We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pricey and awful breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Vista Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Buena Vista
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We were passing by and had to find something for the night - since we don't know the area, Best Western seemed like a safe choice. There was only one room left - and a pricey one (fortunately, we got a small discount). The room was quite large, clean, with a large bathroom, but the windows did not open. There was air conditioning but it just made the air super dry during the night. Moreover, there was no elevator and the noises from other rooms' air conditioning systems (and perhaps vending machines on the corridor) made the night a bit uncomfortable. On top of that, the breakfast was really bad. Sure, it's complimentary, but I would rather pay for something better. This was really dissappointing. However, the staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulkaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

Nice hotel setting with a wonderful from the front rooms. Great looking front desk area. Great little coffee shop with seating and a view as well as a great gift shop. There was no elevator so carting everything up the stairs was a bit taxing. The room was nice, but the rug in the bathroom was dirty and there was food and a pill under the sink area (that didn't belong to us). The pillows are beyond terrible. I checked Best Western Hotel prices in the surrounding towns and this one was 50% higher than any of them. It wasn't that great. We will be looking for a different place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front if you want the view. Bring your own pillow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reetee50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Yet again, our stay at the Vista Inn in Buena Vista, Colorado was great. Their courteous, knowledgeable, and outgoing staff met our needs at every turn. I am the event organizer of the Buena Vista Bike Fest which takes place the first Saturday of June. Because of our event, the Vista Inn sells out for those nights. I consistently get great feedback from our riders who chose the Vista Inn about the positive experience they have staying there. The local owners, Brent and Carolyn have become friends over the course of years. They support their employess and are highly active members within the Buena Vista community. When you stay at the Vista Inn, you will not only have a great lodging experience, you will also be supporting the wonderful local people in this beautiful setting.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Aaron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Everything looked great when we arrived, the lobby is welcoming, the desk clerk was nice enough, gave us second floor room, directed us to the next door down, we pulled out a luggage cart loaded our tons of luggage on the cart, went through the door we were directed to and there was a tall staircase in front of us, we pulled the cart around looking for an elevator, and there wasn't one! That is really the only thing this Best Western is lacking to be a PLUS! The rooms are nice size and very clean, the extra amenities were nice, the internet worked well and the view of the mountains from the room was beautiful! We didn't use the pool because another family was taking up half of it, the fitness center has to be unlocked each time from the desk clerk, what a hassle, didn't bother to use after that. We did use the laundry facilities and they were good. We got to breakfast right before it closed and the breakfast attendant seemed irritated and seemed to be watching us like a hawk, when we came back to get a cup of coffee on our way out, she said in a loud voice "Back for Seconds?!" The coffee/gift shop was open the morning we left, it is worth a look, we bought some great gifts to take with us! Overall a very nice, quiet hotel!

Room Tip: Don't use the luggage cart if you have a room on the 2nd floor, you won't get very far! Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GraceMountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Very quiet, spacious room and a comfortable bed. The bathroom has a large countertop with room for all the necessities. Full breakfast with lots of choices. Lots of little extras that show the management really cares -- like flavored coffee! Will definitely stay here again!

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank mfmartyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We booked three rooms here for some of our customers, and they couldn't have been happier. Rooms have affordable pricing, yet first class amenities. We would definitely recommend staying here on your next visit to BV!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmericanAdventureExp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Heading out of Leadville area we wanted to stop for the evening & found the Vista Inn, Best Western. The rooms were very clean, newly remodeled. There was an indoor pool & hot tub which we enjoyed after a long day on the road

In the morning before getting back on the road we took advantage of the included breakfast
There was a large variety of hot and cold breakfast items. The dining area was spacious and had an awesome view of the mountains.

There wasn't much to see in the area but if you are passing thru and need a place to stay this is it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PLConklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buena Vista
23.4 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
23.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
22.2 mi away
Monarch Mountain Lodge
Monarch Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Monarch
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Buena Vista
Super 8 Buena Vista
#2 of 3 in Buena Vista
528 reviews
1.0 mi away
Surf Chateau
Surf Chateau
#1 of 8 in Buena Vista
207 reviews
8.1 mi away
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Vista Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Vista Inn

Address: 733 US Highway 24 N, Buena Vista, CO 81211-9863
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Buena Vista
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Buena Vista
Price Range: £98 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Vista Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to this award winning, non-smoking Buena Vista, Colorado hotel with breathtaking views of Mt. Princeton.Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Vista Inn where guests will find all of the amenities and outstanding service customers expect from the Best Western name. Guests staying at this Buena Vista hotel will enjoy well appointed guest rooms featuring cable satellite television and free high speed internet access. Start the day off right with a complimentary full hot breakfast, a refreshing dip in the hotels indoor swimming pool and spa or the seasonal outdoor spa. The knowledgeable staff at the BEST WESTERN Vista Inn is highly skilled at planning any event with space available to accommodate up to 100 people. The onsite View Cafe is a great place for afternoon espresso and pastries.The BEST WESTERN Vista Inn is close to historic downtown Buena Vista as well as a variety of outdoor activities including the headwaters of the Arkansas River for whitewater river rafting, fishing, biking, horseback riding and hiking. Ski Cooper and Monarch Ski Area are nearby offering the best in winter skiing and snowmobiling. The BEST WESTERN Vista Inn is the hotel of choice because of its proximity to mountain climbing in the Collegiate Peaks Range, the top of the Continental Divide at Cottonwood Pass and natural hot springs pools.The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN Vista Inn is ready to ensure a fun filled memorable stay in Buena Vista, Colorado. Make a reservation today and save. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Vista Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Buena Vista
Buena Vista Best Western
Best Western Vista Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing