like home away from home. Jackie has filled the cabin with knick knacks to give it that homey feel and everything was IMMACULATE. They're such giving people and anything you need, they're more than happy to accommodate if they're able. They treat their cabins as an extension of their home and it sure is evident in the atmosphere they create. We are really, really going to miss them when we leave tomorrow morning and plan to come back here in years to come. I've never seen 2 people more MEANT to own and run a wonderful place like this. If you need a place to stay in the Buena Vista area, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2009

We needed a place to stay for several days that would accommodate 2 adults, 2 teenagers and a dog. Jackie set us up with a kitchenette, 2 beds and a sofa sleeper that worked out great. The city park across the street was wonderful for the dog and his needs and we really liked the view from our own little front porch.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rockind1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buena Vista
0.4 mi away
Best Western Vista Inn
Best Western Vista Inn
#1 of 3 in Buena Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
23.1 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
21.9 mi away
Monarch Mountain Lodge
Monarch Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Monarch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Browns Canyon Inn
Browns Canyon Inn
#10 of 16 in Salida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
7.8 mi away
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
0.7 mi away
Surf Chateau
Surf Chateau
#1 of 8 in Buena Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinon Court Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinon Court Cabins

Property: Pinon Court Cabins
Address: 227 US Highway 24 N, Buena Vista, CO 81211-9572
Region: United States > Colorado > Buena Vista
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Buena Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pinon Court Cabins 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinon Court Cabins is nestled in the picturesque town of Buena Vista, CO surrounded by miles and miles of the natural splendor the Collegiate Peaks of the Rocky Mountains. At Pinon Court Cabins, you’ll be within walking distance of our historic downtown, grocery store, restaurants and nightlife. Directly across the street is McPhelemy park with fishing pond on the Cottonwood Creek. In-town convenience of a hotel, spaciousness of a cabin and unsurpassed hospitality. All of our cabins provide the following amenities for the weary traveler: carport, Personal Carport, cable, Premium Cable Television, Air Conditioning, Wireless Internet, Complimentary Coffee, Kitchenettes complete with; utensils, pots & pans, refrigerator and freezer, microwave oven, gas stove-top, and toaster. Outside of your cabin, guests may enjoy: Access to our laundromat with commercial washer/dryer available 8am to 8pm and central garden courtyard with picnic bench and chimineas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Pinon Court Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinon Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing