We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience!”

American Adventure Expeditions
Book In Advance
More Info
US$122.61*
and up
Full-Day Browns Canyon Rafting Tour on the...
Ranked #2 of 18 Tours in Buena Vista
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: On Colorado's most popular river, The Arkansas, world-class whitewater and jaw-dropping scenery come standard. However, at American Adventure Expeditions, our commitment to Whitewater Hospitality ensures that you'll feel welcome, wanted, and comfortable throughout your entire adventure. Spend a day on the water with us...Leave with a lifetime of memories!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We booked this trip for our family of three. This was our first time rafting and I was especially nervous taking my 12 year old daughter. Brandon was our guide and he could not have done any better! Due to mountain run-off the water was faster than normal but he did a great job explaining every possible outcome while making us feel safe. He clearly loves his job and has a great passion for what he does. Everyone in the office was equally friendly and helpful. We did use their wet suits and splash jackets with no problem. They also had someone taking pictures at one point along the way. Whomever the photographer was did a great job, we bought the CD. We would come back again and recommend to all family and friends.

Thank Shannon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericanAdventureExp, Manager at American Adventure Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you for your review Shannon. Brandon has been with us for many years and is a wonderful team member. The photographer is an employee of our photography partner company. I will extend your thanks to them. Thank you for joining us again and we'd love to host you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (962)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"brown's canyon"
in 180 reviews
"rafting trip"
in 115 reviews
"the river"
in 240 reviews
"white water rafting"
in 81 reviews
"great guide"
in 61 reviews
"great trip"
in 61 reviews
"great job"
in 56 reviews
"bighorn sheep canyon"
in 10 reviews
"large group"
in 15 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 13 reviews
"an absolute blast"
in 15 reviews
"raft guide"
in 24 reviews
"first timers"
in 19 reviews
"class rapids"
in 27 reviews
"family float"
in 11 reviews
"the entire trip"
in 15 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 14 reviews
Filter

833 - 837 of 962 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

I booked the family float trip for my 11 year old grandaughter, my 71 year old cousin and myself. We wanted a safe, yet exciting experience for our first rafting adventure. It was everything I had hoped for. Mark was our guide. He was friendly, experienced and super safe. Mark was full of educational and entertaining trivia and facts about the local area and rafting. The water level was high and the river flow was fast, but Mark explained every detail of all possible scenerios that could possibly happen, so we all knew the plan of action in case of untoward events. Thanks to Mark, we are ready for the next level of rafting!

Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericanAdventureExp, Manager at American Adventure Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Paula, thank you for your wonderful feedback. Mark is an amazing addition to our team and we are pleased to hear that you had such a great experience with him as well as with "AAE". We hope to be able to host you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

I booked the family float trip for our family of 4. We have a 7 and 9 year old and this was our first experience. I wanted something mild but due to mountain run-off it was much wilder than expected. Robbie though was a great guy and kept us all relaxed. The entire crew at the office were very friendly.

Thank 2boysmom10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericanAdventureExp, Manager at American Adventure Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

We are pleased to hear that you had a memorable experience with us this summer. The water-levels are just too good to be true this season and we encourage everybody to come out and experience the magnificent Arkansas River.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This was our first time using AAE and they did not disappoint. We have used numerous other companies in various locations for rafting, so we have a certain set of expectations that need to be met - AAE exceeded them all! Our guide Andrew was amazing, super friendly and knowledgeable, he made sure we had the best of times while also ensuring our safety as the water levels were quite high the day we were out. The lunch that was prepared during the halfway point of our full day trip was delicious and the office staff were all very friendly. We brought all of our own gear so we did not have to use any that was provided by AAE, but everything looked to be in good condition from what I saw on others. We will definitely be returning to run Browns and the Numbers again, and we will without a doubt be using AAE!

2  Thank AHFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericanAdventureExp, Manager at American Adventure Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Great to hear that you had a blast with us this season; and thanks for sharing your adventure. Water levels are still running superb and we encourage all to come out here and get a taste of a true Colorado adventure. As always feel free to check out our Facebook page "American Adventure Expeditions" for fun pictures, contests and updates on water-levels. Or, check out our brand new Website. As far as gear goes folks, you are more than welcome to bring your own wet-suits and booties etc. However, keep in mind that we are required to provide you with our approved helmets and life-jackets. See you on the river!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We took the all day Class 3/4 rapids rafting trip May 27th. Wanting to maximum the experience, we booked with friends, during the high and fast waters of the spring snow melt. The timing could not have been better as the river was within a day of being closed to rafting due to excessive flow rate.

Kudos to our guides Jeff and John who are without a doubt pros. They ensured everyone’s safety equipment was correct and didn’t allow for user friendly/personal comfort to compromise their standards. They emphasized that the high water and flow conditions on the river required extra vigilance and delivered a detailed safety briefing, which was valuable when a hydraulic ejected me from our raft. I polished a few rocks during my in-river experience, when other options are not available…SWIM FOR SHORE!

I highly recommend renting the full equipment compliment including the boots and gloves. Very useful in a 40 degree, fast moving, rock filled river.

2  Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericanAdventureExp, Manager at American Adventure Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Mark, reviews like yours are priceless and so wonderfully helpful to us, as well as to all guest that come rafting with "AAE". We could not agree more! The safety instructions a crucial, especially in our high-water season, which we are running right now. We spare no expense to provide all of our guest and staff with the top notch safety instructions and equipment. As you mentioned, this rafting season is rocking and we hope this review will convince more of you out there to come and give us a try. See you on the river!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed American Adventure Expeditions also viewed

 

Been to American Adventure Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing