We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, property lacking!”
Review of Topaz Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buena Vista
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Topaz Lodge
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice staff, property lacking!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed in room 12 which sleeps 5. Hosts were friendly and the location was good, but that's about all we can list as positive about the Topaz Lodge. The old mattresses sagged to the middle, grout in the shower needs deep cleaning and bedspreads smelled as if they hadn't been washed in awhile. One of the windows didn't even have a working lock anymore, so we wondered about the security of the room. We paid more than we would have for a room in nearby Salida. Again, our hosts were nice, but in hindsight, it might have been worth the drive for a better property.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABQATeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    6
    5
    8
    7
See reviews for
12
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Hot water ran out in about 10 mins. Only had one towel even though there was two of us. Complained to lady at front desk (not the owner but perhaps her daughter???) and she acted like she could care less and we were disturbing her. Room had a damp, musty smell. Will strya elsewhere next time and suggest any travelers do the same. And at checkout the daughter was bashing the restaurant right down the street. We had eaten there the day before and it was the exact opposite of what she was saying; the folks were great....not rude; the food was fantastic....not horrible. We found it almost funny that she would bash a fellow busniess given how she conducted hers!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Buena Vista hotels

aspen
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

if truly ALL you need is a bed and shower it'll do. facilities got stuck in the '60s. inspite of some attempts to modernize/upgrade the only thing that will save this friendly run family business is the wrecking ball and start all over again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scoobsAspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

The people were VERY friendly and it was right across the street from the marathon start! They have a military discount (the ONLY discount) and that was really nice too! Nice to feel appreciated:) The room was clean and the WiFi worked fabulously! It was easy walking distance to some great places. The coffee in the room was great and the room was VERY clean! I'd call it adobe style which makes the decor really appropriate for the type of architecture it was. The history alone made for some cool ambiance:)

Room Tip: Should be the host hotel for the Autumn Color Run
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, Kansas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

I spent two nights here while in the area for a backpacking trip. It was clean and comfortable, but be aware that it is a no-frills place and definitely "retro."

There was no AC in the room, but I didn't find it to be a problem, since it was not hot while I was there (in early August).

My only complaint is that I could hear the neighbors in the next room. It was not very loud, but still clearly audible, which could be a problem with noisy neighbors.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

The hotel is convenient and good value for two at $79 plus tax on a weekday (I think $94 on a weekend). If you want a bed and shower and want to save your money for other activities and resturants you might want to give this motel a try. I rented one room there for my son who is a smoker (not in the room or doorway) and his wife for one night and they said it was adequate, and the bed and linens acceptable. The location is conveniently in the center of MV and within easy walking distance for food and beverage if you want to have a beer or two in the evening. I rated it above average because of the low cost and location. When I needed to book a room for a "smoker" late in the evening and there was a vacancy. The Manager kindly gave me a discount which helped ease a bad experience from initially booking a rooms for three familys in a near-by obsesively fanatical non-smoker motel. The daughter-in-law said she could smell disenfectant in the room, but this was not a major issue.

Room Tip: Room #3 was adequate and relatively quiet considering that the Motel is on Highway 24.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I think the reviewer below me is a family friend. We stayed in room 7 which is the only room facing out back. The room was large but only had one window and that was a high window with the curtains set so you couldn't open them. You didn't want the view onto a dirty, private patio anyway. The bathroom was very small. We're not picky and were just passing through so the location was good, bed seemed clean and it had a small fridge and microwave. Rate was $99.The place fit our needs and was clean enough but old. It's your grandpas Motel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buena Vista
0.5 mi away
Best Western Vista Inn
Best Western Vista Inn
#1 of 3 in Buena Vista
460 reviews
21.9 mi away
Monarch Mountain Lodge
Monarch Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Monarch
102 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Buena Vista
Super 8 Buena Vista
#2 of 3 in Buena Vista
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Arrowhead Point Campground & Cabins
0.1 mi away
Pinon Court Cabins
Pinon Court Cabins
#3 of 3 in Buena Vista
163 reviews
0.7 mi away
Surf Chateau
Surf Chateau
#1 of 8 in Buena Vista
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topaz Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topaz Lodge

Property: Topaz Lodge
Address: 115 N. Highway 24, Buena Vista, CO 81211
Region: United States > Colorado > Buena Vista
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Buena Vista
Number of rooms: 17

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing