We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A simply stunning family vacation - we will be back !”
Review of Elk Mountain Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buena Vista
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Elk Mountain Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Having never stayed at a ranch before, we used a UK based travel agent for advice and were not disappointed.

Our ranch experience was absolutely fantastic - nearest thing to a ski vacation in the summer.

Having never been on horses before, we were amazed to be riding mountain trails on the first day. Rapidly gaining in confidence over the course of the week we progressed from walking to trotting and even loaping.

The kids programme was fantastic too with our five year old making great friends, as well as learning to ride himself. The rodeo at the end of the week allowing him to showcase his new skills.

The White Water Rafting Trip is a must do activity too.

So, a massive thank you to Tom and Sue Murphy and their talented team for a simply fantastic week in the Rocky Mountains.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevecanary69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
There are newer reviews for Elk Mountain Ranch
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2011

We have just returned from Elk Mountain Ranch and I can't say enough about how much fun we all had. I traveled with my sister, best friend and my son age 12, we smiled and laughed for seven days straight. The wranglers, housekeeping staff and horses were all excellent. I have been a travel agent for over 25 years and have been able to travel to many wonderful destinations over the years and I have to say this vacation tops the list. My son had more fun riding horses, white water rafting and just plain hanging out at the ranch then he did on some of the cruises we've been on. It was just great to enjoy the beauty of Colorado at such a wonderful rustic ranch without T.V., phones or email! Thanks to the Murphy Family for the best vacation ever! Hope to see you again real soon! Bernice Bakley from Huntley Travel

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BBakley65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Elk Mountain Ranch is located miles from civilization and offers unparalleled views of the collegiate peaks and the surrounding countryside. We saw bighorn sheep, elk, mule deer, a golden eagle, pronghorn antelope and other creatures. The trail rides twist through beautiful aspen forests, to alpine meadows overlooking the Lower Arkansas Valley 1,500 feet below and over isolated grassy hills. The owners (Tom and Sue) are warm, spirited and funny. Tom is a walking encyclopedia of the local fauna and geography and a great teacher of safe horsemanship. The staff is obviously carefully selected, meticulously trained, polite beyond comparison and infinitely patient with children. The food is wonderful and the cooks even prepared vegan meals for one of my family members. Meals in the dining room quickly create community and many opportunities for laughter. My three children expressed it best: all three said, "I would live here forever."

Room Tip: Check the website and match your room to your needs.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RandallTemple_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We have stayed at a dozen different dude ranches and this ranch is one of our favorites. The ranch excels in the quality of its staff and horse string. The cabins were very nice and equal to other terrific ranches...but the hosts and wranglers and staff were the best...making a real difference. The location and views were exceptional making the riding some of the best we have ever experienced. We would like to return for a week in the fall to ride thru yellow aspens in their glory...they abound on this ranch. We saw lots of wildlife including pronghorns, mulies, elk ,coyotes, jackrabbits[enormous] and western birds[lots of hummers]. Also evening entertainment was truley enjoyable. We can't say enough good things about this ranch. Adults and kids will love it!! bill and sally lancaster, ohio

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feedbackworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Excellent dude ranch!!!! Horses for beginners to advanced. Excellent instruction from Tom and the wranglers. Spectacular location with breathtaking views on the horse trails. Trap shooting, archery on premises and whitewater rafting, ATVing, hot springs very close. Great activities and great food. Tom and Sue go that extra mile to make it your best vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

I have been at "THE RANCH" 6 or 7 times since 1993. That should tell you something. Beautiful scenery, clean air and they bend over backwards to please you. I don't like surprises and I know exactly what to expect at Elk Mountain Ranch.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lazarus21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

This was an excellent vacation with something for everyone- riding- fishing-archery-rafting - hiking. The ranch owners and staff were very friendly, accomodating, and family oriented not to mention safety conscious. The cabins were roomy and clean, and the food was excellent!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank monms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buena Vista
12.2 mi away
Best Western Vista Inn
Best Western Vista Inn
#1 of 3 in Buena Vista
479 reviews
16.9 mi away
Arrowhead Point Campground & Cabins
11.3 mi away
Surf Chateau
Surf Chateau
#1 of 8 in Buena Vista
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
13.1 mi away
Mountain River Inn Bed & Breakfast
13.9 mi away
Mountain Goat Lodge
Mountain Goat Lodge
#1 of 6 in Salida
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk Mountain Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Mountain Ranch

Address: 13000 CR 185B, Buena Vista, CO 81211
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Buena Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Buena Vista
Price Range: £2,104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colorado's highest guest ranch at 9600 feet. Adjacent to the Browns Canyon National Monument. Weekly package includes meals, lodging and activities - horseback riding, white water rafting, shooting sports, van trip to Aspen, excursion to ropes & adventure park, fishing, hiking, mountain biking, hayride, square dance, childrens' program and more. Massage extra. 35 pampered guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Elk Mountain Ranch Hotel Buena Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing