We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming log cabins!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thunder Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buena Vista
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thunder Lodge
St. Thomas, US Virgin Islands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Charming log cabins!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

Tired of driving late in the night, decided to stop in Buenaventura Vista, thrilled that the Best Western was sold out as this was my second choice. It sounded charming and I was more than surprised! The owner was extremely nice late in the evening accepting us without reservations. We parked in front if the cabin- very convenient- and the first thing my daughter exclaimed was how comfortable the new living room furniture was. Adorably decorated. When we left, we put our bed sheets in a pile near the front door to assist them in their clean up. It's a small family business and I certainly understand why they ask their guests to remove their trash immediately.
We loved the sound of the creek outside our window. Thanks for a very enjoyable visit!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sybille S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    10
    5
    8
    3
See reviews for
27
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

As a family of 5 we used Thunder Lodge as our week long base for day trips in the Buena Vista - Salida area in late July 2011. Was a bit dismayed to read the more recent reviews. At the time we visited we were very pleased. It's not the nicest place in town and the bathroom are pretty cramped, but for the price, roominess in the rest of the cabin, and convenient location we were very pleased with our stay. We'll probably be back.

Wifi worked fine for us. I did have to ask for the code though.

I don't think we paid the advertised rate, though. There was a late cancellation and we happen to check in with them right afterwards. I think we paid $99/night, which is very good for the area. We also had a small, well behaved dog.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oktourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Stayed one night in a 2-bedroom cabin because it was inexpensive and available at the last minute. However, it didn't turn out to be inexpensive due to the penalties charged--read their Policies page on their website before you book here! There was a sign posted that said to clean and put away dishes, but nothing about the trash and nothing about the $50 they charge if you don't follow all their hidden rules. It's also $50 if you don't remove all the dog hair from the furniture and the carpet; since you can only really remove hair from carpet with a vacuum, better bring one! The location is great, the cabins are fine for a rustic, inexpensive place, but they should be advertised as self-service cabins.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heatherzryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

We stayed here and the room was clean, quiet, and warm. However, the coffee pot did not work and was not even replaced the second day, even though we talked to the owner. The bed sagged badly to the middle so that a good sleep was not possible. No dvd or WiFi code provided as advertised. $50 fine if you do not take out your own trash - several other major fines posted. Appears the owners are trying to fix up the place, but they do not seem to be focused on customer service. So, might want to check some later reviews before opting for this one.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peregrines8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evergreen Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

We spent one dark and windy night here and had difficulty locating the office as the neon light was not yet on. The previous review "If you don't like it..." resonates. There were no sheets for the blow-up mattress. The 'sofa bed' wasn't one, but I did find considerable (and long term) debris below the cushions as I was trying to find the pull-out. I never could extricate the fold-up rollaway bed from the closet and I tried very hard! The signs are offensive in the threats of fines for not cleaning up, yet the dumpster where I had to deposit the trash bag was overflowing one foot. I had just stayed at a beautiful new Cambria Suite in Pueblo the night before for $10 more, so I was not at all impressed with Thunder Lodge. I stayed here based on TripAdvisor reviews and price, but the reviews failed me this time. I suggest the Super 8 or something else. Normally I write only positive reviews...not this time.

Room Tip: Go to Super 8 Motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Retired-math-teacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garland, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

There are 11 reviews which date from December, 2009 through August, 2011 of which 8 were excellent and 1 was very good. The remaining two were either average or terrible.

Based on these reviews, we opted to stay there for our vacation which ended today.

We were not pleased for the following reasons:

• Although office hours were listed as 8 am to 8 pm, it was difficult to find anyone in the office…Buy a sign stating when you will be back in the office.
• Supply the cabins with extra toilet paper, Kleenex, and paper towels. Your staff is too inaccessible to obtain replenishments.
• You have far too many signs and far too many rules which no one to include management seems to follow.
• A $50 fee if dishes are not cleaned and put away. Please…The dishes were dirty. We had to wash everything before they could be used.
• Your Texas BBQ smokers look great but the bench cushions next to the creek had ingrained filth and bird poop. Please…a little clean up.
• Your bathroom needs remodeling quickly, Please…there was no ventilation, bad caulking around the tub, nailed down vinyl flooring, and notes stapled to the wall!
• A $50 fee for not picking up dog poop. Please… when do you plan to pick up your multiple dog’s poop?
• Your office door sign “we reserve the right to refuse service to anyone”. What service? Your customers perform all the services on threat of multiple $50 to $150 fines if we don’t perform duty as your janitorial staff.
• Although you told my wife that if we didn’t like it, we could leave, we didn’t leave as you would have still charged us for the entire stay. You don’t deserve the gift.
• I’m sorry your business interferes with your personal life. Why don’t you sell the business to someone who truly wants to be a host. After all, as you said, these are cabins, we don’t run a motel.

So under the Freedom of Speech Amendment to the Constitution of the United States, I have exercised my constitutional privilege to voice my thoughts on your business whether you agree with it or not……

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OldArmySoldier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

We arrived and they showed us our cabin and gave us the bill and it was nicely discounted. The 2-bedroom cabin was beautiful and nicely decorated and served our needs perfectly. Super clean. Nice owners and great help. They are in the process of some remodeling so the place should continue to improve. Lots of fun things to do around here and this lodge is a good home base.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fishbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buena Vista
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Vista Inn
BEST WESTERN Vista Inn
#1 of 3 in Buena Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
21.9 mi away
Monarch Mountain Lodge
Monarch Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Monarch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.0 mi away
Surf Chateau
Surf Chateau
#1 of 8 in Buena Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pinon Court Cabins
Pinon Court Cabins
#3 of 3 in Buena Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Buena Vista
Super 8 Buena Vista
#2 of 3 in Buena Vista
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
1.1 mi away
Buffalo Peaks Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunder Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunder Lodge

Property: Thunder Lodge
Address: 207 Brookdale, PO Box 504, Buena Vista, CO 81211
Region: United States > Colorado > Buena Vista
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Buena Vista
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is also a great outdoor kitchen in the Grill Gazebo which is great for your family BBQ or a group gathering. A log gazebo sits on the edge of Cottonwood Creek and outdoor furniture lines the patio which is great for relaxing and listening to the running water. Cottonwood trees line the property and provide shade in the Central Courtyard and the smaller yard by the creek. There is absolutely NO SMOKING in the cabins. Thunder Lodge welcomes well behaved, non-aggressive dogs with advance notice and refundable pet deposit. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing